We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely overrated”

Holy Trinity Alexander Nevskiy' Lavra
Book In Advance
More Info
US$313.48*
and up
Private Half Day St Petersburg City Tour including visit to the Russian Museum
More Info
US$150.00*
and up
St Petersburg Private Custom Day Tour
More Info
US$43.92*
and up
St.Petersburg City Tour with a Private Car
Ranked #53 of 1,807 things to do in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This beautiful monastery complex contains cemeteries where many of Russia's greatest literary and cultural figures are buried.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
1,337 reviews
788 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Completely overrated”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Actually I should put "average" up there, or even good, but I want to lower the rating because this is really overrated. First of all, it's far from the center. Secondly: the church is not more beautiful than many in the center. Thirdly: it's not free anymore. Fourth: the graveyards don't even come close to the one of the Novodevichy monastery in moscow, that can easily compete with Père Lachaize.
A typical exemple of the tendency of lonely planet to "need" a highlight in every part of the city, i.e. chapter in the book

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jurgen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    54
    18
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Tranquil”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The Alexander Nevsky Lavra is situated at the eastern end of the Nevsky Prospect and can be easily reached by underground or bus. Entrance to the monastery is through the elegant Church Gate with a ticket desk nearby. Ask for a map of the cemeteries. Allow at least a couple of hours to see the grounds and Lazarus and Tikhvin cemeteries. Resting here are great Russians like Mikhail Lomonosov, Alexander Suvorov, Pyotr Tchaikovsky, Fyodor Dostoevsky, Karl Rossi and others. A better understanding of what may be seen here and its context will be a little google research before your visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Peaceful & beautiful”
Reviewed 2 December 2012

The graveyard, although small, is a who's who of Russian history.... well worth your time to take a peaceful stroll through this compact yet scenic graveyard.

The adjacent church is also beautiful and holds daily services which are deeply moving, reagrdless of your religious affiliation. Currently the church is under construction but I still enjoyed my time inside.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Midnightsolstice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasbourg, France
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“one of my favourites!”
Reviewed 10 November 2012

the church itself is very beautiful and frequently visited by ordinary Russians. The cemetry around is reserved for the famous. If you look well, you'll find quite a few stones with the inscriptions of composers and writers. A magic place in Autumn & Winter

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomasvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An interesting and pleasant cemetery”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We like to visit cemeteries on our trips when we can. One usually visits cemeteries for the people buried there (Buddy Holly's grave in Lubbock Texas) or the grounds and tombs (Cimiterio Monumentale in Milan, Italy) and the perfect combination of both (the Forest Hills Cemetery in Boston). This small cemetery is more for the people buried there but the grounds and many of the tombs are still striking. We generally followed the tips of isleofwightseagull (see below) We came by the Green (3) Line, which most people will probably use). Exit at Ploshchad Aleksandra and go to the II exit. This station is at the intersection of two subway lines, the Green or 3 line, and the yellow or 2 line. If you took the green line walk to the yellow or 2 line to what would be the entrance for that line. This is the II exit. As you leave this station trend to the right. You will see signs, most don't refer to the cemetery but to sculptures. There will be a clear path/road to the right. You will come to a ticket kiosk for two cemeteries. There are separate admissions so be sure you go to the one you want, which is the Cemetery of the Notables/Greats. isleofwightseagull's commentary on locations is accurate, but do make notes of your own. There are tombs of people who may interest you that he does not mention and you are left with a photograph of a person/place that really interested you and you get home without any memory of why.
You can visit the other cemetery (across the narrow street) and the Nevsky Monastery (less than fifty meters/yards) down the road if you choose. Our visit came toward the end of a long day so we chose to skip them. If these places interest you then by all means check them out.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Gtex78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Holy Trinity Alexander Nevskiy' Lavra also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
Peterhof, Petrodvortsovy District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Holy Trinity Alexander Nevskiy' Lavra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing