We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Graveyard of the Russian Stars”

Holy Trinity Alexander Nevskiy' Lavra
Book In Advance
More Info
US$313.48*
and up
Private Half Day St Petersburg City Tour including visit to the Russian Museum
More Info
US$150.00*
and up
St Petersburg Private Custom Day Tour
More Info
US$43.92*
and up
St.Petersburg City Tour with a Private Car
Ranked #53 of 1,807 things to do in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This beautiful monastery complex contains cemeteries where many of Russia's greatest literary and cultural figures are buried.
Clinton, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
522 reviews
262 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Graveyard of the Russian Stars”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We took the Metro--an interesting experience in itself--from our hotel to the church early on a Sunday morning. The cemetery reads like a Who's Who, especially of Russian composers like Tchaikovsky, Glinka, Mussorgsky, Rimsky-Korsokov. But writers like Borodin and famous architects are also interred here. Seeing the care for design of the grave monuments gave us a better understanding of the Russian reverence for their artists. We didn't have time to visit the church; and I'd recommend going early so you can enjoy the walk through history without interruptions from crowds of tourists.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank culturevulture94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    54
    18
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Authentic church”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I visited early on a Saturday morning whilst it was still dark outside and the inside of the church was very busy with local people worshipping. The place was full of the smell of incense and there was singing taking place in the middle of the church. Worth a visit to see how much Russians like the church. I noticed that there were spare headscarves near the door so any ladies without one can enter the church.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ediski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“go for the singing”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We didn't bother with the graveyard, just the church. Get there at the right time, and prepare to stand for 90+ minutes and you'll hear the most amazing singing. It's a beautiful sound, and you can watch the Russian people going through their various rituals in front of their chosen icons while the monks and choir take the service.

Well worth it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kahn-B-arsst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peace on Earth.”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This was recommended in our guide and by other friends who have seen it.Probably want to see it on a sunnier day, it was wet and cold when we went. The Church was quiet and reflective, with lots of people worshipping there.
We visited the famous cemetery, with well know Russian Musicians, poets etc. Enjoyed a lovely cup of coffee in the Monastry café. Easy to get to on the metro.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
1,337 reviews
788 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Completely overrated”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Actually I should put "average" up there, or even good, but I want to lower the rating because this is really overrated. First of all, it's far from the center. Secondly: the church is not more beautiful than many in the center. Thirdly: it's not free anymore. Fourth: the graveyards don't even come close to the one of the Novodevichy monastery in moscow, that can easily compete with Père Lachaize.
A typical exemple of the tendency of lonely planet to "need" a highlight in every part of the city, i.e. chapter in the book

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jurgen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Holy Trinity Alexander Nevskiy' Lavra also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
Peterhof, Petrodvortsovy District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Holy Trinity Alexander Nevskiy' Lavra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing