We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stop I always make in the city”
Review of Gostiny Dvor

Gostiny Dvor
Book In Advance
More Info
US$77.00*
and up
St. Petersburg Walking Tour
Ranked #187 of 1,786 things to do in St. Petersburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in the mid-1700s, this huge, block-long department store has evolved into a shopping mall over time and is considered one of the first shopping malls in the world.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A stop I always make in the city”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Gostiny Dvor is one of the oldest "malls" in the world. I always stop at the souvenir store on the first level. The housewares and linens section is an amazing selection of beautiful things made in Russia. It's one of the nicest places to get wooden items for the kitchen. They also have a nice bookstore / paper store. Its also a good place to get vodka, caviar, and cigars.
It is also a good place for people watching and observing everyday Russian life.

Even after 22 years of going to Saint Petersburg, I always make a stop at Gostiny Dvor for linens, wooden kitchen stuff, matrouska dolls, and hand sewn aprons. The souvenir store is on the first level facing Nevsky Prospect. Use the second set of wooden doors in the middle of the building to get to the souvenir stores.

I usually go for about an hour or two late in the day. Then hit one of the amazing cafes for either a late borscht lunch or coffee with pastries.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Simbelina14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    41
    33
    16
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naantali, Finland
Level Contributor
1,130 reviews
607 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
“Huge place and lots of shops”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Located on Nevsky Prospekt and metro station right next to it, so this is almost a must, if you want to shop something. Place is huge and you can find everything from souvenirs to upscale furs and clothes. Great selection porcelain and "artsy" stuff to your home too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Halkidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
1,594 reviews
696 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,220 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We really didn't enjoy this shop. It felt sterile, unfriendly, soulless and ugly. After walking around for a short period of time we just left.
It's nothing exciting and I wouldn't recommend visiting, even if you are passing.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellover6128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good place to buy fur accessories and coats”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

A lot of souvenirs can be purchased at this shopping center (it's not exactly a mall in the American sense) and there is a good fur shop on the second floor with high quality hats, coats and other accessories at reasonable prices.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank likemagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
118 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Range of Goods”
Reviewed 8 December 2012

I love this place, for you can get almost anything in it, from practical purchases such as housewares, food and stationary to gifts and souvenirs. Gostiny Dvor is conveniently located in the centre of the city and even has its "own" metro station. I particularly like the Zenit football club store, which has the friendliest assistants. If you need an extra suitcase to get your purchases home, that's possible, too. The toy store has its own entrance and is worth a visit. If you're interested, there are also clothes at ordinary western prices and designer boutiques. You really can find a marvelous range of goods, including Russian items, so that you can take home genuine Russian gifts, such as things for the bath from the Banya section?

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank RosaBonheur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gostiny Dvor also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Gostiny Dvor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing