We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascination”

Russian Museum of Ethnography
Book In Advance
More Info
US$145.00*
and up
St. Petersburg Shore Excursion: One Day Highlights Tour
More Info
US$142.25*
and up
St Petersburg Shore Excursion: Small-Group City Tour with Hermitage Museum and...
More Info
US$43.40*
and up
Jewish Heritage Private Tour including Grand Choral Synagogue and Ethnography...
Ranked #66 of 1,807 things to do in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The folk art, crafts, dress and lifestyles of the various peoples and tribes who inhabited the vast expanse of territory in the former USSR are portrayed on the two floors of this unusual museum.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fascination”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Wonderful museum to see all the arts and crafts of the ethnic groups of greater Russia roughly 1 - 1,5 century ago. I marvelled at how carefully all the displayes were crafted. One part of the museum is currently being renovated, one wing is already renovated, and the other still await updating. The updated part is wonderfully done with insightful and lively information in English. I think your visit to the museum becomes ever more rewarding given the updating the museum currently experiences. I also loved the photographs, some of them look like they are made at the very early stages of photography and the photographs closely match the displayed outfits. The outfits are wonderful and just splendid. Hope it will attract more foreign visitors as I have seen only Russian visitors, especially large schoolclasses.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank penelopeia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    45
    9
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
“Question about this museum”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Years ago there was a huge Soviet painted mural on the back wall of the museum, across the whole width and around the stairs. It was incredible. Last time I saw it was in 1997 or 1998. At the time, it was viewed with disdain by local people. Does anyone know if it is still there. My concern was that it would be painted over. Thank you.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank LOVESTPETERSBURG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunkport, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Fascinating museum”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We only had time at the end of our stay for one museum, so we picked the Russian Ethnography Museum and it was a good choice. The museum showcases the lifestyles and culture of the various peoples of Russia through costumes, artifacts and photographs in tableaux and displays. On the first floor, overall descriptions were in English but not the descriptions for specific displays. Upstairs I noticed that English info was presented. I think this was a very well done museum with fascinating displays. The vintage photographs were also an excellent way to depict the lifestyles from the past. I found it a more interesting way to learn about the history of this country than dry historical and political information. When my husband heard there were costumes, he was less than thrilled but he did enjoy our visit because the museum is much more than "outfits." I think it's an excellent museum choice if you want to get a glimpse of the past and all the exhibits and displays are very well presented.
also, the lady attendant by the ivory, amber and precious materials section made a point of showing us a few particularly interesting displays that we almost walked by, even though she couldn't speak english.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank kpter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Go early or you'll upset the attendants wanting to close early”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Very enjoyable visit. Fascinating history of the various peoples that make up the Russian Federation. The attendants, mainly women, had their coats on and were ready to go home at 5, and the museum closing time was 6. Typical Russia! Used to be like that in the UK, but the influence of American style customer service changed it. Ironically you can still find similar jobsworth attitudes in parts of small town USA.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CFC1899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tge most beautiful collection of textiles and folk objects. You must go!”
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

Criminally overlooked in the guidebooks,this museum was a delight. Beautiful awe inspiring collections of traditional dress and objects from ethnic groups making up the russian populace, professionally and comprehensively displayed according to coutry and theme. From carved walrus ivory objects to ikats from uzbekistan to jewishpaintings and objects to estonian knitting,bread animals, pottery, ancient jewellery, painted sleighs,rugs, dolls, block printed linens, amber,wooden tools .....Something for everyone.I dragged my boyfriend here, thinking as a textile designer it was more my thing but he ended up absolutely loving it.Wish there were more english signs but only because i wanted to know more about the myriad of wonderful things. Besides about half of it has english translations and the objects speak for themselves most if the time. There is absolutely loads to see here leave a good few hours. If you like ethnographic museums this is one of the finest I've ever been to and I've been to a fair few. I only wish I had time to visit twice.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LondonRosieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Russian Museum of Ethnography also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Russian Museum of Ethnography? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing