We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Arbat Nord Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arbat Nord Hotel
Ranked #102 of 334 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2008

Once again, I stayed in this hotel for work while visiting out factory.
I think the hotel is great, it is friendly, clean, rooms are not large but pleasant and comfortable.

The food was very nice; especially the fish and portions were large!

The location is in the quiet street, overlooking very industrial looking business centre.

Unlike other reviewers, I didn't have a problem with being asked for money, but then I am originally from Moscow.

Russia, in particular Moscow doesn’t really have any good 3* hotels, it is either extremely expensive 5* or really bad quality 2*. Well Moscow has been recently voted as city with most expensive hotels in the world, followed by Tokyo and then London.

I think for the money, it is a good place and you can walk or get cheap taxi to the Nevskiy.
Or stay in a private flat or B&B though I would advice against this if you don't speak the language.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wild_Panther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    47
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
30
13
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2007

My husband and I went to Russia and stayed in this Hotel for 4 days.
We were doing an 11-day-tour in Russia and stayed also in Moscow in President Hotel, which was much more expensive and larger.
This is a family owned hotel, very convenient when travelling to Saint Petersburg.
Our room was in the 5th floor (501) and we have considered it quite good and modern. Only the safety box was missing (they should have one in every room).
Bathroom was perfect, with all the necessary amenities. We had 2 bottles of water in the room every day.
The A/C was good but still we had mosquitoes as city is very humid and because of the proximity to the river. All rooms had bug-repellent.
Breakfast was nothing fantastic but was fair enough. We had dinner in the hotel, which we have considered to be good and better than expected for such a small hotel.
The staff was friendly and did speak English.
The Hotel was not far from the city centre (about 20 minutes walking from Nevsky Avenue) but we would prefer to be closer to the main arteries. The hotel surroundings were not very good either. For sure we had gone out more often at night after dinner.

  • Liked — Clean and modern
  • Disliked — A bit far from city centre
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Alexa-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2007

Stayed there for a week in 2007. The hotel is clean. The service is very poor. The location of the hotel - well it is really in the slums (which I think is most of St Perteburg unfortunately) but to Russians it may seem OK. Miles away from everything
Watch out for attempts to get money off you.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank normal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2007

We stayed in this hotel in July 2007. A piece of my friend's jewellry went missing howeverfrom our hotel room. We do not know who took it. The hotel rooms do not have a safe. The hotel receptionist assured us that this could not happen, and made us feel like we were causing the hotel personal affront by reporting this fact to her. No one from the hotel bothered to contact us of the results of any investigation that may have occurred as a result of our report to them upon us checking out. Which was really disappointing. The hotel and its reception staff was of also of very limited assistance when we wished to file a report with the police. This almost spoiled our stay in St Petersburg, and although the breakfast and the food from the restaurant was very good as reported, but, I cannot reccomend this hotel in view of our very upsetting experience, and wish to put other travellers on notice of our experience.

  • Liked — the restaurant
  • Disliked — the lack of security and the lack of support by hotel management
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ETAUST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2007

You get no surprises with the Arbat Nord - it's perfectly fine. Rooms are pleasant and well-maintained. Service is moderately efficient without being memorable... it's all just FINE. But don't expect anything more. It's not great value for money - just acceptable. Breakfast's were pretty good compared to some of our experiences in the Baltics, so extra points scored there! The only notable downside is the slightly unattractive and run-down neighbourhood where the hotel is situated. That said, it should give the traveller a more rounded perspective of life in city St Petersburg!

  • Liked — Modern rooms and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Just smacked of average
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2006

We stayed at the Arbat Nord with other friends for a week in August. It was thoroughly modern, new and clean, quiet, good linens, nice bathrooms, excellent air-conditioning controls, bottled mineral water provided daily, good hairdryer, an iron and board immediately provided upon request, well cleaned daily etc. The second floor is non-smoking, the top floor is mansard (eg low sloping ceilings). The free breakfast was very good with lots of choice, and a few food items were varied every day. We didn't eat lunch or dinner in the restaurant but did have drinks a few times and this was fine. The staff spoke English well overall. The reception staff were very pleasant, helpful and knowledgeable in the (please note this uncommon in Russia) professional Western service-economy manner (except one standard Soviet-service era sneering young female Russian version of Basil Fawlty -- we just laughed everytime we had to deal with her and referred to her all week as Miss Nyet). Restaurant staff were also good. In terms of location, it is not totally central to the main tourist attractions, but only about 10-15 walk to the centre (Fontanka canal side). Re location: solo female travelers who are not used to fairly edgy cities may feel a bit uncomfortable walking to and from the hotel area at night; the neighborhood is in, to use London/New York real estate terms, 'prospective gentrification'. However go a few streets right and left of the hotel and the area improves. I agree with the reviewer who said it is a hotel that is trying really hard -- and doing it very well. We knew many people in other hotels (all in St P for a conference) who had a lot of complaints. We did not. This is a very good place for people on a middle budget. It would be a good middle range hotel anywhere in the world, and in St P where such things are rare it's quite a find.

  • Liked — Clean, nice hote;
  • Disliked — One poor member of staff
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank citytype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, VA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2006

Nice and helpful staff - speaks perfect English. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The hotel is a good 10-15 minute walk from the center of St. Petersburg. I would definitely stay there if I ever come back to St. Petersburg. Just be careful when requesting cab services. I asked the hotel to request cab rides in 2 occasions. The first driver was very helpful, and charged an appropriate amount. The second ride was to the same destination, but the cab driver took a much longer route and charged me 5 times the previous amount. Bottom line: make sure you agree on the fare upfront, and give yourself plenty of time in case you need to order another cab.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ricvieira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Liteyny
Art-Hotel Mokhovaya
Art-Hotel Mokhovaya
#108 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Kolomna
Matisov Domik
Matisov Domik
#54 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Demetra Art Hotel
#47 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ReMarka Hotel on Stolyarny
#116 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Vladimir
The Brothers Karamazov Hotel
The Brothers Karamazov Hotel
#57 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Palantin Hotel
#91 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbat Nord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbat Nord Hotel

Property: Arbat Nord Hotel
Address: Artilleriyskaya St., 4, St. Petersburg 191014, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#72 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#75 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arbat Nord Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The convenient location of the newly built hotel in the city center close to one of the most beautiful cathedrals - the Preobrazhensky Cathedrals and the famous Summer Garden gives good opportunity for our guests to enjoy pleasant walks. The main avenue - the Nevsky prospect is just a few minutes away. All staff at the ARBAT NORD will do the best to make sure that you enjoy your staying with us! 33 Twin - bedded and double rooms equipped to the most exacting European standards and fully air-conditioned. All rooms have: conditioning, bathroom with bath and shower, hair dryer, satellite TV, telephone, Wireless Internet access, electronic lock.Guest services: room service from 08:00 a.M. - 24 P.M., Free convenient parking, business services - translation, interpreting, copying etc., Laundry and dry cleaning are available 5 days a week, free safe-box at the reception. All major credit cards accepted (AMEX/JCB/MC/CUP/VISA). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Arbat Nord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbat Nord St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing