We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel”
Review of Comfort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Hotel
Ranked #13 of 351 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
denmark
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel”
Reviewed 28 October 2009

Great location, lovely staff, nicely cleaned, very good breakfast!
I really enjoyed my stay in Saint Petersburg and it's thanks to this hotel.
Last summer '08 I travelled alone to St. Petersburg and stayed 10 days at this hotel. I hade a nice accomodation, very close to the city center, I managed to walk to almost everything I wanted to see, and the room was well decorated and cleaned.
The staff was always ready to answer to my questions and came with nice suggestions, which made my stay even better!
The hotel is easy to find and located in a nice street, not to noisy.
I warmly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingisliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    161
    33
    6
    1
See reviews for
118
203
60
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

We'been in Skt Petersburg in June 2009, during the White Nights Festival. The hotel is beautifully located one street from Nevsky Prospect. Is clean, with warm and helpful staff and the price is more than decent.
When arriving at the airport, it would be advisable to have the exact address of the hotel ready for the taxi driver. There are 2 Comfort Hotels in the city and a confusion is costly. There is a fix taxi price from airport to center, but if you arrive at a wrong address you have to pay the extra fare to the correct address.
Also, be aware that Comfort Hotel does not look like a traditional hotel from the street side. The entrance is marked by a name plate, but the hotel as such is at levels 2 and 3 (as far as I remember, anyway, not at the street level) and you have to take the elevator to the reception desk.

We had tickets at Mariinsky boght a good while in advance directly on the theater's site. It was a good decision (advised by Veresh, tripadvisor expert on the city) and I recommend everyone to avoid the so many sites that sell Mariinsky tickets at incredible higher prices.

Also through internet we bought Hermitage tickets and for a slightly higher price we avoided a depressingly long cue. Even so, due to the museum's strange organisation, there was not a special desk for prepaid tickets. Instead, we were simply supposed to skip the line and go directly to the counter. Consequently we had problems to explain to the people standing in line for many hours all the story. The museum advertised on the site that tickets bought online assure a no-cue access. There was, though, a difficult and rude moment . People tend to behave like this after hours of waiting, it was not their fault..

All in all, the city looks wonderfully revived. All beautifully restored palaces, a lot of museums, places to visit, streets to stroll...

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alinnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nambucca heads australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Stayed here for 5 nights early August.

Booked all arrangements with hotel by email. They arranged visa letters and transfers from the airport. On arrival at the hotel one wondered what on earth we had booked. Unfortunately the building was covered in scaffolding - the outside is undergoing renovation.

The location is ideal. Easy walking distance to many of the tourist attractions, ferries , nightlife etc. alocation ok for walking at night. never felt threatened in any way.

Close to many restaurants both good and not so good.

Staff at hotel very friendly and could not do enough for you. As we we had not bothered to learn to speak Russian was pleased thatall the staff we met at the hotel could speak english very well.

Rooms are ok. Not huge but big enough. Clean enough and comfortable enough. You should always try however and book their deluxe rooms - a bit more spacious.

Our rate (very reasonable when you compare with other hotels round about) included breakfast -juice, scrambled egg, sausage, tomato, cheese, etc. Only complaint there was that one 2 slice toaster was not enough for the number of guests.

Wopuld def stay here again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdlnambucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrin_spb, Ekaterina Kleopina, General Manager at Comfort Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2009
Dear Gdlnambucca!

Thank you for choosing our hotel.
We are very sorry for inconveniences during your stay caused by repair works on our building arranged by the Government of St.Petersburg.
We would like to inform you that all the construction works have already been finished. Pictures of our renovated building are available on the hotel’s photo pages on tripadvisor.com as well as on Comfort Hotel web site.
Thank you for bringing my attention to necessity to install an extra toaster.
Now we have 2 toasters, hopefully makes breakfast more comfortable.
Thank you for an understanding and your stay with us!
We would be glad to see you again in our hotel during your next trip to Saint Petersburg!

Best regards,

Ekaterina Kleopina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

At present there are external renovations so the front of the hotel is covered in scaffolding and green mesh - and can be very hard to find if there is a large constructin van parked in front of the temporary sign (as there was when we were trying to find it!). However, inside it's not a problem - it's all clean and quiet.

All the staff who assisted us in our three night stay were excellent, friendly and genuinely seemed to enjoy their jobs and believe that personal service and being able to help guests get the most out of their stay is the best way to assist.

Our room was very small, but clean. Each room is probably different because there are only about 12-16 in the whole place.

This is in a great location, close to the main shopping districts as well as several touist attractions and palaces (too many to name individually).

If you're after something centrally located and small with great personal service (that still has many of the conveniences of the large hotels such as easy 24 hr security access, free internet in reception area, breakfasts, etc) then this is a great choice.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alongwaysouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrin_spb, Ekaterina Kleopina, General Manager at Comfort Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2009
Dear Alongwaysouth!
Thank you for your review!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Our staff apply all efforts to make our hotel "a home away from home" for our guests.
We would like to inform you that all the construction works have already been finished. Pictures of our renovated building are available on the hotel’s photo pages on tripadvisor.com as well as on Comfort Hotel web site.
We will be glad to welcome you back to Comfort Hotel whenever you come again to visit Saint-Petersburg.

Best regards,

Ekaterina Kleopina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

I don't write many reviews but I felt compelled this time due to my wonderful stay at the Comfort Hotel. I extensively researched my hotel through TripAdvisor and other blogs and travel sites. TA and their traveler's reviews were right on in recommending the Comfort Hotel.

If you want convenient access to the Neva, Nevsky Prospekt, St. Isaacs, and the Hermitage you can't find a better location. I easily walked to the major sights, numerous shops, and a multitude of restaurants. Yes the construction on the hotel's facade was disappointing but it did not bother me at all in my room as all of the work was done from 9-5 while I was out of my room touring the city.

My "classic double" room was very clean, efficient, and small (which I expected). For those travelers in the U.S., think "Hampton Inn" as a baseline for efficiency. If you are expecting luxury, book yourself into the Astoria down the road (which has a very nice high tea by the way). I was looking for value and convenience on this trip. Let's not confuse value with "cheap". I was VERY comfortable and EXTREMELY happy with the service I received at this hotel which was due in a large part to the friendliness, helpfulness, and courtesy I received from the front desk staff; primarily IRIN and SVETLANA. Their help in all categories of recommendations from ferry schedules, to tours, to restaurants, to markets, to directions to my favorite local donut shop (Pyshki) proved invaluable.

The breakfast was fine and offered several hot and cold options. Tea and coffee throughout the day in the breakfast room was very convenient and a nice way to take a break from the day and plan the next journey. The breakfast room was a great place to meet travelers from around the world and hear great stories and pick up good travel tips.

I wish the WiFi worked in my room. It was functional on the first day but not for the balance of my stay so I had to use my computer in the breakfast room or use the hotel's computer in the lobby; a minor inconvenience.

If I had a bigger budget to spend on a fancier, more luxurious hotel, I would still come back to the Comfort Hotel because of the outstanding service.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frozencalbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakiki
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2009

If you are going to St. Petersburg, Russia, then I highly recommend the Comfort Hotel. Literally down the street and around the corner from the Winter Palace, home of the last Czar from which he and his family were seized at the time of the revolution. Today, it is known as the Hermitage, and houses the most remarkable and extensive collection of Art in the World. Coming from Hawaii, across the oceans, there you will find the most beautiful city in the world: St. Petersburg, Russia. The Comfort Hotel is a modest, mid-budget, absolute bargain of a deal, with friendly, down to earth, straight-forward folks you will meet. Regular people, delivering outstanding service. To me, the small numbered Staff demonstrated common sense, practicality and the realness of the Russian People well. Tired, fatigued and worn out on the trail, I initially found fault with the facade of the building being renovated and in which the Hotel is housed, as cause for some complaint. However, St. Petersburg, is an historic City and the upkeep of these structures is necessary and you quickly learn there are LOTS of stuff to do beside looking at the outside of a building you're staying in. Inside, the room was ultra clean, serviced daily, quiet. For business, you got wi-fi in your room, and a desk top in the lobby, keeping you up to speed with work back on the block. Going to Russia was right out of a James Bond 007 and Indiana Jones Movie. The Hermitage will blow your mind: We talking real Rembrandts, and LOTS of them, People. And, that is just the tip of the Iceberg! The Nevsky Prospect, where everything happens, allows you to buy all things Russian and at GREAT deals, while looking at Super Model looking women coming at you everytime you turn around. I recommend you order the hotel pick up from Pulkova 2, as the driver will let you know some history about the City, the seige back in WWII. In short, if you going St. Petersburg, on a budget, stay at the Comfort Hotel. You will NOT be disappointed. Mahalo, Russia, and Thank you, Comfort Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kahiki45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Our first trip to Russia, very comfortable mid budget hotel, staff couldn't have been more welcoming. Modern room, comfortable bed, air con, located very close to major historical attractions. Excellent restuarants withing walking distance, we liked the Greek restaurant and the Christopher Columbus next door to the hotel. We would stay here again without doubt if we returned

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Akyan St.Petersburg
Akyan St.Petersburg
#11 of 351 in St. Petersburg
514 reviews
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 351 in St. Petersburg
1,567 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
NasHotel
NasHotel
#9 of 351 in St. Petersburg
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
M-Hotel
M-Hotel
#18 of 351 in St. Petersburg
437 reviews
Nevsky Forum Hotel
#17 of 351 in St. Petersburg
738 reviews
Admiralteisky
Domina St.Petersburg
Domina St.Petersburg
#10 of 351 in St. Petersburg
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel

Property: Comfort Hotel
Address: Bolshaya Morskaya St., 25, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#12 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#23 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the "golden triangle" of St. Petersburg, Comfort Hotel is very convenient for both tourists and business travellers. Hotel offers 18 guest rooms, from Classic to 2-room Suite with Jacuzzi & fireplace. All rooms are equipped with bath/shower, phone, satellite TV, safety box, electronic keys, central air-conditioning, hair-drier. Internet access (LAN/Wi-Fi) and tea/coffee are free of charge. English speaking staff, visa support, registration, laundry, tour & travel arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel St Petersburg
Comfort St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing