We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hostel ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soul Kitchen Junior Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Soul Kitchen Junior Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best hostel ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

This one has earned it's top placing. Everything about this place was fantastic. Friendly staff that will go out of their way to help you. Great facilities. Free international calls. Beautifully decorated rooms. Planned events each day. Great location. Would highly recommend this place for a great stay in St petersburg.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SR72012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    15
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
67
98
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Best hostel I've stayed in!
Facilities were all new and excellent condition.
Staff were helpful and really friendly, had good free wifi and computers available. Also Have a free phone which you can use for international calls!! Staff somehow noticed it was my birthday during stay and gave me a bottle of champagne and a cake! Thanks guys, would definitely stay again

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Earsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Without exaggeration, probably the best hostel I've ever stayed in. The staff are friendly and helpful, the decor is quirky and charming, the facilities are fantastic and the price for our lovely double room with en-suite was very reasonable. I've paid a lot more to stay in much inferior rooms in hotels before. Despite the friendly, lively atmosphere, our room was blissfully quiet at night. The location is also very central and handy for many of the sights, bars and restaurants. Can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

I am a frequent traveller and hostel-inhabitant. During my stay in Soul Kitchen i realised that this is THE BEST hostel i ve ever been. I loved every single detail in the hostel: the ambience, the decoration, the rooms, the personnel...Located 1 block away from St.Isaac' s cathedral and 2 blocks away from Nevsky Prospekt is located in the very heart of the city. ALL the personnel was genuinely polite, friendly, helpful in any aspect (they even made a whole search to find for me theatrical plays of Chekhov!) and fluently speaking english (very important in Russia). The living room was the perfect introduction to the hostel: great decoration, screen for movies, free dvd's, cd's - great collection and choices by the personnel-books (litterature, travel books..lonely planet etc) exchanging library, guitare (nice moments from somebody playing), comfortable sofa. The rooms what exactly every traveller and backpacker always wanted and prayed but would difficult meet: spacious, C-L-E-A-N, comfortable beds, super decoration, relaxing colours...the same with the toilets (should mention the speaking toilet room with selections from english speaking fairy tales and russian litterature!!): many toilet rooms, fully equiped, nothing broken or damaged, great ambience, spacious mirrors, 100% clean. The kitchen, a place you never want to leave, so cozy and warm with many facilities! recycling, exchanging food, free hot water, tea, coffee, corn flakes, pasta, rice, spices, pans - one day they prepared for us pancakes! also spacious. To summarize: elegant, modern, quiet, friendly, cozy, comfortable, clean place! you really feel like home! you just love it! not like other hostels you feel like wanting to leave as soon as possible. Best choice for backpackers, young people and families!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yas k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I can't say enough about this hostel. It was excellent. It was so clean and the rooms were great. I really loved the old style kitchen stove they kept. The location was so nice especially as it can tend to be very cold in st. Petersburg so it was nice to be able to walk to all the locations we wanted to go to. The people running the hostel were very helpful as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank discostar23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I stayed in this hostel some time ago and have been meaning to write a review so hope it's still valid. This hostel blew my mind, not only is it well located, but is clean, safe and very modern. Reception staff were friendly and helped us book tickets to various museums. Having stayed in a number of hostels in Russia and around the world, I would say this is the best!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

I have been travelling and staying in hostels for a few months now and this is the best so far. Not only are the facilities first rate and the location great, but the staff are fantastic. The reception staff cannot do enough to help and are always smiling whilst the cleaning staff are always working and keeping the place spotless.

The kitchen is wonderfully large and well equipped; the TWO common-rooms are comfortable and the dorms spacious, warm and all with substantial lockers. Everything a traveller could want has been provided.

This is definitely the best hostel in Russia and is probably the best in Europe as I could not fault it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 331 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 331 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#9 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#11 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#7 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Admiralteisky
Domina Prestige St.Petersburg
Domina Prestige St.Petersburg
#10 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soul Kitchen Junior Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soul Kitchen Junior Hostel

Property: Soul Kitchen Junior Hostel
Address: Moiki Reki Emb., 62/2-9, St. Petersburg 191000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,512 Speciality Lodging in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Soul Kitchen Junior Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soul Kitchen junior hostel is ideally located in the most beautiful and central area of St Petersburg (near St Isaac's cathedral) in 150 years old neo-baroc building, within a short walking distance to all major attractions and interesting spots of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Soul Kitchen Junior Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing