We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel I've ever stayed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Soul Kitchen Junior Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“The best hotel I've ever stayed!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Soul Kitchen hostel is in a strategic and wonderful position in St petersburg on a lovely canal and just 5 minutes walking to the Nexzky prospective and near to all main attractions (Hermitage museum, Cathedral, Theatres, etc..). The hotel is clean, funky and it is the best I've ever stayed in my life! Just look at the picture to have an idea. Staff is quite helpful and they speak English (rare thing in Russia!).
The hostel also organises movie evenings and social activity especially for people who are travelling alone - really nice atmosphere!
Negative comments:
-Prices are quite high for an hostel, but you'll understand why once you visit it. It is more like a boutique hotel than an hostel
-It is in an old building so you cannot throw anything in the toilet..Anything means toilet papers!!
-Mosquitos. Even if there are nets on the windows, mosquitos are inside (at leat in our room) and bite all time. So be equipped with sprays to kill them.

Enjoy your staying in St Petersburg!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dangiapedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
71
108
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Simply a great place to stay and meet people in a wonderful city. This is one of my favourite hostels ever. It is in a fantastic spot about 5 minutes from St Isaacs Cathedral and 10 Minutes from the Hermitage Museum. This place has all the amenities I needed and had huge beds with curtains to draw for some privacy. The staff are very pleasant and often make soup and pancakes and stuff for the people staying there (and sometimes give free shots of vodka). You shuld definitley stay here if you are visiting St. Petes and are on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark0141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Soul Kitchen for 2 nights in August in a double room with ensuite toilet.

Splendid hostel. Well above russian standard. The furniture is cool, the kitchen is lovely and the whole thing really gives you a sense of home. The staff all speak perfect english and they are really kind and ready to go out of their way to help you. Book now and you will not be disappointed. Only beware of mosquitos

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StinkyBoyGhetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hostel in a converted communal house - great location! Shoe warmers, free international calls, very friendly staff. What more could you ask for...? How about a massive beautiful communal kitchen with free pasta!

First hostel on our Trans Sib adventure and definitely the best across our month slog to Beijing.

Only downside was slightly more pricey than other places, but definitely worth the money if you can afford it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elliot J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Firstly the hostel is gorgeous! Charming decorations, well facilitated and a very homely feel. Comfy couches, beanbags and cushions. Plenty of mac computers. A large kitchen and dining area with every utensil imaginable. The beds are also great! Double-sized bunk beds with curtains and large lockable compartments beneath large enough to store entire ruck sacks.

The location is fantastic. Along the river, close to restaurants, bars and attractions.

The hostel's staff were incredibly lovely. All excellent English speakers who clearly demonstrate genuine care and interest in the hostel's guests. All willing to provide great advice. I lost my ring whilst staying at Soul Kitchen Junior, and the staff spent an entire day asking every guest if they had seen it. Eventually they found it for me. My friend realised that he had left his notebook in the bedroom upon arriving back in Finland. The hostel's staff offered to send the notebook to us, however whilst we were more than happy to pay for postage, the staff arranged for a Finnish traveller to meet us in Helsinki with the notebook on the following day upon his return.

Amazing. I've stayed in dozens of hostels in Europe, and this was by far the best. Soul Kitchen Junior will exceed all expectations. Better than a five star hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiechuckster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromso, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Maybe it seems a bit strange that every review gives this place top grades, but it is simply that good. I stayed with my friends in a lovely four-man room that we had to ourselves, and it was beautiful. Nice beds, good view, so clean.

The whole hostel was spotless, and really nicely decorated. The location was superb, right on a pretty canal, a short walk from the Winter Palace and other attractions.

The staff was wonderful and friendly. From copying our passports they noticed (without saying anything) that it was my friend's birthday the next day, and surprised us as we came back from sightseeing with a home made cake and Russian wine!! They also had excellent suggestions for bars and restaurants in the area.

The bathrooms and kitchen was great, and the common room very cosy. I would absolutely reccommend this place to anyone going to St Petersburg.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

What a find! This is truly a hostel with a soul, providing a warm and friendly atmosphere. Location is excellent, within walking distance to major attractions, such as Hermitage. Housed is a former "komunalka" (Russian multi-family apartment) it oozes authenticity and charm. Upon entering, visitors leave their shoes in the hallway and enter the main living room with lots of seating space, library and big-screen TV. It was great watching FIFA world cup games with people from all over the world.
There is a separate large game room with a Foosball table, 3 Mac desktop computers connected to internet and free wifi. They will even lend you headphones if you want to Skype so you can do so without disturbing others.
Kitchen was also large and clean with two long communal tables, two fridges, lots of cooking space and utensils. The cleaning lady was always discreetly cleaning so the whole hostel is super-clean. The bathroom is shared but large with a number of sinks, shower cabins, toilets and no lineups ever.
Our family stayed in a room for 4, very clean and comfortable with a large window facing the river.
The staff is all young, friendly and spoke excellent English. The made amazing waffles for everyone one day for breakfast and very good borscht for dinner, free to all in the hostel. They also gave us some excellent recommendations for places to see and nearby restaurant.
This hostel was one of the highlights of our entire trip!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 355 in St. Petersburg
1,552 reviews
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 355 in St. Petersburg
791 reviews
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 355 in St. Petersburg
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#7 of 355 in St. Petersburg
1,592 reviews
Admiralteisky
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#13 of 355 in St. Petersburg
542 reviews
Admiralteisky
Domina St.Petersburg
Domina St.Petersburg
#9 of 355 in St. Petersburg
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soul Kitchen Junior Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soul Kitchen Junior Hostel

Property: Soul Kitchen Junior Hostel
Address: Moiki Reki Emb., 62/2-9, St. Petersburg 191000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,669 Speciality Lodging in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Soul Kitchen Junior Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soul Kitchen junior hostel is ideally located in the most beautiful and central area of St Petersburg (near St Isaac's cathedral) in 150 years old neo-baroc building, within a short walking distance to all major attractions and interesting spots of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Soul Kitchen Junior Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing