We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“homely and nice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MIR Fontanka Hostel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
MIR Fontanka Hostel
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
“homely and nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed in this hostel for one night and really enjoyed it. The room was spacy and with pleasant design.The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The location was also very good as it is just by the subway station and a short walking distance from the historic center.
The only drawback was that acoustics allowed to hear night activity of other guests, but it is what you normally expect from a students hostel, so it was not a big problem.
I can't recommend this hostel highly enough, it is definetely great value for money and a pleasant place to stay for few days.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SonjaSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irina Z, Manager at MIR Fontanka Hostel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hello,
Thank you for the feedback, we are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    0
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
6
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

It's very nice, clean and friendly, but was too difficult to find and too noisy! We found it after an hour and only because we called them and we told them to meet on rubinshteina street. At night we couldn't sleep good because the other guests were very noisy (singing at midnight and speaking loudly in bedroom), nobody of the staff told them anything. But the kitchen was clean and full of everything, and the bathrooms clean and nice.
Good price.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BlondieGirl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

The hostel is located on a nice side-street running from the Nevsky prospect and very close to a metro station and a bus stop of the buses running to the airport. The hostel itself is very clean and with a huge kitchen with cooking facilities and many showers. The private room I stayed in was really tiny and quite small, but the bed was big and comfortable. It is a little bit difficult to find, as the entrance is not on the main street given in the discription, but in the yard round the corner. The staff was really friendly and it felt like home, especially because the whole hostel is like a huge flat with lots of different small things as decoration - they have a piano and some people even play it, some old cameras and books...
I really enjoyed my stay and can recommend this place to people who don't enjoy loud drunk travellers in the hostel and prefer to have a good sleep before going to explore the city. And if you want to have a drink, there is a small bar close to the hostel with a huge variety of drinks :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loloschina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

Three weeks in Oct 2012, I should have written my review earlier, I want to thank everybody at Mir Fontanka for the excellent hospitality. I am looking at reviews by "eemme" and "Alex C" and it's all true. And I never found noise after midnight, even with a coed group of 10 Russian kick-boxers on tour or a reunion for 7 British exchange students who live in other towns in Russia. The extra comfort of the big living room and kitchen table makes it feel like home. And it was a temporary home to several Russians who I miss, like the philosopher, the accordian player, the girl in pink all the time, the bicyclist, and the five or six girls who ran the reception desk and made breakfast. And I don't speak any Russian either.

Room Tip: Several 2, 3, and 6 and 10 person options, the rooms are big and a person over 30 (+) will be fine f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank refwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todi, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

This newly opened hostel is located near in the city centre, near the Dostoevskaya/Vladimirskaya metro station and a couple of minutes away from Nevsky prospekt.
Our room (a private 3-bed) was really big and comfy, the bathrooms were shared but it wasn't a big deal since there are 3 of them and there are even more showers.
There is a big shared kitchen/living room, which is nice for getting to know new people or relax. Sometimes it may get a little noisy so I'd recommend this hostel especially to young travellers. The staff was very nice and helping.
By the way it wasn't very easy for us to find it the first time, since it is not right on the street. Just be sure to understand the directions or print the map they'll provide you.

Cheers

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Definitely one of the best hostels in Petersburg in quality, price, cleanness, professionalism and customer's comfort. Located in the central district (M. Dostoyevskaya) within walk distance from most fancy places of the city. The hostel is very modern and has a lot of space. The rooms are wide and fresh and clean. The kitchen is all new and the breakfast is exactly what you need before taking off for sightseeing. Everything is done to make you feel like at your home.

Room Tip: 10 bed room is nothing less than others, pay less and get the same service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Petrogradsky
Hostel 1912
Hostel 1912
#2 of 1,512 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Admiralteisky
Mir Hostel Nevskiy
Mir Hostel Nevskiy
#53 of 1,512 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Nevskiy
Graffiti L Hostel
Graffiti L Hostel
#25 of 1,512 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasilyevsky Island
Stasov Hotel
Stasov Hotel
#14 of 850 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Hotel Nouvelle Europe
#141 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Bristol Hotel
#28 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MIR Fontanka Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MIR Fontanka Hostel

Property: MIR Fontanka Hostel
Address: Rubinshteina St., 15/17, St. Petersburg 191002, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vladimir
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #371 of 1,512 Speciality Lodging in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When we say MIR Fontanka, we mean... A hostel situated in the very center of Saint-Petersburg, but hidden from the city fuss. A discreet yard 5 minutes walk from the Nevsky prospect, with arches, fountains and hammered street lamps will lead you to a place where the contemporary and the antique combines peacefully. Besides our friendly English-speaking staff you will find there a comfortable accommodation and a set of services included (Wi-Fi, breakfast, kitchen utilities, hairdryer, iron, washing machine). Experience the Saint-Petersburg cosy atmosphere at MIR Fontanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your MIR Fontanka Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing