We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel & Nice Staff”
Review of Gogol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gogol Hotel
Ranked #68 of 361 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Very nice hotel, on the river directly, kind small hotel but nice, Location is good, near Metro station, just 3 minutes walk, many restaurants around.
Breakfast was good, Staff are friendly, they do what they can to help.

The elevator is tooooo small, only 2 person can be in.
I Stayed a complete week, overall the hotel is nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shady S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OAlekseeva, Sales & Marketing Manager at Gogol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for posting the review. Your comments are very important to us and we are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. We shall be looking forward to welcoming you back.
We wish you all the best.

With kind regards,
Alekseeva Olga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

This was the first time we returned to St. Petersburg ever since visiting the same town, then named Leningrad, about 30 years ago... The city is now amazing, streets and underground Metro stations clean, most people very friendly (if you understand their language) and Russian local people walking on the streets dressed so much more elegant and stylish than what you see in most Western countries.

Gogol Hotel is greatly located, right next to a Metro station and a romantic canal, great views (at least from our room). No noise from the canal or street - the walls are really thick and the windows sound proofed. The building is about 100 years old, the hotel about one year.
The hotel staff is extremely friendly and helpful. However, if you travel with a lot of luggage, nobody offers their help in taking them first to the check-in or your room. Because of the old building, the check-in is half floor up - no elevator, and the same problem is when you check out. (In daily use - when you're not carrying luggage - the floors where where you find your room, are where the small elevator stops at. The Russian hotel guard sitting on the bottom floor - I'm certain visually he checks you out, as it is his job - does not in any way offer to help you, or ask someone else in the hotel to help you with what you're carrying.

We spent one week in the hotel. The included breakfast was great, a Russian buffet including Russian champagne. The language barrier was a bit cumbersome, but as it was a buffet, you could try everything and if you did not like it, you didn't eat it.

Most annoying problem was that when they rebuilt the hotel into this historic old building, and they included beautiful parquet floors in the rooms, they forgot that there should be good insulation also in the floors of he rooms. Now, for two nights, it was really annoying to stay awake when a hotel guest we assume was staying next floor up, started getting ready for her evening dinner and going out. We could hear her high heels as if she was walking up and down in our room... and that continued from about 11 pm to 12 midnight. But, she return to the room around 2 am, and again, did not remove her shoes for half an hour, and definitely kept us awake. (In the St Petersburg streets, you see most ladies wearing high heels, especially in the evening...) I told the hotel manager about the problem, and she confirmed they are aware of the it... but they cannot do anything during the high season.

Well, overall, the hotel is something that we may go back to some day. At least to see if the floor sound proofing problem has been fixed. If it is, I'll definitely add one more star - and travel light.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErkkiK_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OAlekseeva, Sales & Marketing Manager at Gogol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for choosing Gogol Hotel!
We appreciate your time spent to write the detailed review. The experience you have shared concerns us deeply as it helps us to improve the quality of service to our guests. Thank you for noticing that the Hotel is greatly located. We have to admit that the reception is on the 2nd floor and there is a poor insulation in the room's floor, but that is the price we had to pay for occupying a historic building (is about 200 years) in the center of the city. Please, accept our apologize for such inconvinience as not good insulation in the room's floor. Unfortunately,we have no official approval for a complete renovation of the historic building. We are glad that you have found the service extremely friendly. We will certainly share it with the team. Your comments regarding the Hotel guard have been forwarded to our Head manager in charge and I can assure you that very strong measures will be taken to improve the service.
Let me thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us and hopefully we will have a chance to welcome you in our Hotel in future again.

With kind regards,
Alekseeva Olga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We've been in this hotel for 5 nights in August. It is classified as 4 stars hotel but it's more a three stars.
The posizion is good, near a metro station (Sennaya square), on Griboedova canal so the hotel is quite silent. We had a small room, on the intern court so it was quiet but the view was horrible. The bathroom was new, with bathtub.
Breakfast is included, they offer continental and russian breakfast with blinis and pancakes.
The girls at the reception are kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esterellaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OAlekseeva, Sales & Marketing Manager at Gogol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Guests,
We appreciate your time spent to write the review. Your comments are very important to us. Thank you for noticing that our staff is kind and helpful and that we served a good breakfast. We will do our best to keep up the quality of services provided.
We have to admit that not all hotel rooms are small and with the horrible view. Most of our rooms come with a nice view. We will be glad to provide a larger room for you with the view on the Canal. Let me thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us and hopefully we will have a chance to welcome you in our hotel again.

With kind regards,
Alekseeva Olga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Our room was 60..,something I forget but it was on the canal side with a wonderful view,2 big windows with screens to open as needed.How lucky we were.We did use the air conditioner and it cooled quickly.The room was always clean and once we requested it early another late and it was not a problem.We were here 10 days.
As for the breakfast we didn't have a problem we weren't looking for America waffles and had quite a different choice.It was a Buffet,and kept fresh regularly during our stay.Cheeses, meats,salads along with the regular breakfast fare.
There were all the refreshments you could want and champagne.
The Front Staff always helpful,maybe the night spoke a little less English but no worries we were in Russia and on Vacation.
We walked to most sights,though took a cab twice.The Hotel arranged for a Cab to get us from the Airport.St Petersburg was beautiful and I would stay again here.The pictures on line are good.
We had a compact refidgerator good for water or drinks.It would be nice if they gave water on check in.There was a tiny store where we bought ours near by.There was a small elevator.

Room Tip: Be sure of the Room size you want we did not get the smallest. They are kind if you have a question...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowyowl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OAlekseeva, Sales & Marketing Manager at Gogol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for choosing Gogol Hotel!
We appreciate your comment regarding your recent stay at our Hotel. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay and will be looking forward to welcoming you again. Wish you all the best!

With kind regards,
Alekseeva Olga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

It is not a 5, that is clear, and if the breakfast was eatable it would be a 4.
Now the room we had was really nice (602). Not all rooms are like this one though.
The staff was perfect and the area as well. Easy to get from the airport by taking this bus that brings you to a metro station. Then the hotel is on a direct metro line and then 2 minutes away from the exit. For the rest quasi no need to take again the metro as in the center of the 3 main touristic areas.

Room Tip: 602 is for sure good, 302 is not. 3rd floor is on the floor of the restaurants, therefore I guess mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benoit N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OAlekseeva, Sales & Marketing Manager at Gogol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear Guests,
We appreciate your time spent to write such constructive feedback. Your opinion is important for us. Thank you for noticing that our staff is perfect and the location is good. We will certainly share your kind words with the team. We have to admit that some of our rooms are small and some more spacious, but they are clean and cosy. At first we try to preserve the historical heritage of the building and certainly to satisfy the tastes of different guests. We regret that you have found the breakfast not eatable. We shall look into the breakfast issue and I am sure next time your impressions will be different. Thank you once again for your comments. We wish you all the best and hope to have a chance to welcome you again.

With kind regards,
Alekseeva Olga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This Hotel is only 3 minutes away from the nearest Metro Station, rooms are rather small, but well equipped and therefore very functional (especially the air condition worked very efficient and quiet). Breakfast was nice (except the choice of fruits and breads were a bit meager).
The personal was kindly and helpful, so I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranzVienna_Austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OAlekseeva, Sales & Marketing Manager at Gogol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing. We appreciate your time spent to write such a positive review. Your comments are very important to us. We wish you all the best and shall be looking forward to seeing you again.
With kind regards,
Alekseeva Olga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

It was another sty at the hotel. Hotel is very well located for tourists who want to see the old part of Petersburg. It takes app. 10 min to get to Spas na Krowi church and about 5 min. to Kazansky church. It is also easy to find moto boat station for trip by channels which is really great.
As regards service in the hotel I would say that reception is very nice and helpful, internet is working good. Breakfast is a bit poor and restaurant is very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacekBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OAlekseeva, Sales & Marketing Manager at Gogol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Dear Jacek J,
Thank you for choosing Gogol Hotel and your time spent to write the review. Your opinion is very important for us.
We are glad that you were satisfied with the Hotel location. That is really excellent because most of the sightseeing are in walking distance. We appreciate your kind words about our staff which we will certainly share with the team. As for the restaurant,we regret that you have found it not comfortable. It is quite spacious, bright place designed in classic style. Your comments regarding the poor buffet breakfast menu have been forwarded to manager in charge. And I can assure you that we will take the measures and make the breakfast more varied.
Thank you once again for your review! You are always welcome!

With kind regards,
Alekseeva Olga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
ReMarka Hotel on Stolyarny
#107 of 361 in St. Petersburg
142 reviews
Admiralteisky
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#15 of 361 in St. Petersburg
560 reviews
Nevskiy
Hotel Anabel on Nevsky 88
Hotel Anabel on Nevsky 88
#64 of 361 in St. Petersburg
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Rachmaninov Art-Hotel
Rachmaninov Art-Hotel
#74 of 361 in St. Petersburg
325 reviews
Vladimir
Ligotel
Ligotel
#21 of 361 in St. Petersburg
429 reviews
Statskiy Sovetnik
#78 of 361 in St. Petersburg
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gogol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gogol Hotel

Address: 69 Griboyedov Canal St., St. Petersburg 190031, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 361 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £35 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gogol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new and modern Hotel is located in the historic center of Saint-Petersburg, in the house where the great writer N.V.Gogol lived for several years. It is only 3 minutes' walk from Sadovaya Metro Station. The Saint Isaac's Cathedral is 15 minutes' walk away.Guests of Gogol Hotel benefit from the central location, as Mariinskiy Theatre is 15 minutes away on foot. The Russian Museum is 1 metro stop from the Hotel.The Hotel offers: restaurant,spacious lobby, free Wi-Fi, free parking and a 24-hours front desk. 35 Comfortable rooms are air-conditioned and equipped with a luxurious amenities including a flat-screen TV, refrigerator, individual safe. Bathrooms include a hairdryer, slippers and toiletries.A hot breakfast buffet is served each morning. And the Hotel restaurant is also open for the lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gogol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing