We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“coolest hostel i ever had”
Review of Red House Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red House Hostel
Reviewed 3 April 2014

its more than hostel. I stayed there for 3 days I felt like i had a small home back in Russia when i was there. The person who all were managing just became friends from the day I stayed there. Ultimate room setup. coolest Kitchen & the hall is best for youngsters who loves to chill & play.its economical. I personally want to visit & stay back at that place again.I suggest if ever you went to St.- petersbug this is the place you must stay.it has coolest managers, Environment & coolest fun you will have that's my guarantee & its nearby many attractions in St.peters.
Breakfast is included & its normal, but worth it as me being a Vegetarian preferes cornflakes a lot.

Room Tip: All rooms are equivalent good no issue in getting a choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bandikaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra B, Владелец at Red House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

Dear Indor! Thanks that you have visited our Red House Hostel last year. We hope, that you are ok and will come to us again. We are waiting for you and your friends. Best regards,RHH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

I stay in this hostel for 3 days, the personal his quite helpful and kind.The cleaning and typing up are really average.
The room for dormitory are small so if you have 2 luggages if will not be easy If you want to sleep early to make a good night and start visiting at 8h00 morning forget this young hostel!the light breakfast is served only at 9 to 12 h so don't wake up early!
Location is not bad they're is some accommodation.
Also to find the hostel it,s not easy it's in the backyard of a building with just a little stiker in the Main Street to signal

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Nicolas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I spent three nights here at the end of the trans-siberian. While the location is awesome and just a short five minute walk to Nevsky Prospekt, there are people living permanently in the common area. They would stay up all night playing games on the hostel computers (so no one else could use them) then sleepon the couches during the day. The staff were pretty good and the bathrooms relatively clean. Only two toilets and two showers for the whole place though. Breakfast was bread and jam and cornflakes. Small rooms but had individual lights and power outlets. Curtains on lower beds but not upper and my bunk was right against another creating a great double bed effect with the next person. Nice enough hostel, just a bit weird.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The Red House Hostel was average at best. It was difficult and frustrating to find - tucked into a random alleyway and not at all well marked. The staff weren't really all that friendly - not rude, but just super nonchalant about working there. The rooms themselves were nice enough (kudos for the curtains on each bed) and the free wifi and laptops were helpful, but the bathrooms left a lot to be desired. They weren't always the cleanest, and they seemed to always be out of toilet paper and handsoap. When you'd ask for some, it would take them ages to refill the dispenser. I'm sure it's great if you're on a budget, but I'd recommend staying elsewhere in St Petersburg.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phillipdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

First of all, the place was super cheap (payed around RUB 1200 for 3 nights), it is also perfectly located (walking distance of the main attractions in the city, not negligible given the temperature, lol)

Staff was very friendly and helpful with decent English. Place is well-heated, decent showers/bathroom, rooms are ok but tend to be a bit small (well it's a backpacker anyway)

Common room very convenient for meeting people with sofas/TV/etc - at the time of my stay it was only russian speakers unfortunately, but I'm pretty sure the rest of the time you can meet other fellow travellers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nectan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

A solid cheap hostel. Good location. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We liked the common room and the beds were comfortable. It was clean enough. Probably the best part is it is very sociable if you are travelling by yourself and want to meet people.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camerong1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We had a fantastic stay here. A perfect atmosphere for meeting people and making new friends in the large common area that includes a fridge with cheap beer. One new friend continued to travel with us on the Trans Siberian.

The staff were super friendly, helpful, and really cared about showing us a good time. They provided us with recommendations for the city, too. Some of them even took us out to several bars and clubs in St. Petersburg. Coming back we were so drunk that I accidentally jumped on a sleeping receptionist who was under some covers. It looked like a bean bag at the time. I apologized and said.. "Ohhh don't worry about it! You were having a good time in our hostel!" and didn't seem to mind.

The rooms were clean, nice bunk beds, and a large kitchen was perfect for cooking.

The location is ideal with close proximity to Nezny Prospekt Street.

I'd recommend this hostel to anyone coming to St. Petersburg and will stay there again if I come back to Russia!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexlindahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vladimir
Station Hostel
Station Hostel
#66 of 1,773 in St. Petersburg
19 reviews
Vysshaya Liga Hostel
#287 of 1,773 in St. Petersburg
2 reviews
Gamak Hostel
#333 of 1,773 in St. Petersburg
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Druzia on Vosstaniya
Druzia on Vosstaniya
#58 of 1,773 in St. Petersburg
68 reviews
Hostel Port na Sennoy
#109 of 1,773 in St. Petersburg
20 reviews
Admiralteisky
At Sunny's
At Sunny's
#129 of 1,773 in St. Petersburg
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red House Hostel

Address: Liteyny Prospekt 46 | Belinskogo Street, 11, St. Petersburg 191014, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Liteyny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 1,773 Speciality Lodging in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £7 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red House Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great location in the central, historical district of the city. In close proximity to the metro, train stations, and cultural attractions. On the first floor of a closed, quiet courtyard in building-monument with a view of the Saint-Germaine garden. We have had successful experience accommodating tourist from over 100 countries around the world, and from all regions of Russia. We guarantee quality service, comfort, safety, and leisure activities. The premises are equipped with all the necessary modern appliances and on-site parking. Our personnel have knowledge of foreign languages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Red House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing