We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Russia Gets A True 5-Star Hotel. Facility-Elegant Service-Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Ranked #3 of 359 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Newly opened summer of 2013. It is a BEAUTIFUL Hotel. The lobby is a subtle, yet elaborate, homage to the over the top decor of the Russian Palaces. The Rooms are magnificent in decor as well as comfort. BIG Bathroom, Excellent Closet Space. And the Four Seasons seems to have the BEST bedding I have found traveling. The sheets really feel better than any I have slept on. (I actually run my feet around after getting bed just to feel how wonderful they are...really) The furniture is design perfect and well made. So that is the facility. Fantastic. Location is absolutely Perfect. Just a 15 min walk to the Hermitage and the river or take a right and you are at the top of a great walking/shopping street. It is an elegant and very desirable neighborhood to stay. But constructing and decorating a beautiful hotel is the easy part, the hard part is...the service. And they have a fantastic staff, who know how to provide REALLY outstanding, warm, elegant, genuine customer service. I my experience there, attentive, warm customer service is not the "norm" in Russia. So this hotel def stands out from the rest.
I ate multiple meals in the solarium lounge, such a pleasure. VERY Elegant decor, you will feel good just walking in. But I must say the hosts and servers were so well trained AND friendly (a perfect combination) As a solo diner I usually eat in my room, but I actually went downstairs to eat. The servers made me feel "very well taken care of". Even remembering what I had eaten the day before and making suggestions with details of how I should try the special crab which came from a northern region of Russia, and it was really delicious. The portions are on the smaller side so i learned to order an extra side or soup, but the ingredients were fresh healthy and taste was perfect. It was a lovely dining "experience" in a casual lounge.
Front Desk staff were intelligent, well trained and professional. I would suggest that they look up from their computers a little be sooner when someone enters the lobby, I never knew who to go to as they were hard at work with heads dropped.
They have a wonderful group at the concierge desk. In my opinion, St. Petersburg is not yet prepared to be destination vacation location they have the potential to be. I travel very often to odd locations and like the challenge of being outside of my comfort zone in a new place. But St Petersburg is a hard to figure out on your own. That is why I am glad they had a professional concierge staff who I checked in with daily before heading out to sight see to get step by step help and insider information to make it easier. They found me a couple local restaurants that were a perfect fit for me. Lively, only local crowd and menus I really enjoyed exploring.
In general, in St. Petersburg, there are almost NO English signs or translations. (Which I am fine with...after all America does not translate every sign here) But to make the city User-Friendly for travelers....Information is CRUCIAL...that is if they want to increase tourism. And it is an amazingly beautiful city with incredible history and AMAZING museums that everyone should experience. So make friends with the concierge who will help you immensely. For example, Taxi's are not easy to "hail" from the street they have to be ordered, the concierge taught me how to take the very efficient trolly system which i used often. They seem to have to take a lot of time with some of the visitors who are rather demanding from what I overheard. But they seemed to be able to say all the right things in Russian to appease them....for the moment. That will be an often used skill with some of the new-wealth Russian clientele.
This hotel set the bar very high for the rest of the city. I highly recommend it for a traveler who wants to feel safe and comfortable in an elegant environment and location where you can just walk out the door and start to explore.

Room Tip: The building is only 4 or 5 stories so the city views are of the park trees or surrounding buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Concierge2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 858 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

Perfection! You will be treated like royalty at the Hotel Lion Palace. The palace's renovation and decor are worthy of an "Architectural Digest" article. The hotel's restaurants are the BEST in St. Petersburg and are priced reasonably, actually less than other top restaurants. All our meals were beautifully presented and perfectly prepared by Michelin star chief. Best of all, the kitchen is well versed in food allergies. They served me the best Gluten Free, fresh, home made warm breads and baked goods. Their Ricotta pancakes, house tea blend, and fresh salmon are reason alone to never dine elsewhere. Our daily itinerary prepared by the concierge was well thought out and fairly priced at a 5 - 10% margin, much less than other hotels. Also, perfect location and size.
The Lion Palace redefines Luxury in a comfortable, warm, friendly manner.

Room Tip: All are beautiful and VERY large. Large windows and bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

If one word could sum up our experience it would be excellent.
We were lucky to stay a few weeks after they opened, the staff were exemplary nothing was an issue, they provided an excellent level of service Personal touches at all times. The decor and fit out of the hotel is rich and lavish, excellent taste throughout nothing missed everything perfect

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My husband planned this trip to St Petersburg as a surprise to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and was delighted the Four Seasons Lions Palace opened in time to transfer the reservations for our stay in mid-July. Everything was perfect - from the stunningly gorgeous restored architectural details of this historic palace to the beautifully appointed room overlooking the park and modern marble bathroom.
The location, next door to St Isaac’s Cathedral and across the street from the Admiralty and its park is ideal. We walked to almost everything, including the Admiraltyskaya subway station when needed. Every member of the staff was friendly, professional, and provided the highest level of service from the moment we were greeted and checked in via IPad in the lobby of the airport, to the car ride returning us a week later. The staff outdid itself in every way –from excellent concierge services for tour guides and dining reservations, to attentive and friendly service in the restaurant and bar. On the day of our anniversary we were greeted with big smiles and kind wishes from each member of the staff. After a morning spent touring the Hermitage, we were surprised and touched to find not only a bottle of champagne and delicious chocolate mousse fruit torte waiting for us in our room, but also a wrapped gift and card – a lovely illustrated book of traditional Russian fairy tales translated into English. Kudos to the Four Seasons for yet another triumph and special regards and thanks to the management and staff of this outstanding hotel. You made our anniversary truly memorable and special.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

This has to be one of the prettier four seasons in the world. It's basically a hotel in a palace. Walking distance to the Hermitage, next door to a beautiful cathedral and park. The cocktail bar is very posh. This is true luxury!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank intheTDOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

top notch four seasons service. i would not have expected that everything ran so smoothly given that the hotel has only opened for a month but it did. the staff was exceptionally well trained and so ready to pamper you. extremely friendly and personal, highly efficient and all speak perfect english. the location can not be better which is typical of the four seasons properties. the rooms are extremely comfortable. i had one with a very high ceiling so that was a real treat. little things that make a difference like having easily operating light switch. it could really get annoying when you want to go to bed and had to figure out how to turn off every single light in the room. but here at the four seasons its so well designed that every switch is next to the bed. very attentive housekeeping service that make sure you have fresh shower gel and shampoo in the shower itself. a lot of hotel housekeeping are not as good as replenishing fresh amenities and i think one can always identify the moment when you ran out of shower gel in the shower and had to go out in search of the new ones. here at the four seasons they even think of that. the concierge was most helpful in arranging tours, museum tickets, ballets etc. i particularly like how the lobby is lit up with candles together with the four seasons flower arrangement, always made me sigh with relief of being back in the comfortable cradle of the four seasons team. it is especially important here as i must say it is quite tiring navigating through st petersburg where basically people dont speak english and frankly are not that friendly. it's just nice to be back to the hotel. it also didnt help as i have been sick with a cough and cold throughout my stay and the staff had taken such good care of me. special compliments to the borsch at the hotel. i am usually very suspicious of hotel food but the borsch here at the hotel is possibly the best i've had in the city. and one thing worth mentioning i am a very light sleeper and am extremely sensitive to noise and this is the first hotel EVER that i do not need to wear ear plugs at night and i get up very late as well. i simply love how quiet and peaceful this hotel is. first class all the way!

Room Tip: first floor rooms have high ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rubyyao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This hotel was literally one month old when we arrived and therefore teething problems should, indeed must, be accepted. The location was difficult to match, our room looked through a colonnade directly onto St. Isaacs, giving one the chance to actually look at a building for a reasonable amount of time and better understand the creativity that went into its being. The rooms were what you would expect from a Four Seasons hotel, stylish, comfortable and with every conceivable facility. On the downside, room service made an unwanted entry into the room at 09.00 and building work could be heard around the same time but the charm and professionalism with which these comments were accepted by staff gave one hope that this will not be a run-of-the-mill Russian hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view of St. Isaacs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James1962186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 359 in St. Petersburg
1,645 reviews
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#7 of 359 in St. Petersburg
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 359 in St. Petersburg
1,646 reviews
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#19 of 359 in St. Petersburg
1,176 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#4 of 359 in St. Petersburg
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg

Address: Voznesenskiy Ave., 1, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 359 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £216 - £584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg provides the dream St. Petersburg experience. Just two blocks from the Winter Palace and Hermitage Museum, the House with the Lions began life as the palace of Princess Lobanova-Rostovskaya in 1820. Its distinctive triangular layout adjoins St. Isaac’s Square, home to the famous St. Isaac’s Cathedral, designed by the same architect – Auguste de Montferrand. The palace has been carefully restored, and boasts several heritage protected areas, including stunning granite grand staircase. Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg offers 183 spacious and comfortable guest rooms, including 26 suites, featuring state-of-the art amenities to satisfy the needs of the most discerning customers.Dining in the hotel is led by Michelin-starred Executive Chef Andrea Accordi. One of the palace’s original courtyards has become a glass-roofed winter garden – home to the Tea Lounge that provides a sunny setting for breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and a light supper. Comfortable seating adjoins an indoor garden abundant with trees and flowers.Xander Bar, named after Russian Tsar Alexander I, boasts a double-faced fire place and amazing views. The walnut-faced walls convey a warm, welcoming atmosphere, further enhanced by the live fire. Sintoho, Asian restaurant, derives its name from the cities of Singapore, Tokyo and Hong Kong. The restaurant features a sushi-bar and a dining room with a teppanyaki table – the only one in St. Petersburg.Opening in August 2013.Percorso, restaurant of authentic Italian cuisine, features the show kitchen and great wine collection. Opening in September 2013.The hotel also features a unique four-level Luceo SPA, with 8 treatment rooms, 24-hour fitness center, and spectacular triangular pool under a sky lit glass dome.Opening in November 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing