We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Ranked #3 of 335 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Montigny-le-Bretonneux, France
Level Contributor
82 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

We just come back from a 3-night stay at Four Seasons Lion Palace.
We had booked a Deluxe one-bedroom suite and we were lucky enough to be upgraded to an Admiralty one-bedroom suite on the Noble floor with a terrace overlooking St Isaac. Hard product is impressive, the only other hotel where we felt such feeling of grandeur was Four Seasons Florence.

Hotel is not fully operational yet. Swimming pool is closed, and about 40 rooms (out of 183) are not completed. There is still absolutely no noise or no visible area under work.

The suite itself is not so large but lay-out is perfect, with ample storage space (large closet in foyer and walk-in closet between bedroom & bathroom). Coffee machine, 3 televisions, 2 Blu-Ray players, all expected amenities in a 5-star hotel are there. Bathroom products are from Bvlgari (thé vert). Soundproofing is excellent, you can hear absolutely no noise from outside, but the door with the connecting bedroom needs more insulation.

Housekeeping is just perfect, Aman style! Each time we would leave the suite even for 20 minutes we could see that it had been checked upon return. Discrete and efficient service!

We had booked transfers from and to the airport through Concierge desk. It is 4.000 Rub one-way with a BMW (3 pax) or 4.500 Rub with a mini-van (6 pax). We also used local taxi charged to the room at normal Russian price, Four Seasons mark-up is reasonable.

We had drinks several times at Xander bar and we had breakfast / lunch at Tea Lounge. Frankly speaking the breakfast buffet is disappointing. Choice is inconsistent from one day to the next, bread / toasts / scones are not good. But a la carte choice is excellent. I loved the Lion Palace Benedict eggs! So my advice would be to have breakfast in room. Save from the buffet. Service was still absolutely perfect, friendly and professional. Actually best service I ever experienced in Russia (way better than Ritz Carlton Moscow)!

We had dinner in la Mansarda (top floor of Gazprom building) near the hotel with a great view over St Isaac dome, and at Stroganoff steakhouse also closely located to FSLP. However tables were not great, we had better experience with W concierge who was able to secure the very best in terms of location / view.

Fitness centre is very well equipped. No natural light but plenty of towels, water, fruits and cereal bars.

Even security which can be overzealous in Russia remains discrete and despite VIPs staying at the same time we never felt bothered.

Overall it was a great stay and no other hotel compares to FSLP in whole Russia even if there is still some room for improvement (bakery / concierge).

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Cedric&Pierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    76
    17
    2
    7
See reviews for
145
269
37
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Everything you would expect from a four seasons and more. Great location and service is above and beyond that of your average four seasons. The restaurant offers great food and will rival some of the best venues the city has to offer.
Cocktails in Xander bar is a must before heading out!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kate e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had the pleasure of visiting this amazing property in September this year, not long after the official opening. Rumors has it that this project has been in the pipeline//renovation//pre-opening stage for almost 15 years before finally opening its doors now this summer. All I can say is job well done, beautiful interiors & especially the flower centerpieces that meets you in the main lobby right after entering the hotel are absolutely spectacular. Spacious rooms, and abseloutely the highest grade of material and fabrics are used througout the hotel.

Upon visiting the hotels Italian signature restaurant Percorso we were entertained and tended to by what must be the friendliest service-team in St. Petersburg; Aryona our waiter & Evgenia the hotel sommelier were most accommodating, friendly & professional!! Another hotel restaurant with an asian theme was still under construction and not yet opened.

Tea in the hotel's atrium is a very special experience as well, and also stop at the hotel bar for a nightcap and experience the most amazing fireplace - perfect to cuddle up in front of on those dark and cold St. Petersburg winter-evenings.

Also worth mentioning about this hotel is the location which is perfect, in the core of the city with close proximity to all main attractions, right next door to St. Isaac Cath, walking distance to both Nevsky, Hermitage and many other beautiful & historic sights in this magnificent city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IaInIdIrIeIaIsI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed at the Lion Palace for seven nights (part business part pleasure) and then returned for one more night even though we had a little more than 14 hours in the city. The finishing touches on the hotel are quite outstanding and this renovation was ten years in the making according to the manager. It shows.

The care taken in renovating the palace is matched by the care taken in training the staff. They had the knack of being super efficient while also being warm and friendly. One example: we lost one piece of luggage en route and the hotel sent someone from the concierge staff to the airport for two hours to try and sort out a complication with customs. The failed to cut through the red tape but didn't give up and we got the bag after a few days.

We eat at both restaurants including the opening day in the Italian restaurant. The food in both was excellent.

And the location is superb with a few blocks walk from the hermitage and the bronze horseman - an iconic monument in so many ways. We used guides recommended by the hotel for a city tour the hermitage and the summer palace an were pleased with the service.

Room Tip: Choose a four seasons room with a view of the park. they are all different so don't be afraid to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank car_trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This is the one of the most beautiful hotels you could imagine. The public areas are just stunning, with a "wow" factor not to be believed. The restaurants are elegant and really good, which is quite a feat in Russia. The staff is knowledgeable and friendly, another feat in Russia. We had a terrace suite which was quite large; the regular rooms are nice, but smallish. Having spent 3 nights at the property, and being a big Four Seasons and Aman fan, this is one hotel not to be missed. It is worth the trip alone...

Room Tip: the standard rooms are a little small....try to upgrade....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jadesdae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I just returned from spending 3 nights here. I was traveling solo with very limited Russian so I wanted a hotel where I knew I would be well taken care of and the Four Seasons was a great choice. The hotel has excellent location and is simply stunning. The service was as excellent as you come to expect when staying at a Four Seasons property. I was greeted by name every time I entered or left the hotel or ate in one of the restaurants. The food was high quality. The amber room in the Italian restaurant should not be missed. The hotel was not yet fully operational, I was told the grand opening is a few weeks away. So I did hear a bit of noise as finishing touches were underway on the top floor, but it did not bother me at all.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013

brand new hotel in very convenient location. The Spa and the fitness room are not open yet, as well as some restaurants . Very helpful and friendly staff, Great value for the money "now" (prices are probably due to increase as works proceed towards completion....)

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view on the church or the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pri53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
The State Hermitage Museum Offic...
#4 of 335 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#6 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 335 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#5 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Kolomna
Alexander House
Alexander House
#1 of 335 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Address: Voznesenskiy Ave., 1, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 335 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg provides the dream St. Petersburg experience. Just two blocks from the Winter Palace and Hermitage Museum, the House with the Lions began life as the palace of Princess Lobanova-Rostovskaya in 1820. Its distinctive triangular layout adjoins St. Isaac’s Square, home to the famous St. Isaac’s Cathedral, designed by the same architect – Auguste de Montferrand. The palace has been carefully restored, and boasts several heritage protected areas, including stunning granite grand staircase. Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg offers 183 spacious and comfortable guest rooms, including 26 suites, featuring state-of-the art amenities to satisfy the needs of the most discerning customers.Dining in the hotel is led by Michelin-starred Executive Chef Andrea Accordi. One of the palace’s original courtyards has become a glass-roofed winter garden – home to the Tea Lounge that provides a sunny setting for breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and a light supper. Comfortable seating adjoins an indoor garden abundant with trees and flowers.Xander Bar, named after Russian Tsar Alexander I, boasts a double-faced fire place and amazing views. The walnut-faced walls convey a warm, welcoming atmosphere, further enhanced by the live fire. Sintoho, Asian restaurant, derives its name from the cities of Singapore, Tokyo and Hong Kong. The restaurant features a sushi-bar and a dining room with a teppanyaki table – the only one in St. Petersburg.Opening in August 2013.Percorso, restaurant of authentic Italian cuisine, features the show kitchen and great wine collection. Opening in September 2013.The hotel also features a unique four-level Luceo SPA, with 8 treatment rooms, 24-hour fitness center, and spectacular triangular pool under a sky lit glass dome.Opening in November 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing