We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Ranked #3 of 362 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Spent 4 days there in mid-November, absolutely loved it. From the moment you walk in, you feel pampered and surrounded by luxury and comfort. Hotel itself is beautiful and the look blends in perfectly with its historical surroundings. Breakfast is elegant, delicious and exquisite, with the waitress remembering your every quirk (when to bring the coffee, exactly how I like it, and that I had orange juice as well) the next day. Staff is very attentive and efficient. Restaurant was amazing. The days were dreary this time of year…sunlight only between 10-4, but staying in this hotel made it so much better. My first Four Seasons experience, now I am addicted..

Room Tip: You want the room facing the park…not the courtyard..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilana g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (888)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

469 - 475 of 888 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in December and cannot recommend it highly enough. Yes it is 5 star. Service is excellent, food is excellent and the management team of manager and chief concierge are excellent. Have I said it was excellent? It was.

Room Tip: I upgraded to a room with a view to the Admiralty Building. It was - yes - you have guessed it - exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickyKujawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Beautiful hotel in a great location by St. Issacs Cathedral in a beautiful city. We stayed here between Christmas and New Years and so the hotel was beautifully decorated in a festive manner. We were booked into a Superior room on the third floor but the hotel kindly upgraded us at no additional charge to the next level - Premium level also on the third floor. The rooms are large with lots of closet space and huge bathrooms. The service and positive, friendly staff manner was exceptional. I think we expect a lot from a Four Seasons property and they did not disappoint. Every request was met with the response "But of course" . We loved the perfect location to walk around this beautiful city. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. One last suggestion, go to the Tea Room in the afternoon and just listen to the Harp and Flute players while having your tea or coffee. It is sublime!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We travelled as a family of 3 in the period between Christmas and New Year.

We have stayed in many Four Seasons hotels in other parts of the world, and the Four Seasons Lion Palace certainly maintains if not exceeds the high standards expected of the brand.

From pre-arrival assistance with visas and restaurant reservations, a swift and comfortable private transfer to the hotel, a personal welcome on the steps of the hotel, to our departure we were highly satisfied. The level of service and personal recognition is especially high for a city hotel. I expect that much if this comes from the fact that the hotel is relatively intimate (under 200 rooms, compared for example to FS Sydney which has something closer to 550 rooms).

We had two rooms: a Four Seasons room on the first floor (historic level, high ceilings) and a terrace room on the fifth floor. The latter is probably more suited to the summer months when one would make more use of the terrace. Both rooms were well appointed and offered terrific views of St Isaac's cathedral. Room service breakfast overlooking St Isaac's is unsurprisingly special.

Others have commented on breakfast. The offerings are first class, but I would only say that whilst we were staying the service was a little slow but this is my only criticism.

Overall a first class hotel in a stunning city. We will certainly return to the Four Seasons Lion Palace when we next visit St Petersburg.

Room Tip: Four Seasons Rooms on the first floor have high ceilings and stunning views onto St Isaac's Cath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ngak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We asked for a room to accommodate 2 adults plus a child, preferably on the 3rd floor. The room (deluxe category) reserved was nice but not very spacious for an extra bed. So, we were moved on the 1st floor in a beautiful and really spacious, high ceiling room with a view towards the magnificent St. Isaac church (a landmark of the city). Bathrooms are really spacious in all rooms (I saw 4 of them in the hotel).
Hermitage palace is indeed some 5 mins walk from hotel. The same for the famous Nevski Prospect street (for shopping) and from there some extra 5 mins for the Russian Museum.
The hotel is luxurious of course - it's a palace! But the most important is the service (all kinds of!) and the quality of food (not only the breakfast!). There is an espresso coffee machine in the room with Illy coffee capsules - read carefully the instructions for its operation though.
The cigar bar "Xander" is fantastic for drinks (try fresh lemonade for softs!) and you can smoke a cigar in there if you wish.
I'm trying to find some negatives for this hotel but I have real difficulty to do it! If I come back to St. Petersburg I will definitely stay in this one again!

Room Tip: Rooms on 1st floor are more spacious and have higher ceiling compared with those on 2nd or 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mious6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed over Christmas this year and were very impressed!! The staff couldn't do enough to help. The decor is really beautiful and relaxing. We didn't want to leave.

We got the standard category room and it was very spacious and comfortable.

It is still a very new property and it seems that work is still being done however it didn't bother us.

The room rate was very reasonable but some of the extras were on the expensive side-- to be expected in Russia.

Only negative: We thought the breakfast food (especially bread products) could have been tastier.

Overall, can't wait to go back! If you're going to St Petersburg and can afford it, definitely stay at the Four Seasons. You won't regret it!

Room Tip: The standard room is perfect and all you need if you mind not having a view
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank AT123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

A lovely and luxurious hotel. I stayed for three days in late December and it was all I could wish for. The service was impeccable; they helped with my visa application and arranged a super efficient airport pick up and drop off. I had a lovely room on the fifth floor overlooking Saint Isaac's Cathedral. It was spacious and very well appointed. The hotel's location is also perfect, ideal for seeing the city; the Hermitage is just around the corner and the Nevsky Prospect a short stroll away.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raycambar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 362 in St. Petersburg
1,676 reviews
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#7 of 362 in St. Petersburg
1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#9 of 362 in St. Petersburg
1,684 reviews
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#19 of 362 in St. Petersburg
1,204 reviews
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#17 of 362 in St. Petersburg
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg

Address: Voznesenskiy Ave., 1, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 362 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £207 - £727 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg provides the dream St. Petersburg experience. Just two blocks from the Winter Palace and Hermitage Museum, the House with the Lions began life as the palace of Princess Lobanova-Rostovskaya in 1820. Its distinctive triangular layout adjoins St. Isaac’s Square, home to the famous St. Isaac’s Cathedral, designed by the same architect – Auguste de Montferrand. The palace has been carefully restored, and boasts several heritage protected areas, including stunning granite grand staircase. Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg offers 183 spacious and comfortable guest rooms, including 26 suites, featuring state-of-the art amenities to satisfy the needs of the most discerning customers.Dining in the hotel is led by Michelin-starred Executive Chef Andrea Accordi. One of the palace’s original courtyards has become a glass-roofed winter garden – home to the Tea Lounge that provides a sunny setting for breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and a light supper. Comfortable seating adjoins an indoor garden abundant with trees and flowers.Xander Bar, named after Russian Tsar Alexander I, boasts a double-faced fire place and amazing views. The walnut-faced walls convey a warm, welcoming atmosphere, further enhanced by the live fire. Sintoho, Asian restaurant, derives its name from the cities of Singapore, Tokyo and Hong Kong. The restaurant features a sushi-bar and a dining room with a teppanyaki table – the only one in St. Petersburg.Opening in August 2013.Percorso, restaurant of authentic Italian cuisine, features the show kitchen and great wine collection. Opening in September 2013.The hotel also features a unique four-level Luceo SPA, with 8 treatment rooms, 24-hour fitness center, and spectacular triangular pool under a sky lit glass dome.Opening in November 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Prestigia, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing