We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The State Hermitage Museum Official Hotel
Ranked #6 of 361 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Half the price of the Four Seasons, with only a small trade off on value.

Certainly an international 5-star hotel standard: the building, the rooms, furniture etc. The tradeoffs are the location (still downtown though), rooms which are somewhat small (not claustrophobic though), no walk-in shower in the bathroom (only a bathtub) and - the major drawback - the staff needs so much more training. But all these are not to a critical extent.

Certainly worth giving it a shot and returning there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel_Moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHermitageHotel, General Manager at The State Hermitage Museum Official Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Mr. Lentin,

Thank you so much for choosing The State Hermitage Museum Official Hotel during your last visit to Saint Petersburg and thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor .

I appreciate also that you gave me the chance to discuss your comments with you during your stay with us, it was a pleasure to personally meet you. It is very disappointing to read that you don’t share the similar positive point of view, impressions and perceptions from our rooms like other Guests who stayed with us.

I am very much looking forward to welcoming you again, hopefully in the not far future.

Sincerely,

Inaki Rodriguez
General Manager
The State Hermitage Museum Official Hotel
St. Petersburg
Russia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,023)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

483 - 489 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

This hotel is unmistakeably new but plainly has overcome its teething problems. The rooms are high ceilinged, incorporate latest technology and toilet accessories are in ample supply. We were grateful for the dark shades that keep the light out (it can be a problem as the days get longer and brighter, not a problem in the winter). We stayed for 7 days, were collected from Pulkovo 2 with their own van and returned there on the departure day.

The hotel is located in a trendy area, close to Rubinsteinskaya Ulitsa which has a number of fancy bars and restaurants. Unfortunately they are fixing the pavements right now and it is very dusty. You will be spoiled for choice of venue. If you want to walk to the main street, which is Nevskii Prospect, it may take you 20 minutes, but there is a Metro station much closer. It is advisable to use the Metro in St. Petersburg.

Back to the hotel. The service is really impeccable. On one occasion I had to print, edit and email back a number of documents to my work, and the ladies at reception were very supportive and fast. Instructions were carried to the letter and nothing needed repeating.

Finally, breakfast buffet was varied and very appealing.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view over the glass dome extending above the main foyet of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank antonisangelopoulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHermitageHotel, General Manager at The State Hermitage Museum Official Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Mr. Angelopoulos,

Thank you for taking time to review our Hotel in such detailed manner. We are always striving to recieve feedback from our Guest to analyze the work of our Hotel and the personnel.
We were glad to hear that you were able to use various services of our Hotel and they were according to your expectations and were satisfied with the area in which the Hotel is situated.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our premises and providing the services of the highest level that will make your stay even more comfortable next time. Thank you once more for choosing the State Hermitage Museum Official Hotel while in Saint Petersburg.

Kind regards,

Inaki Rodriguez
General Manager

The State Hermitage Museum Official Hotel
St. Petersburg
Russia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Have stayed in the Hotel only for one night, but had a great experience. Rooms are really nice and fully equipped with robes, slipper, toiletries etc... Staff was really nice and spoke good English. The only con is that the hotel is a bit far from all the main sights (20-30 min walk). Despite that, I think I will come back again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHermitageHotel, General Manager at The State Hermitage Museum Official Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review our Hotel. Recieving as much feedback as possible from our Guests is what we always strive for. I will make sure to pass your comments to the members of our Team.

I would also like to mention, that our Hotel provides a free Shuttle bus service. It is a free bus that goes to the State Hermitage Museum 4 times a day according to the schedule, however it makes stops upon request at any point of its route, which is through the Nevsky Prospect and which includes the main sights of the city center.

The Team of the Hotel and I are looking forward to welcoming you again in the State Hermitage Museum Official Hotel.

Best regards,

Inaki Rodriguez
General Manager
The State Hermitage Museum Official Hotel
St. Petersburg
Russia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had an absolutely wonderful 4-day stay! The service was very good and we were lucky enough to get an upgrade as well. The room was really nice with high-tech lighting systems, all sorts of soap, shampoo and conditioners and a Japanese style heated toilet. The shower was luxurious. The lobby is one of the nicest I have seen. Marble everywhere, flowers and harp music. Made us feel relaxed and comfortable. The lobby bar was nice as well, though the drinks were not cheap. The breakfast was amazing. A wide selection of both healthy and less healthy food and about six different fresh juices. Ate dinner both at Catherine the Great and the Michelangelo restaurant. Both were really nice experiences and quite nicely priced. We lived in a superior room and I must say that what we got for the price is way above what one could expect in other big cities like London or Paris. Several free transports a day into the city-center also made it quite convenient to stay there. Would definitely recommend it to anyone going to St. Petersburg!

Room Tip: Taxi is sometimes unreliable and expensive in St. Petersburg so we usually relied on the metro. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stiansa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHermitageHotel, General Manager at The State Hermitage Museum Official Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest!

Thank you for posting your review about our Hotel and recommending it to the TripAdvisor travel community. I will make sure to pass your nice comments to the whole Team of the Hotel. I was glad to hear that the atmosphere we're creating in the Hotel was to your liking and we were able to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable.
We are looking forward to welcome you again at the Hotel in future and you can feel free to always contact me directly at the Hotel should you have any questions.

Best regards,

Inaki Rodriguez
General Manager
The State Hermitage Museum Official Hotel
St. Petersburg
Russia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have stayed in over 100+ high level hotels all over the world and I can say Hermitage is a true luxury hotel in the very best meaning of this word. St.Petersburg palace style rooms with historic touch, high tech solutions for lights etc. to fine tune the experience and a very good service. The hotel is new, just opened end of 2013, and you can see, that they are striving to provide the best service in town (and they do it well!). I will return for sure and recommend it confidently.
The breakfast was a excellent, especially loved the choice of fresh berries.
Had dinner in Michelangelo restaurant in the hotel - very good Italian food, great service.
Coffee in Lobby bar is served in porcelain cup with cookies and class of water (nice touch!).

TIP!
* There is no currency exchange in the hotel, so need to change money elsewhere
* The taxi company that the hotel uses has new cars and have city prices (not overpriced, like in many other hotels in St.Petersburg). The reception tells you the price of the trip when ordering, so you have conference in how much you have to pay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHermitageHotel, General Manager at The State Hermitage Museum Official Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks you for writing such a wonderful review on our Hotel and sharing it with the TripAdvisor community. We were glad to hear that you have enjoyed the historic ambience that we were striving to create in the Hotel and were satisfied with the provided services.
I'd also like to inform you, that in the nearest future the currency exchange services are going to be available at the premises.

Thank you once again for choosing the State Hermitage Official Hotel while staying in Saint Petersburg and we are looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again soon!

Best regards,

Inaki Rodriguez
General Manager

The Official State Hermitage Hotel
St. Petersburg, Russia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

very good hotel, very good service. Location abt 10 min from main sigths, but worth staying there.
i would stay again.
breakfast was good
rooms and whole hotel is very new, all modern and clean.
definetly recommend

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHermitageHotel, General Manager at The State Hermitage Museum Official Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your review of our Hotel on TripAdvisor web page. We are glad to hear that accomodation at our Hotel was to your liking and our services met your expectations.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at our premises soon.

Best regards,

Inaki Rodriguez
General Manager
The State Hermitage Museum Official Hotel
St. Petersburg
Russia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I would love to stay there again and definitely i will. The interior is a state of art. The hotel is new and extremely clean. Big bathroom with robes and slippers. Nicely served breakfast. Though, lack of TV chennels in english.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHermitageHotel, General Manager at The State Hermitage Museum Official Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the kind words about our Hotel!
We are glad that you left us with good impressions of your stay and are looking forward to welcoming you again at our premises soon.

Best regards,

Inaki Rodriguez
General Manager
The State Hermitage Museum Official Hotel
St. Petersburg
Russia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 361 in St. Petersburg
866 reviews
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 361 in St. Petersburg
1,656 reviews
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#8 of 361 in St. Petersburg
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#4 of 361 in St. Petersburg
802 reviews
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#18 of 361 in St. Petersburg
1,171 reviews
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#7 of 361 in St. Petersburg
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The State Hermitage Museum Official Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The State Hermitage Museum Official Hotel

Address: Pravda St., 10, St. Petersburg 191119, Russia (Formerly The Official State Hermitage Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 361 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £117 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The State Hermitage Museum Official Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five star Official State Hermitage Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Dostoyevsky historical neighborhood, where some of novels of the famous Russian writer took place. It is only a 10 minute ride on a complimentary shuttle bus to reach the State Hermitage Museum. Vladimirsky Cathedral, Dostoyevsky Appartment Museum and Nevsky Prospect are within walking distance. Three metro stations can be easily accessed and are situated close to the Hotel. The luxurious rooms and suites of The State Hermitage Museum Official Hotel Saint Petersburg offer elegant furnishings, designed by Italian woodwork masters from Florence. Every room includes a flat-screen TV, a minibar and a private bathroom decorated with Italian and Greek marble and fitted with bathrobes. The Official State Hermitage Hotel offers services of two restaurants: traditional Russian cuisine at Catherine the Great and Italian dishes at Michelangelo Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The State Hermitage Museum Official Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing