We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel - with a good view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taleon Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Taleon Imperial Hotel
Ranked #29 of 331 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
376 reviews
265 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - with a good view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

in my opinion , The Taleon Imperial is the only luxury club hotel in Russia, a member of the Leading Hotels of the World and Virtuoso groups. No other hotel in the world can compare to Taleon Imperial for the authentic beauty of its historical interiors. This unique quality is a source of great pride.

Here that I know and I want to tell to you about this hotel

Gala Halls and Lounges
The windows of the main enfilade overlook grand, festive Nevsky Prospekt. The Enfilade combines the presidential suites into a single space. The Imperial Hall, with a floor area of 380 m2, is located on the same floor.
The Imperial Hall was finished in the Neo-Classical style. It is a convenient facility with state of the art equipment that can easily accommodate large events with many participants. The Imperial can be converted into a concert hall, a room for conferences or presentations, a banqueting hall or ballroom.
The suite of state rooms on the Moika side of the third floor of the Taleon Imperial Hotel is also breathtakingly luxurious.
The Baccarat Hall has been decorated in the festive Baroque style, with its traditional double row of windows. The hall boasts moulded décor on the walls and ceiling, a ceiling painting by the famous St. Petersburg artist Vladislav Izmailovich, a white Italian marble fireplace, enormous mirrors, unique crystal torchères ordered by the mansion’s former owners, the Yeliseyevs, from the Baccarat factory in France. The meticulously restored parquet floor was made of rare kinds of hard wood.
The Golden Drawing Room, decorated in the Rococo style, is a more intimate place than the Baccarat Hall. Small paintings on the ceiling showing cupids at play; gilded stucco, mirrors, chandeliers and crystal wall lamps create a light and airy atmosphere.
The Small Music Room has been decorated in an eclectic manner, with moulded garlands, depictions of music instruments, burning torches and plant ornaments A century ago this room was used for domestic concerts with a select group of invited guests.
The cozy atmosphere of the Library in the Yeliseyev mansion provides just the right mood for work. It is finished in the Moderne or Art Nouveau style popular in the early 20th century. Twining plant motifs have been used in decoration of the ceiling, the carved patterns on the fireplace, and elements of the authentic French furniture made in 1903 in the famous workshop of Paul Alexandre Dumas. The Walnut Drawing Room has stained glass windows depicting French King Henry II and his mistress Diane de Poitiers. Walnut furniture and panels recreate the atmosphere of the French Renaissance.
Restaurants and Bars
The Atlantes Bar in a Neo-Baroque style in the hotel lobby is named after the four gigantic Atlas statues that support the atrium ceiling and are reflected in the mirror-polished marble floor.
The Taleon Imperial Hotel restaurants have a fine ambiance and provide everything needed to make each moment memorable. The festive atmosphere of the Taleon Restaurant, impeccable service, an extensive wine list, a collection of rare brandies, the best Cuban and Dominican cigars and high-class European cuisine will satisfy even the most demanding of guests.


To enjoy a wide range of historical and gastronomic impressions, visit the Victoria Restaurant to try unique dishes made according to old Russian recipes and dine on the terrace overlooking the historic centre of St. Petersburg. The restaurant’s panoramic windows overlook the dome of the Kazan Cathedral, the city’s main cathedral, whose sacred icon of the Virgin of Kazan is said to have protected the city from enemy invasion on several occasions.
Georgian chefs in the Griboedov Restaurant prepare the best dishes from their national cuisine. I have tried the majority of dishes in its kitchen. Watch your fish or meat being grilled on an open fire. The grill and the oven for baking tasty Georgian bread are located directly in the dining area. The restaurant was named after the famous Russian writer and diplomat Alexander Griboedov, who rented an apartment on the top floor of the building when he returned to St. Petersburg with the Treaty of Turkmenchay, newly concluded with Persia.
SPA and Fitness
The Spa & Fitness Centre is located on the top floor of the Taleon Imperial Hotel. Its provide a panoramic view of Nevsky Prospekt, the Kazan Cathedral, St. Isaac’s Cathedral, the Church on the Spilt Blood, the Admiralty, the Arch of the General Staff and other famous architectural masterpieces. The centre has state-of-the-art equipment. First-class professional masseuses, steam room attendants and coaches offer a broad array of treatments to keep you in shape, and help you exercise, relax and restore your strength. Enjoy massage, body wraps, peeling, steaming, a salt cave, and separate saunas – Finnish and infrared – for men and women.
The large 20-metre swimming pool is fitted with a state-of-the-art environmentally-friendly water treatment system. The pool area has a large glass dome ceiling letting in natural daylight, which makes you feel as if you were in the open air.
The gym is just the right place for guests who enjoy an active lifestyle. The facility offers cardioline equipment for cardiovascular exercise, professional workout equipment for various groups of muscles and a free weight zone. Professional athletes who serve as coaches will put together an individual program for you and will help you master the exercise technique.


The wonderful hotel and I is very glad that lived in it. Photographed it. Went in spa and was at restaurants. Thanks to this hotel I have felt Petersburg

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alexzhdanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    112
    42
    11
    14
See reviews for
110
213
27
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2011

Nothing to put a finger on.

Great location, great staff, great rooms, great staff. I would recommend this hotel any day!

Ask Olga if you need to go out - and ask for "the new restaurant that opened a couple of month ago (january 2011) in the glass building - access by elevator (2. floor)."

Room Tip: Room 416 is amazing. Great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Copenhagen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

This hotel was well worth the money. It is a palace and you are treated like royalty. We received a lovely suite when we got there with a spacious bathroom through AMEX. Everything about this hotel is luxurious. The staff is efficient, always available Olga, the concierge spent a lot of time working on our stay prior to our arrival by getting us tickets to the ballet and other events and setting us up an excellent guide Elena and driver. This is a high end hotel and you feel it as soon as you arrive. Pure elegance. Wonderful treats at night. Do avoid the Georgian restaurant-Grivobev as the service was not very good and the food on the menu was odd. Tsar was quite good though down the street.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceisen1037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2010

The room and the bathroom were beautiful. Hermes toiletries were replaced daily. The most delicious sweets were left at turn down service. The public areas were spacious and beautifully decorated. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The covered 25 metre swimming pool was a welcome relief from the heat. The hotel was about 2 minutes walk from the winter palace. I would defintely recommend this hotel. We were lucky to book it through perfect escapes at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oscardog16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2010

This is a modern luxury hotel created from a patrician palace in St. Petersburg. The rooms are very nicely done. Our room, in particular, was a two-story suite, with a living and dining area downstairs and a bedroom upstairs (all for two people). We truly enjoyed the spaciousness and comfort of the room.

The hotel's breakfast was top-notch.

For the most part, the staff were great. But "good service" and "Russian" used to be entirely incompatible, and some of that remains among some of the staff.

Generally, I would recommend this hotel. But for all of its fine qualities, it is very expensive; I am sure you can stay quite comfortably -- but not in as much luxury -- in St. Petersburg for considerably less.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank g26sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2009

The hotel has the excellent hospitality. The level of service, courtesy and professionalism that I saw was actually the best level of my expectations.
The city and the cultural tradition are true jewels! Our stay at Taleon was crowned the best of these beauties. And then surprise and happiness for the cake that they have given to my daughter for her birthday .... wonderful idea!
Certainly advise friends to come to St. Petersburg and to keep Taleon!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vtraveller24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

The hotel is located minutes from Hermitage and you can walk to the attractions. Rooms are great and furniture is fabulous. It is converted from palace. The hotel does not have any good view though.

Our mattress had s spring pop up which caused my wife almost a sleepless night. They were not regretful about it. There was some construction going on and two times our room was suddenly filled with Kerosene smell. We complained to the butler, and we were expecting that they will be apologetic and change the room, but the butler did not tell the management much and we had to insist on changing the room. They upgraded but very reluctantly.

When they bring the food to the room, be careful and check the receipt. Once you sign, they never take that back. They brought a wrong item, I asked the waiter, she said, don’t worry she will take that off. However, they never took that off. I asked the front desk and the lady at the desk said that I signed and therefore I am liable. Breakfast was included in our deal, but they brought up the bill and this time, I did not fall in the trap. I signed with a comment that this was included and I have written reservation copy to prove that. That charge still appeared, but I pointed out my comment.

The butlers were stuffy and snooty. Bathroom had urine smell and we complained, but they did not cure. Fortunately, I carried an air freshener from U.S.

Now about the restaurant. If you have a dinner included in your deal, please note that even the reservation will state that all soft drinks are included, they will charge after 1st round. We fell into that trap and were charged for 9 water bottles (which by the way are very tiny). They will charge $5 per bottle which can fill only a small wine glass. I ordered bloody mary as they said they can serve any cocktails. They charged me separately for a shot of vodka, tomato juice and lime juice. So, our ‘included’ dinner turned out to be a rip-off.

Breakfast was included in our deal and they serve Champaign and caviar. You have to ask them to open Champaign though. Any egg preparations were included, but you have to ask for it.

The swimming pool is nice but water was too cold and they would not set the temperature up. They have nice sauna and steam sauna.

Some conceirge are ok, but one person at the desk could not get a reservation at a restaurant nearby we asked. He said that there were no tables that night. I called the restaurant directly and got the table. I then found that there were plenty of tables available.

We took a night cruise after walking almost a mile to the river. However later on, we found that some cruise boats start right in front of the hotel. The concierge did not know that.

Overall, the hotel is good for location, décor and rooms, but management is penny wise and pound foolish. I would still recommend the hotel, but do not use their restaurant. There are plenty of good restaurants nearby. Just get room service if needed and read the bill before you sign.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelier_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#15 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#7 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 331 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#20 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Admiralteisky
Petro Palace Hotel
Petro Palace Hotel
#28 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taleon Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taleon Imperial Hotel

Property: Taleon Imperial Hotel
Address: Nevskiy Ave., 15, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia (Formerly Eliseev Palace Hotel)
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 331 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taleon Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taleon Imperial Hotel is the only modern luxury hotel in St. Petersburg, a member of the Leading Small Hotels of the World and Virtuoso associations. This former czarist-era palace, built in XVIII century, is located in the heart of the city, only 5 minutes walk from the Hermitage. The hotel offers 89 individually designed and decorated rooms and suites, 3 restaurants, exclusive SPA on the rooftop with a large swimming pool and a variety of treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotelopia and TravelUp so you can book your Taleon Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing