We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taleon Imperial Hotel
Ranked #40 of 349 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
265 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 694 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

During our stay in St.Petersburg we stayed in two hotels - here and Grand Hotel Europe. So, Taleon is much better! Absolutely brand-new, the staff was fab, room appeared well cleaned and very spacious with ultramodern electric systems. Lovely bathroom. You can enjoy, as well, wi-fi free of charge. Great location.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexzhdanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    119
    50
    15
    16
See reviews for
124
233
29
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Comfort and pleasure interlace as we time travel in this natural extension of the Hermitage, among sober magnificence and seductive grandeur of the past. My only complaint is that no matter how long you stay, it always be to short.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montevale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stayed for five days at The Taleon, it is excellent in every respect. The location, the room, the staff and the service were all fantastic. They even left a cake in my room for my birthday. Amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Fantastic location, 10 minutes walk from the Hermitage. My partner and I stayed in superior room during the second week of October. The room was huge and the bathroom magnificent. All the web-site photos reflect just how the hotel looks, which was comforting as this is always a worry when booking online. We found the service pretty good. It was our first time in Russia and we had heard differing accounts of the standard of service, but after a week I think we found that the Russians themselves are conservative by nature and this could be seen by visitors as being disinterested or not proactive.
The breakfast was more than adequate for us and we even managed to get a decent soy coffee from the helpful staff. The breakfast room is large and well set, with wonderful views. In warmer months patrons could dine outside on a balcony.
I noticed in some reviews people mentioned about the daily carpets in the lifts being useless decorations; well we quite liked them.
The restaurant is expensive and would recommend trying some the many restaurants on Nevsky or side streets. We did try a really cheap restaurant called 'Any Pasta' just down the road on Nevsky. It was good value with good food. Wine was cheap as well and it had wifi.
We usually had a drink in the bar when we got back each night. The barman was a friendly young guy from Siberia named Maksim.
We did all the tours with a single guide named Sergei. He was fantastic and I highly recommend him. His English is impeccable and he is a most interesting person as well. Using Sergei was so much better than being stuck on a crowded tourist bus. He was able to get tickets for us as well. His email address is
sergeispb08@rambler.ru

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

The hotel is in a great location - no doubt about that. But given its 5-star status and the hefty price charged, we were very disappointed with the service and amenities. Firstly, the lobby was not at all grand - it's small and dark. The room decor was alright (we stayed in the double room). The beds however were very hard - the standard of 3-star hotels. We asked for a change in room as we couldn't sleep well but was told all beds are the same throughout the hotel. We asked for additional comforters to add a layer of cushion on the bed but surprise surprise they didnt have extra comforters. On this same trip we stayed at Savoy in Moscow and Domina Prestige in St Petersburg and the beds were plush and so comfortable. The air conditioning in the room didn't work and it was extremely stuffy. Housekeeping was bad - our used glasses were not changed once in the four days we stayed at the hotel. The front desk staff were aloof and almost rude. Conceige was the same except for a helpful lady with dark hair (did not get her name). The only thing we liked was the large bathroom. For the price charged, would definitely not recommend nor return to the Taleon.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempten, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

The hotel is beautiful, the architecture and the location are astounding. However, the service from the staff is very dry and unattentive. The location of the hotel is great, but for the price it left me wondering if there are other places within the same price range that are better, or even others that are not so expensive and better in terms of price-quality. Some issues are also strange, buffet is included but only continental, full breakfast is extra. Deinitely room for improvement, especially considering the price and the category of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smashing79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Lots of marble and other impressive decor. Mat in the elevator with the name of the day of week and lots of other useless decorations. Food for breakfast -- average. Sturgeon was definitely of "second freshness" as Bulgakov said in Master & Margarita, as was fruit and cheese. Air conditioning -- ancient, as is sanitary equipment. This is more of a parody of luxury. Stayed for one night in September, won't come back as Kempinksi or W seem to be in my taste better alternatives.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaxV_96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#15 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,106 reviews
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#19 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,118 reviews
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 349 in St. Petersburg
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#8 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,574 reviews
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#7 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,529 reviews
Admiralteisky
Petro Palace Hotel
Petro Palace Hotel
#30 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taleon Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taleon Imperial Hotel

Property: Taleon Imperial Hotel
Address: Nevskiy Ave., 15, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia (Formerly Eliseev Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 349 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taleon Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taleon Imperial Hotel is the only modern luxury hotel in St. Petersburg, a member of the Leading Small Hotels of the World and Virtuoso associations. This former czarist-era palace, built in XVIII century, is located in the heart of the city, only 5 minutes walk from the Hermitage. The hotel offers 89 individually designed and decorated rooms and suites, 3 restaurants, exclusive SPA on the rooftop with a large swimming pool and a variety of treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Taleon Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing