We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant 4**** in the heart of St Petersburg!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel St. Petersburg Centre
Ranked #43 of 354 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Galway
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant 4**** in the heart of St Petersburg!”
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed at the Novotel St Petersburg in early November 2011
The location is fantastic, 100m off Nevsky Prospket which is where you need to be!!!
We arrived very early to the hotel after getting off a long bus journey from Tallinn and the staff accommodated us with an early check in!! It was very much appreciated.

The rooms are great, very comfy beds and the hotel is maintained to the very highest standards! I would like to give a special thanks to the concierge staff at the Novotel, They were so helpful and assisted us in bookings and sightseeing excursions.

One Tiny Negative though! the WiFi signal is excellent but is weak on the upper floors but apart from this small detail, we really enjoyed our time staying at the Novotel St Petersburg.
No hesitation in staying here again!

Thanks to all at the Novotel!

Room Tip: The higher the Better! The penthouse suites are very nice with big terrace on the rooftop!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoelR-GalwayIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    561
    176
    40
    14
See reviews for
174
379
102
389
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lefkás, Levkas, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

the windows in the room was closed and you can't open it!!! not very clean unfortunately....
the breafast was very rich and the position of the hotel superb....

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHB
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I am not sure whether to advise people to stay at this hotel or not. It did not however live up to my expectations coming from a similar priced hotel in Moscow, where the facilities were considerably better. I would certainly not consider this a luxury hotel (as it mentions in a local guide), but rather a chain/ tourist quality. As this was my first and probably only trip to St Petersburg, I do not know if alternative similar priced hotels would be better or worse.

So maybe a list of good and bad will help:
GOOD -
1. Great check-in, the reservation lady did us a great favour in not charging for a (my) mistake in the booking.
2. Breakfast good, not great, but totally adequate. Extended breakfast hours on week-end a great idea.
3. Great location in a side road, very close to metro.

BAD -
1. Smoking in breakfast room. I will in future not stay in hotels where smoking allowed in breakfast room. This was not allowed in the Moscow hotel where i stayed, so no reason to allow it in any hotel.

2. We upgraded the room to the top (9th) floor - an executive room. For the additional Euro 25 per night, we got the following - top floor, expresso coffee maker, bathrobe, iron. Not much.

However, the additional fee also got us

- shower in the bath. This is not acceptable for an executive room as far as i am concerned.

- the hot water pressure was so low that the diverter valve diverting water from the bath tap to the shower tap could not operate, so we ether had to have a cold shower or a hot bath in a very small bath. I am 185cm tall, and did not fit very well in the bath!!!

- the room was obviously too far from the WiFi server, so no WiFi could be connected during the two day stay. Managed to connect on the LAN system - luckily i had my laptop with a network card, not my netbook that does not have a network card.

- as mentioned in a previous review, the aircon does not work. The temp outside was 0 deg C, and inside our room was probably +20 C and very "heavy" as previously described! In fact , the temperature in the passage was a lot lower than we could achieve in the room with the aircon going full speed.

- bed ok but not very comfortable.

So, if you stay in this hotel, don't waste your money in a 9th floor upgrade. It is actually a downgrade at a hefty fee!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinago007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Centre, General Manager at Novotel St. Petersburg Centre, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear Tinago007,

Thank you for taking time to leave this feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed our central location, breakfast assortment and found our staff helpfull. We have shared your kind words with our team to let them know their efforts have not gone unnoticed.

However, we are very sorry to hear that something went wrong. We understand the problems you've encountered in our executive room. We sincelery regret we were not informed about the issues during your stay, otherwise we would be happy to offer you another room. We appreciate all of your points and we are working hard on those improvements to be done, to make Novotel St. Petersburg Centre even better.

Thank you again for the review, and we do hope to see you again in Novotel St.Petersburg Centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 October 2011

i think the bathrooms should be refurbished, and the rest is just perfect . maybe a slightly higher speed WIFI would be great also, expecially if you are a business traveller, could be rather annying.
very happy with this hotel, would definitely choose to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Centre, General Manager at Novotel St. Petersburg Centre, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your kind comments! We are always happy to share such a positive feedback with our valued team.
At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer. We fully understand the high importance of the bathrooms' condition for our guests, and thus do our best to refresh them as frequent as possible. Please be sure we are working on the issue and will certainly consider your comment while preparing our upcoming refurbishment plan.

Thank you again for the review! Please, do choose Novotel St. Petersburg Centre again during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Clean rooms, good breakfast, nice service, free wifi internet. The only minus is that windows in the rooms can not be opened and A/C doesn't work pretty well, so air becomes heavy.
Locaton is perfect - downtown, subway station nearby.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DctrG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel_Centre, General Manager at Novotel St. Petersburg Centre, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Dear DctrG,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at the Novotel St.Petersburg Centre! We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.
Regarding your comment about room windows, please rest assured that we are taking appropriate measures to gradually address the issue and make the stay of our guests more comfortable. By now, windows in some rooms have already been changed to the opening ones. Should you be our guest next time, please inform us in advance, and we will be happy to provide you with the desired room type.

We are looking forward to welcoming you at Novotel St.Petersburg again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights at end of September 2011 prior to joining a river cruise to Moscow. We found the location excellent and handy for all the "must see" sights. We could navigate our way round the city very easily on foot. Beware crazy drivers though! Hotel staff were all very helpful and spoke excellent English. Our room was very clean, quiet and beds were comfortable. Breakfast buffet is very good with plenty of choice to satisfy all tastes. We had a meal in the hotel on our first night but had to have 'al la carte' because the evening buffet doesn't start until 8:30pm & we were too tired to stay up. It was OK but would have preferred more choice a buffet offers. One warning... be sure to check the top shelf of the wardrobe very carefully before moving out! We know how easy it is to leave something behind!! JL Western Australia

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vladimir
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Li...
#12 of 354 in St. Petersburg
887 reviews
Ibis St. Petersburg Centre Hotel
#63 of 354 in St. Petersburg
1,240 reviews
Nevsky Forum Hotel
#18 of 354 in St. Petersburg
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Inn by Radisson Nevsky St. ...
#65 of 354 in St. Petersburg
1,027 reviews
Nevskiy
Akyan St.Petersburg
Akyan St.Petersburg
#11 of 354 in St. Petersburg
524 reviews
Nevskiy
Golden Triangle Hotel
Golden Triangle Hotel
#22 of 354 in St. Petersburg
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel St. Petersburg Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel St. Petersburg Centre

Property: Novotel St. Petersburg Centre
Address: Mayakovskogo St., 3A, St. Petersburg 191025, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#31 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#43 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#53 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#74 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel St. Petersburg Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel St. Petersburg Centre, a 4 star hotel located in the very heart of the historical centre of St. Petersburg close to all main attractions: the Hermitage, Mikhailovsky Theatre, Russian art museum, the Cathedral of Our Lady of Kazan, Summer garden and Marsovo Field. A perfect base to explore the city centre. Relaxing accommodation in quiet surroundings 100 meters away from Nevsky Prospect with its nightlife, bar scene and shopping. Business travelers are catered for with free Wi-Fi Internet, 11 meeting rooms and a business centre. Be indulged at the Cote Jardin restaurant, Intermezzo Lobby bar, and cozy Novotel Cafe. Unwind in our free fitness centre with steam bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel St. Petersburg Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel St Petersburg Centre Hotel St. Petersburg
Novotel Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing