We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From Russia with Love”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Business Hotel Karelia
Ranked #128 of 364 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Reviewed 3 August 2008

Having read the previous reviews we approached the Karelia with some trepidation and were very pleasantly surprised. From the outside the hotel and it's surroundings did not inspire confidence. Inside, however rooms and communal areas were modern, comfortable and clean (we stayed on the 7th floor). the staff were helpful, despite not speaking much english. breakfast was varied and although some of the dishes were not to our taste it was more than adequate (and there was no problems with inadequate supplies of museli). the selection of breads was especially good.
the hotel is a distance from the city centre, but the free shuttle bus and the 190 bus to-from the nevsky prospect were frequent and did not present a problem.
overall this was the best hotel we stayed at in Russia. We would remind people that 3 star in Russia is not like 3 star in the UK and US and if you want all the amenities of a western hotel chain cough up the extra money and stay closer to the centre.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PrestonDuchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2008

While I was aware that this hotel is not anywhere near the city centre, I was still surprised with the location and the neighbourhood. To be fair, it is only a 15-20 minute ride by marshrutka to Nevsky Prospekt and the hotel also runs a shuttle at fixed times. But still, one does not want to be stuck in the middle of a nondescript Sovietesque neighbourhood with absolutely nothing to do.

The Hotel itself has been recently renovated from the inside (like everywhere else in Russia the inside is much better than what it appears from outside). The rooms on our floor were fitted very well, the bathroom was modern, clean and functioned properly.

The Hotel has a 24 hr restaurant with a decent menu. The staff is courteous and while there was a language barrier, we did not face any problems.

I would not hesitate to stay here if on a business trip. If, however, my main intention was to sightsee, I would certainly choose a place closer to the centre.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rahulkale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights in early July. The general standard of the hotel, bedroom and bathroom was OK. However, the hotel is very far from the city centre and you really feel like you are in the back of beyond. The breakfast is appalling, the worst I experienced throughout my tour in Russia. There is a small bowl of muesli that people must fight over, once it is gone there is no more. There is a selection of pickled cabbage like food and then various varieties of stale bread and cheese.

A couple in our tour group had the pleasure of bed bugs too. These were on the 4th floor so wherever you are staying in the hotel I'd make a thorough check before settling down for the night.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slyph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2007

My husband and I stayed at this hotel because we were on a tour where the average age of us was 26.
The hotel offers several types of rooms. We stayed in the basic room and the rack rate was an average of $150.
Firstly, everyone in the group had to change rooms at least once as most of the basic rooms were unclean. The towels were dirty, there was hair on the bathroom floor and we had a dirty condom wrapper next to our bed. Furthermore all of the doors to the balcony had fallen off the hinges and had ben re-attached by packing tape.
The rooms were old and decrepid but of a decent size. They contained a desk, cupboard where clothes could be hung, and a TV that had no programs in english. Not even CNN. There was also a fridge in the room.
The bathroom was a decent size but the shower often flooded and did not have hot water. When we called reception to alert them to this their response was to let the water run twenty minutes.
The staff were very unfriendly and unhelpful. They spoke little english and were not interested in customer service. We paid for WiFi that did not work and they would not refund us our money.
The breakfast was of very poor standard.
The hotel is at least 25 mins from town by public transport. As there are no taxi's in russia after midnight it can be a very scary experience to get back to the hotel. About 300 rubels.
I would definitely recommend to look for a hotel or hostel closer to the Hermitage that is in the centre of town.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TravelgirlAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2006

This hotel is in the middle of nowhere. It is a good 25 minute ride on crowded public transportation to downtown. The front desk staff are very young, unhelpful and speak very little English. They could not help me make an international phone call. It is very difficult to get into one's room since the keys stick. The rooms are small with old furniture. The light over the bed did not work. The water is brown and is not more than lukewarm. The food at the mediocre breakfast buffet includes stale bread and sauerkraut.

I could not wait to leave. Do not stay here. Definitely spring for a nicer hotel much closer to the city centre.

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Weswee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yura_novik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KiraAH, директор по размещению и сервису at Business Hotel Karelia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JadenTorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KiraAH, директор по размещению и сервису at Business Hotel Karelia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Polustrovo Hotel
#84 of 364 in St. Petersburg
342 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Seven Cabins
Seven Cabins
#213 of 364 in St. Petersburg
17 reviews
Kolomna
Nautilus Inn Hotel
Nautilus Inn Hotel
#250 of 364 in St. Petersburg
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Okhtinskaya Hotel
#193 of 364 in St. Petersburg
215 reviews
Ladoga Hotel
#93 of 364 in St. Petersburg
249 reviews
Empire Park Hotel
#175 of 364 in St. Petersburg
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Business Hotel Karelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Business Hotel Karelia

Address: Marshala Tukhachevskogo St., 27/2, St. Petersburg 195067, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £19 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Business Hotel Karelia 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Business Hotel Karelia is a modern 16 floor hotel complex in Saint Petersburg. The hotel has 256 comfortable rooms and is able to accommodate more than 500 people.There are 11 conference halls in the Business Hotel Karelia with a capacity of 10 to 330 people. They are ideal for business events and parties of different sizes.The hotel also has a restaurant, a billiard club (one of the largest in the city) a sauna and a souvenir shop. The range of additional services allows you to work and relax in comfort without leaving the hotel.It is situated in a pollution-free space on the right bank of the Neva within a quarter of an hour reach from the centre of the city, near the 50 Anniversary of the October Revolution park.Karelia offers the following services: accommodation, catering, providing facilities for individuals and congress-groups business activity and for comfortable and safe repose and leisure within the hotel’s premises, which makes the hotel a good place for business meetings. Among our customers there are participants of national and international congresses, conferences, exhibitions, seminars and festivals, theatrical companies, music bands, sport teams and delegations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Business Hotel Karelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Business Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing