We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite Good by Russian standards”
Review of Andersen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Andersen Hotel
Ranked #131 of 335 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Estoril, Portugal
Level Contributor
130 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Quite Good by Russian standards”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Hotels in Russia are always close to being a nightmare experience. I was not expecting fancy details nor luxury in this hotel so in fact the Andersen surprised me in a positive way: this is a 3 star style hotel and would be a good one in many countries of Europe. The entrance hall is quite spacious with a reception area where service is attentive. A small coffee shop preceeds the restaurant area. Rooms are shabby, as Russian hotel rooms always are, but with basic conforts. All rooms have a fridge, it is empty but it works. My room was a demi suite with spacious toilet area and a jet bath. Ugly but well appointed. Large bed and decent pillows. The big surprise ( positive) of this establishment was the breakfast. Buffet style, with variety of breads, cheese, cold meats, eggs, expresso and juice machines....not excellent quality but decent enough. Finding this sort of breakfast in a non luxury hotel in this country is very unusual... The location is ok, close enough to sightseeing and museums. Dinner in the hotel is best avoided as food is very disappointing and service slow and inefficent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lagartixa47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andersen_hotel, Директор по продажам at Andersen Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2014
Dear Guests. Thank you for the kind words. We will be glad to see You again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    58
    33
    12
    1
See reviews for
20
24
14
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

That was the description my husband gave when we arrived... the room was of average size but felt very budget (even considering the price) and the bathroom was pretty depressing. It was clean enough but could do with some work to make it more comfortable. Location-wise it was okay, a few blocks walk from the nearest metro station and there were plenty of good places to eat nearby. The reception staff were helpful and the hotel restaurant does a pretty good stroganoff and okay breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireBearRas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Petersburg hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Lynge, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The Staff is really good.- but the thin walls give very high noises from rooms and floors.
The breakfast at morning is budgetbreakfast- and there is not really black coffea.
The location is far a way from Metrostation. Petrogradskaya is closed.

Room Tip: The staff is very good- but the hotels have very thin walls.High noises from floor and walls. The h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jens B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paderborn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I stayed there for a week during a business trip, following the recommendation of our potential business partner, which has a corporate rate with this hotel.
This place is not bad, it's *****_VERY BAD_*****, starting from the reception, continuing with the room and breakfast at the end.
At check-in they insisted to pay in advance for the whole stay, being also so incompetent as asking for the PIN number for a credit card allowing transactions without PIN.
It was the first time in my life checking in a hotel and being ask to pay upfront.
Later I understood the trick - this hotel is so bad that you won't say more then one night.
They know this, thus try to keep you in by charging for the entire stay at check-in.
Beds are a bit better than in military barracks and walls are so thin that you can hear what happens in all the 4-5 rooms around yours. Although I asked for a non-smoking room, I got a room with a 100% heavy cigarette stench.
Bathroom was difficult to use because of the smell - I just don't want to describe it here, don't have the appropriate words.
Breakfast area was also stinky - they allow you to smoke in the lobby and all the smoke comes in the restaurant. Food was poor and associated with the cigarette smoke it's just not for me.
Conclusion: DO NOT GO THERE!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Arcadie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Standard room is twice bigger than it's bathroom. Walls are thin, so u can hear all your "neighbours" even with TV on. Bathroom had some problems like shower functions , and..... insects..... . Will never return to this place again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TimurLander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Hotel Andersen is an adequate hotel, staff are fairly friendly and good location only 10-15mins walk to Metro station. However, the rooms definitely need updating. The carpet was flithy in our room and the shower was a nightmare. The staff couldn't cope with breakfast on the first morning, with lots of people - no clean tables, hardly any food. But this improved on the following morning when many of the guests had left. I probably wouldn't stay here again, but as a bed for the night its adequate.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pink_cola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

This hotel is ideal if you're trying to see and do as much as possible on a budget. The room itself was fine - 1970s decor, but I had no problems with cleanliness. Yes, the hotel smells a bit of smoke, but everyone in Russia seems to smoke! The walls are thin so if you're after total privacy, then stay elsewhere. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly - they helped me enormously when the ATM in the hotel lobby ate my money!! I particularly appreciated the free internet access in the hotel lobby and the fact that you could open the windows. All in all - this hotel is a solid choice and well-located in a spectacular city!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PoosieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Petrogradsky
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#100 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Petrogradsky
Amsterdam Hotel
Amsterdam Hotel
#149 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Petrogradsky
Guyot Hotel
Guyot Hotel
#265 of 335 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Petrogradsky
Hotel Eurasia
Hotel Eurasia
#132 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Petrogradsky
Stony Island Hotel
Stony Island Hotel
#155 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Petrogradsky
Hotel Alfavit
Hotel Alfavit
#145 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andersen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andersen Hotel

Property: Andersen Hotel
Address: Chapygina St., 4a, St. Petersburg 197022, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Petrogradsky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#79 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Andersen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andersen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andersen Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing