We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grateful helps and a gem in St Petersburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Brothers Karamazov Hotel
Ranked #59 of 334 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Grateful helps and a gem in St Petersburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Actually the hotel location is only 5-10 min walk from metro Zvengorodskaya. It is only 10-15 min away from town Nevsky prospect (by walk or metro)

This is wonderful location for people planing to take train back to Moscow or Tallinn as the Zvengorodskaya metro station is only one station away from Railway station Moscow RR (Mayakovsky station as Spana express train runs there) and Vitebsk RR ( SPB to Tallinn) It means that you can talk metro to the railway station rather take taxi .(Taxi is ridiculously expensive in Russia)

Breakfast spread is relatively small range,but good.all foods are fresh and tasty. Indeed I prefer this hotel foods that those in Best Western Moscow. If you wake up late ,try their lunch ,simple lunch is 200-300 rub.


I would specially thank to the receptionist Annille ( the gal with brown long hair and big brown eyes) and her manager.

Both my friend and I stayed here for two nights ,however due to my visa issue I was unable to go to Tallinn.I returned to hotel at mid night. Annille quickly helped find a room n settle down and even went for extra miles to help me resolving my train ticket booking issue to moscow( all these are done on goodwill)

Definitely will come bk to this hotel.

Ann( from Singapore)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AnsonWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharova V, Генеральный директор at The Brothers Karamazov Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Anson Wang,
Thanks a lot for your so warm attitude to our hotel and staff!
You are always welcome in our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    121
    30
    11
    2
See reviews for
66
131
46
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel in January 2013 not July 2013 (apologies but I cannot select this date for some reason).

So lets start by clarifying the type of tourists we are, to help others considering this hotel. I came on holiday with a family member as we both have an interest in sightseeing museums, fancy buildings etc. In the UK, we are the type of people who would only stay somewhere like a premier inn or Travelodge; something with a reputable name so as not to 'risk' bad accommodation. However as no such places exist in Russia, we decided to brave the reviews of online websites and found this hotel.

The first thing to note about this hotel is that the staff (the ones we met at least) do indeed speak English. This was basically the deciding factor for our trip as we did not want to risk being somewhere and not speak the language. The receptionist and man in the restaurant both spoke good English.

The room we had was spacious with two single beds. The en-suite was also quite large in comparison to a typical one. The view we had from the room was of huge snow-drifts... I simply cannot describe the view, it was unlike anything we had ever seen before (in a good way!). The room also had a TV and hotel guide. The TV did have English speaking channels (I believe we watched Russia1 ?) My only qualm with the room was that the pillows were square and flat - which made it a bit uncomfortable.

The breakfast was a bit of a challenge in the morning because there was no English labels on the food; and most of the food available we did not recognise. We tried a bit of things we liked the look of and they were nice (although we had no idea what we were eating) and there wasnt a staff member around to explain what things were. As such this would have been a huge problem for someone who was a fussy eater or had an allergy, but other than that it seemed a generous range.

We did not spend much time in the hotel as we were on tours everyday until late. The time we spent in the hotel though was very pleasant and one could not ask for more from a hotel. The receptionist was very helpful with sorting our VISA things out in our passports and she even arranged our taxi when we were leaving on the last day.

The hotel itself is located basically in the heart of St. Petersburg. We managed to walk (about 10-15mins) to the Nevsky Prospect on all days of our stay. This is the main shopping street which has every shop you could ever want - including, for those of us who want something more familiar to eat, a McDonalds.

This is a perfect hotel for someone who is tempted by a trip to Russia but concerned about accommodation in unfamiliar territory. This hotel provides English speaking staff and a safe environment. We had a lovely holiday, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mattrimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharova V, Генеральный директор at The Brothers Karamazov Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Mattrimus,
thanks a lot for your kind and informative review about us.
Will be great to see you in our hotel once again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

I have no real complaints about this hotel, only praises. The staff are very friendly, the restaurant has a very good breakfast, and an amazing lunch menu that's probably the best meal we had in St. Petersburg. Rooms are very nice and have all you need. If I had to offer one criticism the beds aren't perfect (we had 2 twin beds that were. Little spring), but they otherwise are comfortable with high quality linens and great pillows -- rooms and bathrooms are immaculate. I recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TR B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharova V, Генеральный директор at The Brothers Karamazov Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
You are always welcome in our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Homelike atmosphere, convenient location, good breakfast, comfortable bed, helpful and friendly staff, personal attention, everything was good. Happy to stay again.

On a disappointing side was restaurant full of smoke: it is not healthy and smoking is not really fashionable these days...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irden, Manager at The Brothers Karamazov Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear S S
thanks a lot for your laconic but very informative review about our hotel
always welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samara, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

I was a winter night, attention excellent, amazing breakfast, very comfortable room, quiet and clean. Wifi very good and fast. The hotel is small but very comfortable, the staff warm and attentive. I'm ready for a summer vacation there!. I will be there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irden, Front Office Manager at The Brothers Karamazov Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Mario C
Thanks a lot for your so warm attitude to our hotel and staff!
You are always welcome in our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Very good breakfast, however it was the same every day. Comfortable room (standard single), convenient location in the heart of the city nearby several subway stations. Wi-fi connection quality was not very good, it was lost for one day at all. Friendly staff. Good choice.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank sermolaev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irden, Front Office Manager at The Brothers Karamazov Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
dear mamasha45
Nice to read your review.
Your high rating encourage us to do our service better and better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed for four days in this hotel and felt very comfortable. All staff members are nice, friendly, and helpful. Rooms are good sized, clean, and comfortable. A good choice of food for breakfast/
I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamasha45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karamazov_11, Генеральный директор at The Brothers Karamazov Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
it is a a great pleasure to read your opinion about us!
we are waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vladimir
Pyaty Ugol
Pyaty Ugol
#54 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Nevskiy
Akyan Saint Petersburg
Akyan Saint Petersburg
#12 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Nevskiy
Hotel Anabel on Nevsky 88
Hotel Anabel on Nevsky 88
#52 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Demetra Art Hotel
#51 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#45 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Dinastiya Hotel
#58 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brothers Karamazov Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brothers Karamazov Hotel

Property: The Brothers Karamazov Hotel
Address: Sotsialisticheskaya St., 11A, St. Petersburg 191119, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vladimir
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#35 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#41 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#58 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brothers Karamazov Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotels like "The Brothers Karamazov" hotel, located in the historical centre of St Petersburg and a pleasant 20 minutes walk from Nevsky Prospect, are very convenient for cultural rest and the business tourism at the same time. We are situated near the Church of Vladimirskaya Mother of God and Dostoevsky's Apartment, now a museum. Here the famous Russian writer finished his last novel "The Brothers Karamazov". The interior of the small cosy hotel recreates the atmosphere of Saint-Petersburg in the 2nd part of the 19th century. The "The Brothers Karamazov" hotel opened its doors in April 2004 and is accredited as 4 stars hotel. Our mission is to suit both business people and tourists for either short or long stays. Cosy homelike atmosphere of the hotel goes together with very comfortable lodging and board.If you decided to spend your vacation in Saint-Petersburg, we can help you to plan individual sightseeing program, book tickets to the theatres and museums of the city, feel the atmosphere of the "Northern Capital" and introduce you to its places of interest. We provide air-conditioner in each room, free internet access, international telephone connection, copying and fax facilities. We can offer a specially equipped room where business people can hold meetings. We can also book plane and train tickets, organize excursions for our guests and provide secure parking and the safe deposit-boxes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brothers Karamazov Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brothers Karamazov Hotel Hotel St. Petersburg
Brothers Karamazov Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing