We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK if you just need a bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Filippov on Nevskiy Hotel
Ranked #171 of 355 Hotels in St. Petersburg
uk
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“OK if you just need a bed”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Mixed feelings about this place.

Fabulous location - and anyone who moans about the access to the hotel (entrance, stairs etc) really needs to get out a bit more.

Rooms clean & pleasant. TV reception dreadful & some of the furniture was delicate to say the least. Gentls hints to the hotel staff on brokered no response. Hot water always available.

Interior lobby clean & bright but cramped. If the occupants of two rooms decided to take their breakfast together - it was full. Water & tea/coffee always available. Tourist brocures maps always laid out which was helpful.

Reception Staff were more than pleasant & kind - however for a place that advertises itself as having English speaking staff, the ability of some staff was poor to say the least. My Russian was better than one or two. Still - we were always greeted cheerfully & registration was swift & efficient.

Breakfast was satisfactory however running out of staples like butter, milk before 9 as happened on one occasion is poor - especially given the size of the place.

For what was provided - I would say this place was on the expensive side - then again, the closeness to the centre is the selling point. If you're just looking for a bed - then this place is fine; if you want more then look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlannoUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    27
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
30
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I agree with all of the contributors here. The Fillippov is a good-quality option for its price. The rooms are spacious, especially when compared to Scandinavia, and the staff were helpful and kind. Access to the Fillipov and rooms is very secure. The rooms and hotel lobby were clean. Breakfast is provided and it is possible to order dinner via reception to the local Mama Roma restaurant. We found that option very handy as we were travelling with a young child and are grateful to the hotel staff for helping us with this. The rooms are quiet given how busy the surrounding streets are thanks to double-glazed windows. The hotel is very close to a cashpoint, V-Mart for supplies and Teremok pancake diner. Downsides: The Fillipov is situated in a regular apartment building so the entrance and staircase area is typical of eastern Europe. Some contributors considered it scary and I do understand why. While it is dustier and darker than what you'd find in the rest of Europe and US, it is secure and safe. I feel I should add the main access point and staircase to the hotel bears no resemblance to the quality and cleanliness inside the Fillipov. The water quality takes some getting used to and my young son refused to shower throughout our 4-day stay. (I refer here specifically to the shower, as with the rest of Russia drinking the tap water is not advised). Personally, I didn't think it was that close to the nearest metro station; it took a fair walk to reach it. In summary, I would recommend the Filippov to anyone travelling to St.-P on a budget with a young family.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AOliverCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

Interior lobby and room was really nice and clean.
Access to rooms very secure.
Staff was very kind.
Free wireless and free web access with one pc station in lobby.
Free mineral water, coffee or tea.
Free local calls.
Free small breakfast (Toast, cornflakes, cream cheese, marmalade, oatmeal, sausages, tea, cofee)

The only flaw is allowed smoking in lobby.
Average price for night was $68 from 26 till 31 Dec 2008.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank flash_os
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2008

Just getting caught up from last year, but I remember the Fillipov well. I chose it somewhat randomly for a visit to St Petersburg. The location was convenient to the subway and Nevsky Prospekt. The staff spoke good English, although my fiancee spoke Russia to them. The entranceway and stairwell leading to the hotel off the street is actually a little scary, but the interior lobby and room was really nice and clean. Breakfast was not elaborate, so we ate out or picked up snacks at the local V-Mart just up the street (open 24 hours). The hotel met our expectations and did not exceed our budget.

  • Liked — location, price
  • Disliked — entranceway/stairway
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank CJDJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Kolomna
Nautilus Inn Hotel
Nautilus Inn Hotel
#206 of 355 in St. Petersburg
79 reviews
Kolomna
Matisov Domik
Matisov Domik
#37 of 355 in St. Petersburg
179 reviews
Tourist Hotel St Petersburg
#173 of 355 in St. Petersburg
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Business Hotel Karelia
#120 of 355 in St. Petersburg
257 reviews
Petrogradsky
Tradition Hotel
Tradition Hotel
#52 of 355 in St. Petersburg
332 reviews
Vladimir
Station Hotel M19
Station Hotel M19
#33 of 355 in St. Petersburg
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filippov on Nevskiy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filippov on Nevskiy Hotel

Property: Filippov on Nevskiy Hotel
Address: Nevskiy Ave., 142, St. Petersburg 191024, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 355 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Filippov on Nevskiy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Filippov Hotels in St.Petersburg, Russia offer you two cozy and home mini-hotels (8 and 7 rooms). Both mini-hotels are located within easy walking distance of the city's business center and cultural and architectural treasures. It makes them ideal for leisure, incentive and business travelers. Moscow railway station and metro "ploshad" Vosstania" are not far from hotels (about 600 meters). Cozy atmosphere and hospitable staff will make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Filippov on Nevskiy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filippov Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing