We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, good service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Garden Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Garden Boutique Hotel
Ranked #77 of 331 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
omer israel
Level Contributor
109 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good hotel, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We were a bit worried reading the last reviews about the hotel, but we were surprised.
The rooms are spacious, though you cannot open the windows. The air condition is OK
The beds are Ok and so is the shower. You get a free WiFi in the room. The location of the hotel is very good, and all the interesting places are within a walking distance. One has to remember that you are touring in Russia, make sure that the rooms are reserved before your trip, if you have any problem complain. We had complimentary breakfast which was very good. To sum up it is a boutique hotel and most probably you are going to enjoy from your stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    58
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
27
66
15
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Butjadingen, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Room was tired (old furniture), windows are the size of that on an old cruise ship (slight exaggeration), the air con, barely worked (I didn't sleep one night under the bed sheets as it was way too hot), the bathroom was 2 ft. wide and 10ft. long so you had to squeeze past the sink to get to the toilet and you could hardly turn in the shower to get completely wet. The room had a TV, free wifi, hair dryer and a small basket of nuts and crisps. Not sure if I was on some sort of roof top walkway, but people were forever walking past the window (I was on the 3rd floor) and to cap it off, when the lift was out of order I couldn't find any stairs. Behind one exit door was old bed-stands and mattresses, chocker full, and the other was a short corridor full of shelves of sundries. After finding a woman at the back of this corridor she was extremely helpful and lead me down a labyrinth of passageways and stairs until I exited via the 'workman's entrance' out onto the street. Upon return I looked for an emergency exit plan in the room, couldn't find one! The lift itself of which I believe there is only the one could hold three (tightly squeezed adults) at best. I stayed 5 nights (I couldn't move to another hotel as they were all full due to the Economic Forum) and every night bar the first the whole room shook to some party/loud music going on within the hotel. No point in complaining after the first time as the hotel just brushed it off, and said it would go on no longer than 11PM, which in all truthfulness it didn't.
I used the hotel restaurant once, and though the room itself is gaudy (faux Roman/Greek, in keeping with the lobby theme), the food was very nice. And you receive a 25% reduction on price if you are a guest. The breakfast too has a good selection of hot and cold food.
I was here for business and the reception staff went out of there way to help me with printing and directions etc.; it is them that earned the second star! All staff spoke impeccable English.
Location is approx. 250m off Nevsky Prospect, and therefore close to everything that street has to offer. So, location wise, it is ideal to walk to many of the local sights, metro stations, restaurants etc.
Hotel taxi to Pulkovo was EUR55, was told it would be a Mercedes, was an old (version before last) VW Passat. That one incident summed it all up in a nut shell. It isn't what is says on the tin.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TreLeoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

If one gives a five star boutique hotel a one star rating, there best be good reasons. My wife and I had a six night stay booked by a Russian travel company via East-West tours.. Upon arrival, we specifically asked for a quiet room and were told that all rooms were quiet. Our room was large and beautifully furnished, but the air was rather stuffy. There was an in wall air conditioning unit but we were told that there was no controller available. The technician was to be sent to our room but over our six night stay, no one arrived. The windows could not be opened. The room alternated between hot and stuffy to cold, depending upon the outside temperature. Some evenings I ran the hair dryer to heat the bathroom. On Friday night, the hotel hosted a large very noisy party. The hotel lobby and entry is of stone and the sound is amplified and reverberates. We were told that the music would stop at 10:00 pm. Saturday night, a large reception with music was held in the lobby starting at 5:15 pm. The party transferred to the restaurant, where the open doors allowed the loud noise to again reverberate through the hotel. We repeatedly complained but were told that the noise should not be "too bad". The music stopped at around 11:00 pm. but the party continued to around 12:30 pm. We finally got some sleep. I believed that I was renting a five star quality hotel, not a party place. On Sunday, we returned at 4:30 pm to find our room had not been made up. We sat in the lobby til 5:30 pm and received fresh towels, etc., at 6:00 pm. Management did send up some wine and fruit. The next day, after sightseeing, we returned to find that our desk chair and a settee were missing. The hotel clerk said that they were being repaired and would be returned shortly. The items were in good condition and we never saw them again. A day later, a small round wooden table appeared in our room. The breakfast room-restaurant was beautiful but the last three days, the juice was warm and the food, including the tea water, was cool. Staff in general, appeared to be very disinterested. Our last night, two narrow long vents in the ceiling blew cool air for a few hours. But then our room quickly returned to a stuffy 77 degrees. There was no ventilating control in the room even though the hotel information sheet mentions such a control. Our only consolation was that we were up at three am for a return flight home. At least the tea on the airplane was hot.

Room Tip: Avoid weekends.. Hotel layout was difficult to ascertain. Maybe there are quiet rooms. We were nev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank epankows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

Booked weeks in advance and had a printed confirmation. Arrived to the hotel at 10.30, were told to wait until 14.00 for check in, and were offered a drink at the bar. All well until then.

At 12.00 a man arrived and introduced himself as the manager, and asked us to sit down and talk, which is not something everybody appreciates as the best of manners. We reluctantly did so and the man proceeded to explain that because of a problem of theirs (actually said so, then quickly said, no, sorry, not a problem of theirs...), there was no room for us and they had booked us in another hotel, far away (taxi distance, not walking distance).

I explained we were not ready to do that, and wanted to check in and go on with our day. I added that thay had kept us there one and a half hour waiting, and could very well have told us before. Manager kept pressuring for us to accept to go away, saying there was no room available. We then left and said we'd be back at two and expected to check into our room.

Meantime we called a Russian friend who called the hotel and solved the problem in 5 minutes. We came back and checked in.

Later on the manager was in the lobby and didn't approach us to explain nor to apologise.

The hotel itself is sort of OK, clean, although decoration is just awful, fake Roman bronze statues and all. Location is very good.

Deluxe room had two small windows on top of the wall, felt like a cell. The shower was leaking. A complementary bottle of wine in the room was, I suppose, what made the room "deluxe"

Breakfast was good. So were cocktails at the bar.

Upon departure the car to the airport was complimentary, I imagine as some kind of compensation for the near catastrophe at the arrival. I mention it to be fair.

Had not that happened (the problem at the arrival), I would have said the hotel is sort of OK, as long as you manage to book it at a really cheap rate. Would never pay full rate for it.

Room Tip: Don't take rooms overlooking the winter garden where the lobby is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RomaMurena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Manchester Man
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Stayed here a week so got to know both the hotel and St Petersburg well, but first a few Airport arrival tips. St Petersburg has 2 terminals (1 & 2) which are on opposite sides of the airport, should you need to change terminals, you can get taxi for 500Rbl inc tip. However if you don't need to change terminals and just go directly to the hotel, a taxi to the hotel can be arranged at via hotel front desk just send email with your flight details and the driver will be waiting for you.

The room I had was on the 3rd floor, and was quiet, with a spacious bathroom, a big bed and free wifi everywhere. They have an excellent breakfast which can be either buffet style (includes champagne and caviar) or large freshly cooked a-la-carte depending on your level of hunger. The hotel location is good and central and being close to Nevsky Prospect, one of the main shopping areas of the city. 5 minutes (max) walk from the hotel will bring you to a closest Metro Station (Vladimirsky) and you can buy tickets either from the ticket booth or self serve machines. The Metro is easy to understand as there are only 5 lines covering the city and all station names are written in both Cyrillic and English script. If you wish to take an easy walk, 20min will bring you to the Hermitage, the Church on Spilt Blood & Kazan Cathedral.

If you wish to eat outside of the hotel, there are several local restaurants in the surrounding area with lots of options from fast food to excellent fine dining. The only one I would recommend to 'avoid' is the oriental place called Dve Palotchki (Two Sticks) on the corner of Vladimirsky and Nevsky where the service is rubbish and the food overpriced, all other restaurants were fine. However if you wish to eat in the hotel, the hotels own restaurants serve excellent food, overlarge portion sizes and good knowledgeable multi-lingual staff to help you if needed. In addition the hotel gives you a discount of 25% if your a resident, making it good value to eat in if you don't wish to explore the city at night.

There are also several other services available with the hotel, including a hairdresser and beauty complex for the ladies, and an excellent Concierge service where city tours and theater tickets can be arranged.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in the city, albeit on business or pleasure.

Room Tip: The quieter rooms are those on the upper 3rd and 4th floors and at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredbloggs110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

A small boutique hotel is centrally located, but still not on the main strip.
The room is very spacious. I have stayed in standard room, which was very large with couches, big bed and big and comfortable bathroom.
The room contained everything necessary such as mini bar, free wi-fi, bathroom accessories, free bottled water, etc..
The breakfast is good. Have stayed over Sunday and then they served champagne and caviar for the breakfast.
The staff is pleasant and helpful. The hotel has courtyard which provid more space and make it more homely. If you want to avoid the faceless hotel and enjoy at a boutique hotel, then this hotel is recommended warm. Good value for money!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svoj1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonquieres, France
Level Contributor
137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

The standard room we were accomodated in has no windows that you can open. So you are always living under A/C. The decoration is what we call "kitsh". The bathroom is clean and they provide all necessary soaps and shampoos. They also offer 2 half liter botlles of mineral water every day which is a very kind attention.
The breakfast buffet is plentiful and the quality is OK.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank escarrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Radisson Royal Hotel, St.Petersb...
#45 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Nevsky Forum Hotel
#14 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Trezzini Palace Hotel
Trezzini Palace Hotel
#70 of 331 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#5 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Corinthia Hotel St. Petersburg
#30 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Admiralteisky
Domina Prestige St.Petersburg
Domina Prestige St.Petersburg
#10 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Garden Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Garden Boutique Hotel

Property: Golden Garden Boutique Hotel
Address: Vladimirskiy Ave., 9, St. Petersburg 191025, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vladimir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 331 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Garden Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Golden Garden Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing