We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take a look around the food hall but don't eat at the 'cafe'.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yeliseev's Food Hall (Yeliseevskiy Gastronom)

Yeliseev's Food Hall (Yeliseevskiy Gastronom)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$220.00*
and up
Half-day Private Tour of Saint-Petersburg
Adelaide
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Take a look around the food hall but don't eat at the 'cafe'.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

The food hall is interesting so pop in and have a look around for free (although if you want to take any photos you have to pay a fee or make a purchase). It might be OK for the grocery stands but I wouldn't recommend eating in. The food was expensive and poor quality. An interesting arrangement with the tables arranged around the circular seat around a central palm, and an opportunity to meet fellow travellers on adjacent tables, but the food isn't worth it. I'd recommend eating elsewhere.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Red_Kangar00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    636
    169
    76
    24
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stunning building, amazing inside and a proper upmarket food hall like you used to get in upscale department stores in England. Seating area in the centre of the shop serving food and drinks and although not cheap the quality and ambience was worth paying the extra for. Really nice toilets too. Quirky also as you can only take photos inside if you either buy something or if you pay for a ticket to do so.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank tap6699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Macarons here are very delicious. Try the turkish delight too. There's everything for everyone regardless your budget.

Helpful?
Thank Azah R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stumbled onto this cafe after seeing the window display (motor driven puppets circa 1900). The interior is amazing - a giant palm tree with a couch and table, surrounded by delectables of every sort. The most popular items seemed to be coffee drinks and their macaroons, but we opted for their bakery section and purchased a cherry tart and an almond croissant. The tart was good, but the almond croissant was heavenly - better than most in Paris!!

If you are walking down Nevsky Prospekt, this makes a nice rest-stop. Highly recommend if you're in the area already.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jaynigma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
358 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“It's a big stretch to compare this with Harrods or F&M”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We love a good food hall. This one is in an attractive old building on Nevsky Prospect, but no big deal – really. I’m so glad we didn’t go out of our way to visit – but as we were passing by we dropped in.
It’s very small. There are a couple of good deli/cheese counters, some bread, pastries, chocolates , marzipans and a tank of shellfish – but not much else. Oh, and a trio playing in the gallery. You can sit and have a coffee, sandwich and cake. We had really hoped to make this a lunch venue the following day, but have decided to look elsewhere!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SydneyTeviot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yeliseev's Food Hall (Yeliseevskiy Gastronom) also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Yeliseev's Food Hall (Yeliseevskiy Gastronom)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing