We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a touch of luxury surrounded by historical giant seightseeings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Ranked #15 of 335 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“a touch of luxury surrounded by historical giant seightseeings”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Kempinski has special pearl in the heart of St Petersburg ... 2 min walking distance from Hermitage and enabling to explore the city on foot, Kempinski offer lots more - cozy beds, nice welcome with complimentary baskets, professional but friendly stuff. Minus - rooms are somehow too small for 5 stars hotel, plus was surprised that Kempinski doesnt offer the same service in all hotels (Kempinski Atlantic Hamburg has espresso machines in the room, which this one didnt have...). However, the service at breakfast as well as breakfast choice is far the best I have experienced in any hotel ever! So this was really spoling guests in a way, but it was worth it :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Predrag_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon_Zaglmann_GM, Генеральный директор at Kempinski Hotel Moika 22, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Predrad_11,
Thank you for such kind review of our hotel. We appreciate all the comments of our guest in order to maintain high standards of service.

I am glad that you enjoyed complimentary fruit arrangements, as we believe it adds a nice summer welcoming touch for our guests.

In regards to the size of certain rooms in our hotel, I would like to say that due to the fact that the hotel is situated in the very historical part of the city, just opposite the Hermitage, there were certain architectural restrictions that led to limitations in terms of layout of rooms and bathrooms, in some rooms of certain categories. We are looking into possibilities of solving this issue. We are also taking your comments regards the coffee machines into consideration.

Please let us know when you plan to travel to Saint-Petersburg in the future so that we could arrange a room that would suit your requirements the best possible way and to ensure that your stay is filled with only positive moments.

We are looking forward to welcoming you to the Kempinski Hotel Moika 22.

Sincerely,
Simon Zaglmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    728
    247
    64
    23
    19
See reviews for
159
389
63
266
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights as part of a river cruise could not fault this hotel the reception staff were friendly and efficient and spoke good English. I had emailed before to request a room near to a lift due to my poor mobility and they had all details to hand and a suitable room. On enquiring they were happy to lend me a wheelchair to take on the excursions around the city which was an unexpected but welcome help. Our room was spacious with usual furniture and a lovely obviously refurbished bathroom with the largest shower I have seen in a hotel . Good quality toiletries replenished daily and excellent quality toilet roll. Yes the rooftop restaurant was expensive but the food was good dessert to die for and cocktails on the terrace could not be equalled. Interestingly the price on the menu was in roubles the bill was in American dollars and the hotel account at the end was in euros which made for interesting deductions. We paid in roubles As stated before the hotel is in a good position for all of St Petersbergs sightseeing.Finally, breakfast was something else the choice was amazing with fruit, cereals, desserts, juices, breads, cakes, cold board and hot choices cooked specifically for you all to the accompaniment of a discrete piano player. Altogether the best start to a wonderful holiday experience just hope I can do it again someday.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat asquith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Expensive yes, so let's get that out of the way. But quality, extremely comfortable accommodation in a wonderful location and excellent customer service all round. Delicious dinner in the roof top brasserie, coffee served on the terrace with a cosy comfort blanket to enjoy the 360 degree panorama, and afternoon tea accompanied by classical violin - perfect retreat from the endlessly interesting sights. Two minute walk to the Hermitage and Winter Palace, and helpful concierge secured tickets to the opera at the Marinsky which we had not managed to book online. And the beds are divine! A perfect choice for an indulgent long weekend, and would highly recommend for a special treat. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superpuma_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This 5-star hotel is excellent located, nearly on the doorsteps of the Hermitage and right at the Moika River. The local Bellevue bar and restaurant has a superb location, with view over the roof tops. The food is very good, especially the Kamchatka crab meat. The superior room we had booked was somewhat small (maybe we got a standard one ?), bathroom was very good, lot of amenities. HIghly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Achivanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettendorf, IA
Level Contributor
161 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed here for three nights as part of a package with a Russian river cruise. Everything about the hotel is excellent with the glaring exception of the beds - extremely soft - if you like a bed with no support whatever, you will love these beds. A number of others on the cruise agreed with this assessment. The breakfast was included with our package, and it was spectacular. The only negative was that the special dishes which could be ordered off a menu (also included in the price) were not particularly tasty. The breads, cheeses, meats, pastries were first-rate.
Food and drink prices in the bars and restaurants were unbelievably expensive - avoid.
Rooms were spacious, excellent baths with wonderful towels. Recommended, but would hope management would consider improving the beds to make it a 5-star experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettendorfTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon_Zaglmann_GM, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Moika 22, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear BettendorfTraveler,

We appreciate your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay at the Kempinski Hotel Moika 22.

Regarding the beds, we are disappointed to learn that they were not to your satisfaction. We offer a complimentary Room Comfort menu to each of our guest where you may choose to order a variety of pillows, quilts and also bedding. I wish you could have let us know about the problem with the bed during your stay because our house keeping staff could make a bed per each of the guests’ request, whether it is to make it harder with extra support or to make it softer with feather bedding.

We hope you choose to stay at the Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 for your next trip to St. Petersburg and will let us pamper you with our Room Comfort Menu.

Sincerely,
Simon Zaglmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Rooms are comfortable and air conditioned. Hotel facilities are excellent and the staff could not be more helpful (and they speak very good English). The breakfast is amazing - you really are spoilt for choice. As to be expected in a 5* hotel in Russia anything you buy in the hotel is not cheap but there are plenty of local cafes and restaurants were you can eat and drink for less. The location is ideal to walk the sites with The Hermitage only a couple of minutes away.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon_Zaglmann_GM, Генеральный директор at Kempinski Hotel Moika 22, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Colin F,
We strive to maintain high standards of customer service at Kempinski Hotel Moika 22. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate such warm review.
We are looking forward to welcome you back at Kempinski Hotel Moika 22.
Sincerely,
Simon Zaglmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
410 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Great location in the center of the city. Excellent concierge and front desk staff. Drivers available for pickup/dropoff at train stations/airport or to go to/from the Mariinsky (for instance). Quite a spread for breakfast. Rooftop bar very nice for late night drinks. All quite pricey, but a very nice hotel nonetheless.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sazeracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon_Zaglmann_GM, Генеральный директор at Kempinski Hotel Moika 22, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Sazeracker,
We strive to maintain high standards of customer service at Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Sincerely,
Simon Zaglmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#6 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 335 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
The State Hermitage Museum Offic...
#4 of 335 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 335 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Admiralteisky
Domina St.Petersburg
Domina St.Petersburg
#10 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Moika 22? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Moika 22

Property: Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Address: Reki Moiki Emb., 22 | Palace Square, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy , Palace Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#10 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#13 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#25 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 is located in the historical heart of St Petersburg, on the Moika River and opposite the renowned Hermitage Museum and Palace Square. Furnished with antiques, the rooms are decorated in classical marine style decor with white and gold accents and come with a Free Wi-Fi, interactive flat-screen TV, air conditioner, , a minibar, ensuite bathrooms with heated floors, and fine bathroom amenities. A telephone line and 24 hour access to a business center provided. The 9th floor Bellevue Brasserie restaurant awes guests with its 360 degree views of St.Petersburg and offers a fine European cuisine with French accents. Guests can enjoy a drink at the cozy The Von Witte bar or experience one of the unique tea ceremonies at the Tea Room. A sumptuous continental breakfast buffet is served every morning at the Beau Rivage restaurant. The Relaxation Centre features a fully-equipped fitness room and a spa area with a sauna, a Turkish steam bath and a whirlpool. Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 is just two minutes' walk from the Nevsky Prospect, 10 minutes' walk from the Russian Museum and close to all major sights and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing