We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but not quite Top of 5 star yet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Ranked #15 of 351 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very good but not quite Top of 5 star yet”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This is my first visit to the imposing and impressive city of St. Petersburg where I also had the privilage to stay at the well known Kempinsky Hotel Moika 22. The ambience of tradtional european luxury confronts you the moment you enter the hotel lobby made even more beautiful with all the Christmas decorations. As a couple we spent 5 enjoyable nights there and these were the things we loved..
1) Location which was just a stone's throw away from the Hermitage.
2) Friendly service from staff.Here special mention has to be given to the
Doormen who were the most charming and friendly I have ever encounted
on all my travels abroad.
3) Overall hotel atmosphere luxurious and comfortable.
4) The fabulous breakfast buffet , the best in my opinion, which is included in
price of the room. The choices of things to eat are just incredible.

Before writing my review I read what others had already written. Here are the things which we did not find good and which need improvement. I sincerely hope that Management will take my comments in a constructive manner.
1) Limited choice of in-house restaurants . There is the Bellevue Brasserie on the 9th floor for fine dinning which is "over the top" expensive (we had 1 dinner there). With those prices the hotel cannot expect a good turn-over in dinning covers.There is the Bar on the ground floor which offers a small menu of selected items. We eat there twice and can recommend the "Russian Club sandwhich" which is excellent. There is The Wine Cellar but that was completely empty and void of activity when we visted one evening with the intention of having a meal there.
2) Lack of wardrobe space.We had Delux room 325 . The room itself is large but strangely, cupboard space was designed only for 1 person. It was a struggle to find space to accomodate 2. An extra free standing cupboard is urgently needed in this room . There is adequate room space for this addition
3) Lack of guest-room beverage amenities. All 5 star hotels I have stayed in offer this facility which is a welcome treat when one wakes up to be able to enjoy the first cup of coffee or tea..
However a very nice touch I found at Hotel Kempinski Moika 22 is the offer of the free flow of the very good Ruinart Champagne with your breakfast....what a wonderful way to jump start the cirulation in preparation for the day's activities.
A useful tip on restaurants .... We discovered a charming Italian restaurant within the vicinity, 7 minutes walk from the hotel offering good Italian cuisine and famous thin crusted Pizzas at very reasonable prices. So if you want a change of dinning experience go to Da Albertone tel:+7(812)915-55-01 . Just ask concierge to make your reservation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lotus_kun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    254
    69
    25
    19
See reviews for
167
394
64
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I've stayed in hotels all around the world and the staff here is some of the most attentive and best trained I've seen they cover all the the little details to make your stay comfortable...it all starts with the staff.
The hotel it's self probably has the best location of all for access to the Hermitage and other venues in this area of the city.The interior was just being decorated for the holidays and was stunning.Breakfest consisted of pretty much whatever you wanted and more ,I recommend the beautiful dining room for eating over the breakfest area.
In the evening/ afternoon there's a tea area and a wine cellar for some relaxing chat, a long with comfortable seating in the lounge
On the 9th floor is a beatiful dining area with 360 degree views over the city and some outside seating

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fenton L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Great location. on the expensive side, but definitely worth the money, great atmosphere, remarkable details (choose your own pillow), infinite breakfast. And the place to be is around the corner: Konushennaya square!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllFranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Remember this review is purely subjective. I have stayed at W, Astoria and Petro Palace, but I think Kempinski is topping all of them. The mentioned hotels are excellent choices. This hotel, as W and Astoria, is "crowded" with staff ready to serve you, clean for you, carry for you etc. This is the first hotel I have stayed in St. Petersburg where I felt the staff had a natural approach towards the guests and had a genuine desire of helping you out. Not in a mechanical way, if you know what I mean. (The eyes and the smile reveals you).
Within 5-10 minutes’ walk, you have the Hermitage, Isaac Cathedral, Church of spilled blood, Nevsky prospect and many good restaurants.
The prices in the restaurant, room service and mini bar is just outrageous. Yes, I know this is a top 5 star hotel, but so are Astoria and W also. I just comparing those hotels and the country I am coming from, where fine dining is quite expensive. Some items are 50% more expensive than at Astoria. It is of course a choice you do by yourselves, eating at restaurant or taking something from the minibar.
The breakfast. What can I say, if you do not find anything you like, then it is you that have a problem, not the hotel. Here is everything and much more :-)
Free WiFi throughout the hotel is nice. (This should be mandatory in every hotel)
My only complaint: Why isn’t it a electric kettle in the room, so I can have a cup of coffee or tea at morning or night. I am spending a lot of time on the hotel room and paying 4-500 RUB for a cup is not right.
Despite some negativity, Kempinski wins my heart.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Truls E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Petersburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stay at Kempinsky was simple pleasure. Some rooms has not the best view, but it gives some spirit of St. Petersburg. Special thanks for hotel management for fulfilling special requests and small compliments.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I stay at Kempinski on a regular basis - at least once a month and mostly for business. Location is very good - both for business and pleasure. It is right next to the Winter Palace, walking distance from Nevsky and a cluster of restaurants on Starokonyushennaya. Reception is friendly and above board benchmarked against most Russian hotels. The staff is well trained, helpful and very friendly. The standard rooms and bathrooms are rather small, but adequate. Linen and bed quality is very good, toiletries, bathrobes and slippers are also quite nice. Hotel provides welcome letter, fruit basket and a bottle of wine for regular guests, which is a nice touch. Ventilation and air conditioning is a bit noisy and it can get hot in the very few hot days of summer, since the equipment is not up do date. Overall, the management is doing a great job in maintaining an asset that needs a bit of capex, but probably does not get it from the owner. The best thing is breakfast - it is indeed excellent, with a great choice of freshly squeezed juices, great bakery products, good choice of cold cuts and a la carte items, service is fast and efficient. An extra touch is live piano, which is not so common elsewhere.
The Management is doing a great job in decorating hotel for festive events, such as Christmas and Easter. It also tries to be quite competitive with room rates, which are reasonable for the market.
The weakest areas are bar and restaurant - I can imagine that it is also the weakest revenue generator for the hotel. The management does not seem to understand that they completely went wrong with the pricing policy, or perhaps this policy has not changed since the early 90s. The bar is mostly empty - it has no atmosphere, buzz or energy and I am convinced that it is caused by inadequate pricing. $ 12-15 for a small beer, or $ 30 for a glass of table wine does not encourage the guests to come for before or after dinner drinks. Most guests can certainly afford to pay above average prices for an upscale bar, like the Connaught in London, or Four Seasons in Paris, but even those places do not have such ridiculous pricing policies and do have the buzz which Moika certainly lacks. We were going for drinks to W instead, which is much better choice. The restaurant seems to have same pricing policy. There are so many nice restaurants walking distance from the hotel, that the Management need to be aware that they have to compete with the outside world and try to retain the guests instead of losing business to the outside restaurants. Currently, going for lunch or dinner is not an attractive option.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oleg_Myshkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I recently spent 3 nights at this fabulous hotel and it was five star in every way. The wonderful welcome from the doorman when I first arrived set the scene. The receptionists were all so efficient and spoke excellent English. The rooms were beautifully furnished and immaculately clean. We eat in the roof top bar and the food and service could not be faulted. The real highlight was the breakfast spread which was the best I have anywhere.

My only critism was that my first room faced into the atrium and I felt there was no fresh air. I asked to be moved and this was organised swiftly and efficiently and I was moved to a room with two large windows and even a window in the bathroom.

There will be no question where I will stay next time I am in St Petersburg.

Room Tip: I find all Russian hotels almost unbearably hot, so ask for a room with opening windows to outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiltshireSpider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#7 of 351 in St. Petersburg
1,575 reviews
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 351 in St. Petersburg
776 reviews
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 351 in St. Petersburg
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The State Hermitage Museum Offic...
#5 of 351 in St. Petersburg
975 reviews
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 351 in St. Petersburg
1,531 reviews
Admiralteisky
W St. Petersburg
W St. Petersburg
#19 of 351 in St. Petersburg
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Moika 22? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Moika 22

Property: Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Address: Reki Moiki Emb., 22 | Palace Square, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy , Palace Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#10 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#13 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#25 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 is located in the historical heart of St Petersburg, on the Moika River and opposite the renowned Hermitage Museum and Palace Square. Furnished with antiques, the rooms are decorated in classical marine style decor with white and gold accents and come with a Free Wi-Fi, interactive flat-screen TV, air conditioner, , a minibar, ensuite bathrooms with heated floors, and fine bathroom amenities. A telephone line and 24 hour access to a business center provided. The 9th floor Bellevue Brasserie restaurant awes guests with its 360 degree views of St.Petersburg and offers a fine European cuisine with French accents. Guests can enjoy a drink at the cozy The Von Witte bar or experience one of the unique tea ceremonies at the Tea Room. A sumptuous continental breakfast buffet is served every morning at the Beau Rivage restaurant. The Relaxation Centre features a fully-equipped fitness room and a spa area with a sauna, a Turkish steam bath and a whirlpool. Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 is just two minutes' walk from the Nevsky Prospect, 10 minutes' walk from the Russian Museum and close to all major sights and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing