We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality European styled hotel in great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Ranked #14 of 336 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
281 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
“Quality European styled hotel in great location!”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I visited St Petersburg with a business associate for 4 nights in September 2013. Being the first visit to this city in Russia, I did extensive research in order to choose what I was hoping would be the best hotel in the city, not necessarily just the most expensive one!

I made a short list of 4 properties and the Kempinski was on that list. Whilst it did not end up being my final choice, for reasons which I list below, I wanted to visit it while I was in the city.

Now knowing the city a little better after exploring it extensively, the Kempinski hotel is extremely well located for art lovers being so close to the Winter Palace/Hermitage Museum. I explore cities on foot so location for me is important and enjoy walking several miles a day to get to understand the landscape and the main attractions. Location is therefore a major plus factor and Kempinski scores highly in this regard.

Doing a walk through the hotel it is clearly evident that we are dealing with an up-market, elegant, European style property.

What made me move away from this hotel as a final choice and ending up staying at the Grand Hotel L'Europe was essentially the many comments on TripAdvisor regarding the onsite restaurants containing a lack of atmosphere and being chronically overpriced!

The price that the Kempinski was selling for at the time of my booking was very similar to the price I paid at the Grand Hotel L'Europe and I am very grateful to the many writers of TripAdvisor whose candid and honest reporting helped me make the correct choice out of the 4 properties I looked at being Grand hotel L'Europe, Kempinski Hotel Moika 22, Corinthia Hotel and Radisson Royal Hotel.

I did a walk through of all the properties I did not stay at during my stay in St Petersburg and this bares testimony to the accuracy of people's thought, feelings and opinions which are conveyed through the Trip Advisor forum.

The Kempinski would have been my second choice out of the 4 hotels but I am delighted to report that I made the best choice by staying at the Grand Hotel L'Europe whose restaurants and particularly the Lobby Bar enjoy a far superior atmosphere than what I was presented at the Kempinski Hotel.

Obviously all the hotels have their own strengths and unique characteristics but making what I think will only be a one time visit to this city I wanted to be in the property that would serve our interests the best, and onsite restaurants of a high quality and standard was an important value, and naturally one is happy to pay the market related prices without being extorted.

I agree with several readers that the prices I saw in menus in the Kempinski Hotel were in some respects off the charts, and in the wrong direction!

Comparing the bars for example between the Kempinski and the Grand Hotel L'Europe I think the Grand Hotel legendary Lobby Bar is far superior in so many ways, yet the prices are less expensive that at the Kempinski.

Perhaps management should read some recent TripAdvisors and reconsider the pricing policies!

As with most of these good hotels there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance but sometimes one does just not want to venture out. In our case my business colleague has certain walking difficulties so onsite restaurants are always first choice and the weather was not particularly agreeable on 3 of the 4 nights, rainy and cold, so just being able to go downstairs to select restaurants made the hotel we selected first prize.

Overall the Kempinski looks like a great property and one in which I would most certainly have stayed but was delighted to have used TripAdvisor to its fullest advantage which helped me make, in my opinion and for our purposes, the correct choice!

Thank you to all the writers of TripAdvisor who continue to offer reviews to help all of us globetrotters such successful adventures!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank Harv and Les C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    729
    247
    64
    23
    19
See reviews for
159
389
63
266
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I have stayed in Kempinskis before and was really looking forward to our four nights in what seemed like a very nice hotel. I was sadly disappointed: the buidling and the decor are so-so - definitely not five-star, our room small, the staff indifferent and unattentive, to the extent that they almost made us miss our flight back: we asked the concierge to book us a taxi the night before, but they did not (no apologies) and by the time they found us another taxi in the morning we were running really late - we literally had to beg at the counter to be checked in. The ' luxury' spa is a joke: the relaxation area is the size of a small living room with two deckchairs and a bunch of workout equipment complete with a blaring television. Any extras are ridiculously overpriced: 40 euros for a Martell cognac and almonds from the minibar... We turned down off the heat on day one but still it was unpleaantly hot every night, and I could go on and on. I am frankly surprised Kempinski is not concerned with the damage this hotel does to the brand.
The one thing we really liked was breakfast. It comes at a price but was impeccable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rozalia2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon_Zaglmann_GM, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Moika 22, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Rozalia2014,

Thank you very much for such a constructive review.
I am sorry to hear about your disappointments during your stay. We will work through your comments improving the work of the hotel departments in order to enhance our service and overall performance. We value every comment that our guests leave on Tripadvisor, as our everyday goal is to keep the high Kempinksi brand standards. We received a lot of positive and appreciative comments from our guests about our dazzling décor during the festive season as well as the unique marine style décor of the rooms which reflect the spirit of the port city of St. Petersburg.

We hope to welcome you to our hotel once again during your next visit to St. Petersburg and to have a possibility to satisfy you with the traditional Kempinski hospitality.

Sincerely,
Simon Zaglmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We were checked in for 3 nights during the period leading up to New Years Eve. My expectations for this hotel were probably higher than usual, as I have had excellent experiences at other Kempinski hotels. For the positives - the concierge and check-in staff were exceptional and extremely helpful. The location is amazing and cannot be faulted. The room service; however, I felt was below Kempinski standard. Turn down service was at 11 pm every night - which seems a little late to me. My expectation would be 8pm or even 9 pm at the latest. The bins often remained un-emptied - even after the rooms had been cleaned for the day. The shampoo, conditioner, and moisturizer were never replaced - and we ran out of all three. Overall, it was a nice enough hotel - but fell short of the normal Kempinski standard.

Room Tip: We were near the elevator, and it was really loud almost all night. Would suggest further away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerM08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon_Zaglmann_GM, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Moika 22, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear MerM08,

We appreciate your comment and are pleased to hear that you liked our attentive and courteous staff at concierge and reception desks as well as the location of the Kempinski Hotel Moika 22.
I am disappointed to learn that you did not experience the right level of the room service that we traditionally provide for our guests. I have addressed your remarks to the head of our Housekeeping department to make needed actions and insure the high standards we strive for.
We hope that you will come back to Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 and have a chance to experience our improvements.

Sincerely,
Simon Zaglmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Mesnil le roi
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Excellent hotel, great level of service.
Very kind to help to organize private tour
Great breakfast,
Nice view from the restaurant but food is only good.
To see my pictures natureetphotographie.fr

Best

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natureetphotographie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My partner and I stayed here for four nights over New Year.

The location is wonderful - you can walk to Palace Square in two minutes - and the staff are all hugely friendly and helpful. The hotel was beautifully decorated for the holidays and we had great seasonal live music in the lobby on two occasions - carols when we arrived and a string ensemble with complimentary champagne on New Year's Eve.

Breakfast was included and was a very extensive buffet but only offered a hot choice on one morning. Dinner in the Bellevue Brasserie was spectacular - food good but the view and the atmosphere unbeatable.

The bar is very cosy but the service is very very slow. No big deal for us as we were in no rush but would be an issue for some people and it is expensive.

Would happily recommend this hotel and we will definitely come again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsyoulikeitBruton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon_Zaglmann_GM, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Moika 22, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear AsyoulikeitBruton,

We were very pleased to have you among our guests celebrating New Year at Kempinski Hotel Moika 22.

Thank you very much for your warm review. We are glad to hear that you were amazed by the festive décor of the hotel, live performances in the lobby and the view at Bellevue Brasserie restaurant. The hotel team tried to do the best creating a special atmosphere for the guests during the New Year night and holidays.
Traditionally, our hot menu at breakfast is served a la carte, but since the New Year festivities continued almost all night, we offered our guests an extended breakfast on January 1st which was immediately followed by brunch, served at the same place.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in Kempinski Hotel Moika 22.

Sincerely,
Simon Zaglmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napajedla, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
66 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

"AVERAGE" rating from me means that this is not bad hotel at all but this hotel completely miss the Kempinski standard of everything what this chain differes from the rest.
1. At check-in i was told that hotel is 100% full so no upgrade (GHA) - by the way i was speaking with doorman an it was 61% and on web page the bigger rooms were free (checked several times).
2. Drain stinked at bathroom.
3. Both Breakfasts were complete disaster. Dirty and unprepared tables, no butter at whole hotel(!!!), fresh juice produced by one trainee on home juicer caused queue (his supply was cca 20% of demand).
Waiting time for tea or porridge cca 40minutes.
This "show" was weird because althought breakfast looked like full of staff, their (from 90%) trainee status finally caused understaffed restaurant. Trainees have to take the Sapsan ride to Nikolskaya Moscow to learn how to do it.
The feeling "this can't be Kempinski" is in Moika 22 quite not rare :(
I have seen so many other disapointed guests during my stay from same reason. Breakfast like in 3* in Bulgary was not probably their vision too :)
To balance this faux pass, Bellevue restaurant on top floor is great and food amazing the same as their mulled vine.
Point is that some of Kempinski hotels are that brave so you need to visit them despite the fact you don't have to. Hansen, River Park, High Tatras...
Moika 22 needs better management, better staff and for sure better TVs ;)

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jiri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon_Zaglmann_GM, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Moika 22, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Jiri R,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at the Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 and providing us with such constructive details regarding your recent stay. It was a great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed our top floor Bellevue Brasserie restaurant and our seasonal homemade mulled wine and that almost everything was to your satisfaction.

Let me start by expressing my regret with the upgrade opportunity of your room. We do value all our guests and especially appreciate all the GHA members in our hotel. Due to the high occupany of the hotel on the new year's night we were glad to present you a room with a beautfiul view overlooking the Cathedral of the Resurrection of Christ. It is sad that we did not learn about your frustration of this room during your stay.

I am also disappointed to learn about your experience during our breakfast at the Beau Rivage restaurant. I can assure you that your comments from the review are definitely addressed to all necessary departments as this is not the standard of service that we strive for. Feedback like yours is instrumental in the process of our enhancements, so we highly appreciate your insight and candid review regarding the areas for improvement.

We hope that you choose the Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 once again and will give us another chance to impress you on your next visit to St Petersburg!
Sincerely
Simon Zaglmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This is my first visit to the imposing and impressive city of St. Petersburg where I also had the privilage to stay at the well known Kempinsky Hotel Moika 22. The ambience of tradtional european luxury confronts you the moment you enter the hotel lobby made even more beautiful with all the Christmas decorations. As a couple we spent 5 enjoyable nights there and these were the things we loved..
1) Location which was just a stone's throw away from the Hermitage.
2) Friendly service from staff.Here special mention has to be given to the
Doormen who were the most charming and friendly I have ever encounted
on all my travels abroad.
3) Overall hotel atmosphere luxurious and comfortable.
4) The fabulous breakfast buffet , the best in my opinion, which is included in
price of the room. The choices of things to eat are just incredible.

Before writing my review I read what others had already written. Here are the things which we did not find good and which need improvement. I sincerely hope that Management will take my comments in a constructive manner.
1) Limited choice of in-house restaurants . There is the Bellevue Brasserie on the 9th floor for fine dinning which is "over the top" expensive (we had 1 dinner there). With those prices the hotel cannot expect a good turn-over in dinning covers.There is the Bar on the ground floor which offers a small menu of selected items. We eat there twice and can recommend the "Russian Club sandwhich" which is excellent. There is The Wine Cellar but that was completely empty and void of activity when we visted one evening with the intention of having a meal there.
2) Lack of wardrobe space.We had Delux room 325 . The room itself is large but strangely, cupboard space was designed only for 1 person. It was a struggle to find space to accomodate 2. An extra free standing cupboard is urgently needed in this room . There is adequate room space for this addition
3) Lack of guest-room beverage amenities. All 5 star hotels I have stayed in offer this facility which is a welcome treat when one wakes up to be able to enjoy the first cup of coffee or tea..
However a very nice touch I found at Hotel Kempinski Moika 22 is the offer of the free flow of the very good Ruinart Champagne with your breakfast....what a wonderful way to jump start the cirulation in preparation for the day's activities.
A useful tip on restaurants .... We discovered a charming Italian restaurant within the vicinity, 7 minutes walk from the hotel offering good Italian cuisine and famous thin crusted Pizzas at very reasonable prices. So if you want a change of dinning experience go to Da Albertone tel:+7(812)915-55-01 . Just ask concierge to make your reservation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lotus_kun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#6 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 336 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
The State Hermitage Museum Offic...
#4 of 336 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 336 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
Admiralteisky
Domina St.Petersburg
Domina St.Petersburg
#10 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Moika 22? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Moika 22

Property: Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Address: Reki Moiki Emb., 22 | Palace Square, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy , Palace Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#10 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#12 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#25 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 is located in the historical heart of St Petersburg, on the Moika River and opposite the renowned Hermitage Museum and Palace Square. Furnished with antiques, the rooms are decorated in classical marine style decor with white and gold accents and come with a Free Wi-Fi, interactive flat-screen TV, air conditioner, , a minibar, ensuite bathrooms with heated floors, and fine bathroom amenities. A telephone line and 24 hour access to a business center provided. The 9th floor Bellevue Brasserie restaurant awes guests with its 360 degree views of St.Petersburg and offers a fine European cuisine with French accents. Guests can enjoy a drink at the cozy The Von Witte bar or experience one of the unique tea ceremonies at the Tea Room. A sumptuous continental breakfast buffet is served every morning at the Beau Rivage restaurant. The Relaxation Centre features a fully-equipped fitness room and a spa area with a sauna, a Turkish steam bath and a whirlpool. Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 is just two minutes' walk from the Nevsky Prospect, 10 minutes' walk from the Russian Museum and close to all major sights and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Moika 22 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing