We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel and stay---highly recommend”
Review of Alexander House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alexander House
Ranked #1 of 358 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2011

The Alexander House Hotel provided a great place to stay while we explored St. Petersburg. It is a lovely small hotel; our room was very clean, large, and uniquely furnished. It had a very modern and very large bathroom, which is not that common in European hotels! The public spaces, with fireplace, sofas, computer etc. were similarly enjoyable. The staff was young and keen, very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mooos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderHouseSPb, Director of Sales at Alexander House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2011

Dear Mooos,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are very glad that you could feel the atmosphere of our hotel and looking forward to see you soon agin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2011

We (Olga and Andrea) stayed in Alexander House 26-28.11.2010 to selebrate our wedding. It was a perfect choise of a place for this event! Rooms,all in different style- what a NICE idea! We've found a really OUR one, "Kopenhagen", cosy, sweet, so "homely"- so close to our vision of OUR own home of dream...

Yet the biggest treasure of Alexander Hotel is its personnel! Thank you ALL for such a cordial attitude! Thank you for wonderful wedding decore of the room! A great respect to chef cook of hotel's restaurant! Thanks to reseption and reservation department for their attentive attitude and high professionalism. Many thanks to Marina Pivovarova personally, who took care of our reservation and stay in Alexander House!
All- in style, all-with taste! Siete bravissimi! When we're back to Saint-Petersburg, we'll stay only by you!
Olga and Andrea!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nordhelga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We just returned home after 11 nights at the Alexander House Hotel and feel very fortunate to have found such a wonderful place to stay. Staff was extraordinarily friendly and helpful, both with advance arrangements and during our stay. Public areas were warm and well-appointed. Restaurant had a fire place and was a wonderful place for relaxing at the end of a long day. And the food was great. Our room was large, comfortable and very quiet. While not in the center of town, the hotel is within easy walking distance (even in the snow!) of the Mariinsky Theater, St. Isaac's, the Winter Palace, Nevsky Prospect, etc. And yes, walking in St. Petersburg is by far the best way to see and enjoy the city. We definitely will return.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank longjch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

It has been quite difficult for us to sleep in the last two nights of our staying. The smoke detector made, every 30 seconds, a very annoying noise that prevent us from sleeping.
We immediately complained during the first night but one of the staff members told us to switch off the air conditioning (which was already switched off so no benefit). The following morning we reported the problem again to the front desk reception and have been reassured that something would have been done during the day. Unfortunately the following night we had exactly the same experience preventing us from sleeping again.

Must say that although we loved the place our staying experience was rather disappointing because of the above issue.

Other minor points:
- sauna/russian bath was not working during our 3 days stay (which was during a week end)
- we did not have hot water for one night
- staff at front desk reception were not very aware or informed of what is possible to see/do in the city and how. Their English was a bit scarce
- I would rather prefer less alternatives for breakfast but more quality of the food
- Alexander House is far from the city center, would be nice to have a shuttle bus organised by the hotel
- taxi drivers called by the reception always charged us 50 rubles more than the tariff used by the hotel (not sure is the hotel fault)
- taps in the rooms are made of plastic
- little chocolates left in the room are of a very low quality

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderHouseSPb, Director of Sales at Alexander House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2011

Dear zpl666,

Thanks a lot for your staying with us in Alexander House Boutique Hotel.
We have recently made all our rooms non smoking areas, that is why the smoke detectors are adjusted more sensitive, it is quite probable, that the system has worked faulty during your stay. We have once again checked up all the system and at present all breakages are eliminated.

As for the Sauna (Russian Bath) which is an additional service in our hotel, it didn't work because of annual repair, cleaning and completions which we do every January, that is why we close it for some period. We really hope that if you come back to our hotel next time, you will use it with pleasure.

It is a pity that you didn't like our breakfasts though for us it is a very important thing. Breakfast is like a WELCOME in our hotel and we always try to pay most of our attention for that service. All visitors, who wrote the reviews on TripAdvisor before underlined good quality.

We are very glad that despite on all troubles, you liked Alexander House anyway. We would like to thank you for your attention and and your concern. Your review is extremely important for us, as it helps to hold up our service in a good quality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We had a two bedroom apartment in this splendid hotel--more like a lodge-- just blocks away from Mariinsky Theatre and, if you're game, a walk to central St. Petersburg. Around the corner is the blue St. Nicholas church. The staff became family-- very bright, helpful and cheerful in the middle of the freezing cold of Russia's magnificent city. Breakfasts were fabulous and we often ate at the restaurant at the end of a tiring day. One night we walked in late and one of the staff made us a fire. Can't say enough about this gem of a hotel. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderHouseSPb, Director of Sales at Alexander House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2011

Dear Linda32655, thanks a lot for your warm words. We are always glad to see you in our hotel. Th main idea of Alexander House Boutique Hotel is to make you stay like at home even if you far away from home, so we are very proud that we did it for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2010

We celebrated our wedding in Alexander House and stayed with our big new family.Want to thank all team of the hotel for these wonderful days, for help with wedding organization, for kind hearts and "sense of home". Our wedding was perfect. You made it so!
Special thanks to Ekaterina Iontef and Antonina Novikova for care and professionalism.
We're looking forward to come back again!

Yours Arina and Tyler.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arina22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderHouseSPb, Director of Sales at Alexander House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2010

Dear Arina and Tyler,
We also want to thank you for the choice of our hotel for celebrating your wedding. It was a great pleasure for us to organize the banquet and get acquainted with you and your families. We are always waiting for you and really hope that the anniversary of your wedding next year will be in our hotel also!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our week at the Alexander House. The entire hotel is really charming; each guest room is unique, and common areas, especially the garden atrium, are delightful. I was ill off and on during the week and was grateful for our clean, airy, spacious, comfortable room (Helsinki)---with heated bathroom floor! The staff was so helpful and efficient; they took wonderful care of us from arranging taxis to quickly changing a light bulb and bringing up my cups of tea. They were also gracious hosts for meals and the wedding reception held in the cozy restaurant (breakfast fare was exceptional by the way). We're back to Alexander House in a heartbeat if we're ever again in St. Petersburg.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjinspfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 358 in St. Petersburg
1,630 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#4 of 358 in St. Petersburg
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 358 in St. Petersburg
832 reviews
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#7 of 358 in St. Petersburg
1,638 reviews
Nevskiy
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
#24 of 358 in St. Petersburg
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander House

Address: Kryukova Kanala Emb., 27, St. Petersburg 190068, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Kolomna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £77 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander House 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Alexander House “- is a private Family Guest House for 20 rooms. It was built in 1826 and reconstructed nowadays. “Alexander House” is located on the Kryukov Canal Embankment, at the historical center of St. Petersburg at the “Kolomna” district. Within walking distance there are such architectural treasures as St. Nicholas, Trinity and St. Isaac’s Cathedrals. For art lovers – Mariinsky Theatre, new Concert Hall of the Mariinsky Theatre and Rimsky-Korsakov’s Conservatory are nearby. In five minutes drive is the city center and the main street of St Petersburg – Nevsky Prospect.Exclusively designed interiors and a special family atmosphere combined with all modern amenities are our great pride. And also one of the reasons so many guests return to “Alexander House” over and over again.Each room is unique in its own design and named after the most beautiful cities, such as Rome, Bangkok, Copenhagen, London, Marrakech, Mexico and Venice. All rooms are equipped with everything necessary for work and leisure, such as satellite TV and Internet Wi-Fi; all bathrooms are with personal toiletries, bathrobes and slippers.During the reconstruction of Alexander House only exclusively natural and eco-friendly materials like wood and brick were used and all the water is cleaned with a five-stage purification system.In winter guests can sit by the fireplace in the cozy lounge and in summer enjoy the charm of terrace immersed in green.Professional staff will make all the best for memorable and enjoyable stay at Alexander House! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alexander House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing