We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, food and accommodations"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alexander House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alexander House
Ranked #1 of 334 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service, food and accommodations"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Stayed with friends during the city's anniversary celebration. We were pleasantly surprised by the great work ethic of the staff. The food was fantastic (I recommend the stroganoff!). The staff was always curtious and helpful. They left champange and fruit for my birthday with a note! They spoke English very well and were patient with our lack of Russian. Marian was especially outstanding. If staying in st Petersburg, Alexander house has it all!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnyk_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    66
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
78
255
34
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Olsztyn, Poland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

Saint Petersburg is a big city and Alexander House Hotel is quite close to the centrum, so we could reach any place we need quick and easy by taxi, like for example Nevsky Prospekt or Vitebsky Train Station. We were picked up at the train station and transferred to our hotel, the hotel arranged a privet guide for us and the tickets for ballet to theatre. The hotel was nice and in fine condition. Very comfortable bed, big room, nice bathroom. ...and we had very nice wiev from the room over canal and two Orthodoc Churches. I also recommend the eating in the hotels kitchen. It was a great week in Saint Petersburg.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank M0nika1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuerich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

This is a boutique hotel i.e. You pay a little bit more in order to have nicer rooms and better service. If you are fine with this, you are going to like Alexander House.
By russian standards the hotel is in the center of the city. However it is not in the " center of the center", walking distance to central sightseeing points is half an hour, taxi recommended. The hotel is located in a side street and therefore quiet.
The building is rather old, but has been renovated nicely. Rooms are spacious and enjoy modern technology from air condition to flat TV (limited choice of western channels).
The staff speaks English and is very friendly and helpfull in every way. Prices for meals and drinks are fair especially when compared to what hotels in the center charge. But extras have to be paid in cash, credit card is only accepted for the room charge. Breakfast was included and was fine: you may order eggs and omlett and russian porridge, its all included.
They got a very nice small garden in the backyard, where you may relax in the evening.

Its not a business traveller hotel, but tourists who enjoy personal service and quietness will like it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmytri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderHouseSPb, Director of Sales at Alexander House, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
Dear Jimmytri,
Thank you for your kind words. We are very glad that you have chosen our hotel for rest. We are always waiting for you and hopу to see you very soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

This is indeed one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. It is unique by its atmosphere, quality, serice, style, home-like feeling - everything! It seems as if you have come to a big house of a friend of yours and live in one of guest rooms. No numbers or even names on the room doors make you feel at home - a very rare feeling at a hotel. No rooms are alike - all of them are decorated differently, which adds to the homely atmosphere, and are quite spacious. There is even a library there! We've been treated as special guests - every request of ours was helpfully attended. The food was great, both breakfast and lunch. The hotel has an inner yard and a open terrace - very cozy. Free Wi Fi. This is the only hotel from Small Luxury Hotels of the World in this city; we booked from this club's site, and the rate appeared a bit lower than that on the hotel's official site - maybe this would be helpful to anyone. Now I know where to stay in St Pete and what hotel recommed to friends! Would be happy to return.

Room Tip: Every room has a special unique design
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shagreen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderHouseSPb, Director of Sales at Alexander House, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
Dear Shagreen3
Thanks a lot for choosing Alexander House. We proud that could justify the high status of quality as the unique hotel in Russia of the international chain - Small Luxury Hotels of the World and glad that you have enjoyed your stay. You are always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

Beautiful rooms and cozy internal floor "lobbys".
The service was excellent, the staff tried to help all the time
Very nice breakfast, big and tasty, with a lot of of options.
Very quiet street but until 1AM there are also tourist boats in the canal below (although this is far better than the normal SPB traffic in other places).
The only problem - little far from the center if you are going to Nevsky prospekt or you require a metro (15 minutes walk to station) so a taxi is often required. Close to Mariinsky Theater.
In the overall it is a very good experience, certainly with car (a lot of parking place) or if you plan to use taxis and not get to the crowded public transport.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielleISR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderHouseSPb, Director of Sales at Alexander House, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
Dear DanielleISR
Thanks a lot for choosing Alexander House hotel. We are glad that you were among our guest during a summer period. Sometimes tourist boats passing through the Canal is really bit hampered for the rest of the guests, but what a wonderful view from the windows of our hotel is opening at the picturesque Kryukov Canal Embankment. Summer time is full of such kind of excursions in St. Petersburg and it is one of the features of our city.
We sincerely hope to see you soon in our hotel again and thank yo very much for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

Stayed here for six nights during St P's White Nights and enjoyed the Alexander because it was an informal (low key) and professionally run small hotel. The staff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble - whether it was late night pots of tea, a glass of wine, organising taxis or instructions on how to get to places. The Alexander is well located for the Mariinsky Theatre in the evening and is also well serviced by local buses. If you don't mind a bit of a walk then it's a great alternative to being along Nevsky Prospect - the absence of tour buses and throngs of tourists was a bonus. Rooms are a great size, there are common lounge areas that give you a break from your room and the hotel was immaculate! Loved having dinner in the garden. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderHouseSPb, Director of Sales at Alexander House, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Dear JB3000,
Thank you for such kind words. We are glad that you enjoy your stay with us and sincerely hope that you certainly return in near future. We will be always waiting for youг at Alexander House with pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

Spent a week here during our honeymoon and found the place provided an oasis of relaxation after the days sightseeing. Comfort with a capital C and nice friendly staff left us with a lasting impression and a desire to back again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morrisoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderHouseSPb, Director of Sales at Alexander House, responded to this review, 23 June 2011
Dear Morrisoc,
From all the staff we would like to congratulate you with the wedding once again. It is a great pleasure for us that you have chosen our hotel for the honeymoon. We wish your couple all the best in future and always waiting for you at Alexander House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 334 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
The State Hermitage Museum Offic...
#4 of 334 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#5 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 334 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Nevskiy
Akyan Saint Petersburg
Akyan Saint Petersburg
#12 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#6 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander House

Property: Alexander House
Address: Kryukova Kanala Emb., 27, St. Petersburg 190068, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Kolomna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander House 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Alexander House “- is a private Family Guest House for 20 rooms. It was built in 1826 and reconstructed nowadays. “Alexander House” is located on the Kryukov Canal Embankment, at the historical center of St. Petersburg at the “Kolomna” district. Within walking distance there are such architectural treasures as St. Nicholas, Trinity and St. Isaac’s Cathedrals. For art lovers – Mariinsky Theatre, new Concert Hall of the Mariinsky Theatre and Rimsky-Korsakov’s Conservatory are nearby. In five minutes drive is the city center and the main street of St Petersburg – Nevsky Prospect.Exclusively designed interiors and a special family atmosphere combined with all modern amenities are our great pride. And also one of the reasons so many guests return to “Alexander House” over and over again.Each room is unique in its own design and named after the most beautiful cities, such as Rome, Bangkok, Copenhagen, London, Marrakech, Mexico and Venice. All rooms are equipped with everything necessary for work and leisure, such as satellite TV and Internet Wi-Fi; all bathrooms are with personal toiletries, bathrobes and slippers.During the reconstruction of Alexander House only exclusively natural and eco-friendly materials like wood and brick were used and all the water is cleaned with a five-stage purification system.In winter guests can sit by the fireplace in the cozy lounge and in summer enjoy the charm of terrace immersed in green.Professional staff will make all the best for memorable and enjoyable stay at Alexander House! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexander House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing