We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels in the 47 countries I have lived and travelled to”
Review of Alexander House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alexander House
Ranked #1 of 364 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Many hotels aspire to make tourists feel at home and this one actually succeeded. Rooms are clean, spacious, comfortable, and with style. Home made sauerkraut and pita bread with coriander and tomatoes (like quesadilla) was yummy. Staff are friendly and competent. It was one of the best hotel experience I have had. My 8 year old boy loved it too.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderHouseSPb, Manager at Alexander House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Dear Christine C,

Thank you so kindly for your gracious comments regarding your recent stay at the Alexander House. We are truly happy that your son and you enjoyed the home atmosphere of our hotel and work of our staff. We will look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely yours, Ekaterina Soldatkina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

The hotel is in an excellent location for the Mariinsky theatre. The staff is all extremely friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. The fact that the hotel is not big is a plus as you get a very personal touch which makes you feel at home. Rooms are large and there is absolutely no noise so you can have a very restful night here. On the minus side, the place could do with some redecoration and the bathrooms are not enormous. The food in the restaurant is good though the menu is not overly exciting.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamesXXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderHouseSPb, Manager at Alexander House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Dear James XXI,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the atmosphere in our hotel and the work of our staff. We are ready to assure you that we make annual redecoration of our hotel during low season. We are always looking for ways to perfect our menu so we will take into account your note about it.
We really hope to see you again in Alexander House.
Sincerely yours,
Ekaterina Soldatkina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I chose the hotel after reading the reviews on trip advisor, and I'm very happy of my choice!
Our room was spacious and well furnished, and the whole building very nice and quite.
The only minus is the distance from the actual city center. It takes about 45 minutes to get to the Hermitage on foot. You'll better take a taxi (or a bike) to move around.
If you visit St. Petersburg during the summer (I hope so!), I warmly suggest to rent a bicycle if you stay at Alexander's. There are only a couple of rental shops in all the city: the hotel will not be able to help you, but it's quite easy to find them on the web.
I would recommend the hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jinetta71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Dear Jinetta71,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Alexander
House Boutique Hotel, St. Petersburg.
I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed it.
Our hotel is situated in the old center of St. Petersburg, in calm and
one of the most beautiful districts. There are a lot of attractions
close to Alexander House, but it takes 30 - 40 minutes to walk to the
Hermitage.
Your suggestion is very important for further improvements. Rent a
bicycle is very good idea and we tried to develope it some time ago,
but faced with some challenges. As you know St.Petersburg is megapolis
with active traffic, but good facilities for bicyclists such as
bicycle paths and parking spaces are not everywhere - this service is
just on the beggining of it developing.
We are always trying to help our guests to organize their leisure, but
need to prevent about all risks.
We hope that you will choose our hotel in your next visit to Saint-Petersburg!

With warm regards,
Antonina Novikova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

This great little hotel was found by my husband on trip advisor, and my friends and I were very pleased with it. Everything about it was delightful, our rooms, the many lounge areas, the restaurant, the food, and the staff who were so friendly, extremely knowledgeable, and very helpful. It was all very comfortable and very nice, and a delight to go back to after a long day exploring St. Petersburg.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AEW22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Dear Henrywilder,

Thanks a lot for your feedback according your resent stay at Alexander House. We are very glad that you and your friends had only positive emotions from our hotel.

We really hope to see you again in Alexander House.

Best regards Ekaterina Soldatkina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This hotel was booked for me by a friend, so I had no pre-conceived ideas about it. On arrival, we were warmly and courteously welcomed to this quaint hotel, full of little corners, cupboards, sitting rooms and art reproductions. After being shown the garden and invited to dine there, in the restauraunt, or indeed anywhere else of our choosing within the hotel at no extra charge, we were shown to our rooms. There were three of us and each had rooms named after major cities, decorated accordingly, and including generous space and sitting areas. On each floor were also large communal sitting rooms with televisions and books aplenty.

We dined in the hotel on three of the four nights of our stay, as the food was varied, reasonably priced and delicious. After long days sightseeing it was a relief to sit comfortably in the garden, wrapped in supplied blankets and enjoying attentive service and an excellent meal.

Breakfast was included and both hot and cold foods, including plentiful fresh fruit and self-serve espresso, were available. Special requests were met with charm and good grace.

If there is to be a criticism, it is that the bathrooms were dark and could do with modernisation, however this did not detract from our stay.

Overall this was one of the most delightful hotel stays I have had.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3Berrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Dear 3Berrys,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at Alexander House Boutique Hotel.
It is great to hear that you liked our atmosphere, food, service. It is very important for us. We will take a note about light in bathrooms and modernization and do our best for corrections.

We are looking forward to welcome you and your friends again in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This is a lovely hotel set on the banks of one of St Petersburg's famous canals. It has been sympathetically restored into a boutique hotel with a moderate number of rooms, cosy dining room, living room and library where all guests are welcome to relax. It's a little out of the way for the main sights of the city and slightly bizarrely located in amongst a host of construction/renovation projects (surely a sign that the area is rapidly gentrifying), but the Mariinsky Theatre and Holy Trinity Cathedrals are within easy striking distance.

The service sets it apart from the rest of the city (in part because the surly Russian service in most places takes some getting used to!) and the staff are genuinely helpful. I had issues with my visa the first time I tried to get to St Petersburg and they were very understanding in issuing a voucher and assisting on numerous occasions with a rebooking. The breakfast is hearty, generous and delicious.

The rooms themselves are large and comfortable with good-pressured, hot showers, toiletries and large towels. The beds are wonderfully comfortable and we slept soundly. In fact our room (Copenhagen) was more of a suite than a room, with dressing area, study area, sofa, and separate bathroom.

The decor, however, is not quite what you'd expect of one of the city's premier boutique hotels. Although impeccably clean and maintained, stepping into our room felt almost like stepping into the guest bedroom at your (albeit wealthy) aunt and uncle's house... who last decorated in the 90s. It just looks a bit dated. The relief wallpaper needs updating and you'd really expect a flat-screen TV in an expensive hotel these days. The wifi doesn't work in all of the rooms and not even always in common areas. Again, a hotel of this calibre should really have boosters so you can access the net from the comfort of your room.

I'm fussy, I know, but there are just a few small aspects holding Alexander House from receiving the full force of my praises. The service is spot on, the breakfast is excellent; sort the wifi and refresh the rooms and you have a world-class boutique property. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lauralovesit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderHouseSPb, General Manager at Alexander House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Dear Lauralovesit,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you liked the work of our staff. Thank you very much for your useful comments concerning our room decoration and wifi connection. You may be assured that we are working in this direction; moreover the renovation of some of our rooms is scheduled for this year.

With many thanks for your warm words

We are always glad to see you at our hotel!

Antonina Novikova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We had a short stay for our honeymoon and I couldn't have picked a better hotel for it. The accomodation was lovely, we stayed in the Paris room. Spacious, comfortable, lovely decor and with it's own balcony !!
The restuarant was excellent, great choice for breakfast far more choice than some 5* star hotels I have stayed in. The food, in the restuarant was all home cooked, delicious, good value and in my opinion an extremely high standard. The restuarant was comfortable, relaxing and homely. In fact, I felt like I was at home throughout our stay.
For me the best part of our stay was the staff, they were delightful, helpful and couldn't do enough for us. My Russian is not great, luckily my wife is Russian so it helped. All the staff I encountered did speak English very well.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone considering travelling to St Petersburg. Great value (discount for weekends if booked on line), great accomodation, great food but most of all the staff were fantastic. Thank you to all the staff at the Alexander.

Room Tip: I think this hotel is very unique, each room has it own character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonnieboy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderHouseSPb, Manager at Alexander House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Dear Jonnieboy22,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at Alexander House Boutique Hotel.
It is great to hear that you liked our staff and atmosphere. It is very important for us.
We are looking forward to welcome you and your wife again in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 364 in St. Petersburg
1,688 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#4 of 364 in St. Petersburg
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 364 in St. Petersburg
900 reviews
Admiralteisky
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 364 in St. Petersburg
1,705 reviews
Vladimir
Helvetia Deluxe Hotel
Helvetia Deluxe Hotel
#5 of 364 in St. Petersburg
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander House

Address: Kryukova Kanala Emb., 27, St. Petersburg 190068, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Kolomna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £67 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander House 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Alexander House “- is a private Family Guest House for 20 rooms. It was built in 1826 and reconstructed nowadays. “Alexander House” is located on the Kryukov Canal Embankment, at the historical center of St. Petersburg at the “Kolomna” district. Within walking distance there are such architectural treasures as St. Nicholas, Trinity and St. Isaac’s Cathedrals. For art lovers – Mariinsky Theatre, new Concert Hall of the Mariinsky Theatre and Rimsky-Korsakov’s Conservatory are nearby. In five minutes drive is the city center and the main street of St Petersburg – Nevsky Prospect.Exclusively designed interiors and a special family atmosphere combined with all modern amenities are our great pride. And also one of the reasons so many guests return to “Alexander House” over and over again.Each room is unique in its own design and named after the most beautiful cities, such as Rome, Bangkok, Copenhagen, London, Marrakech, Mexico and Venice. All rooms are equipped with everything necessary for work and leisure, such as satellite TV and Internet Wi-Fi; all bathrooms are with personal toiletries, bathrobes and slippers.During the reconstruction of Alexander House only exclusively natural and eco-friendly materials like wood and brick were used and all the water is cleaned with a five-stage purification system.In winter guests can sit by the fireplace in the cozy lounge and in summer enjoy the charm of terrace immersed in green.Professional staff will make all the best for memorable and enjoyable stay at Alexander House! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alexander House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing