We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A unique, charming and cosy boutique hotel with a fantastic staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alexander House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alexander House
Ranked #1 of 333 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Zutphen
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A unique, charming and cosy boutique hotel with a fantastic staff.”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We also experienced a wonderful and prompt service before we even arrived. Ms. Anna Platonova from the Service Department took care of our room reservation, the organization of our visa invitation, our airport transfers and 2 private and guided tours (all arranged by email). And it all worked out very, very well!

Alexander House is an elegant reconstructed building from 1826 and is located in a quiet street on the embankment of the Kryukova Canal, far away from the crowdy city center.

On arrival we were warmly welcomed, shown around and led to our room.
We had booked the Venice Room (standard room) for 5 nights.
This room is on the ground floor, streetfront (but not noisy at all), and looks out on the Kryukova Canal.
The room is very light, spacious, has lovely furniture, a very comfortable double bed, two windows that can be opened, a spacious bathroom with shower, wash-stand and toilet, and a hall where you can put your luggage/clothes/etc.
Room and bathroom were kept spotless, and twice a day we got clean towels.
Although we stayed here during the so called ‘White Nights’, we did not have any problem at all to fall asleep, because this room has shutters.
Only one minus: you cannot lock the shutters from the inside of the room.
But, as a reaction on the guest comment form on which we had mentioned this, we received an email when we were home and were told that they will investigate the possibility to lock the shutters from the inside of the room. What a great follow-up service!

The breakfast buffet is very good, with self service coffee and a good variety of fresh food, fruit and juices. Warm dishes (eggs, porridge) can also be ordered.
We had diner in their restaurant twice, and the food was very tastefull.
Drinks and food are very reasonable pricewise (it is a 5 star SLH hotel).

The staff is fantastic, and their service is lovely, polite and attentive. Nothing is too much trouble. They all speak good English, and they always have a smile for you.

Although the hotel is quite a bit out of the “real” city center with all its major sights, we think that walking is the best way to explore this beautiful city.
From the hotel to:
St. Nicholas Cathedral: approx. 10 minutes.
Mariinsky Theater: approx. 15 minutes.
Nevsky Prospekt and Winter Palace/Hermitage: approx. 40 to 50 minutes.

After all our days of walking, walking, walking and sightseeing, it felt very good and relaxing to come home to Alexander House.

We really enjoyed every moment of our stay in Alexander House, and if we return to St. Petersburg we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wisadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderHouseSPb, Manager at Alexander House, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear Wisadi,

Thank you very much for your comprehensive review about your stay at the Alexander House Boutique Hotel. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our hotel and the work of our staff especially Anna’s work.
Your comment according locking the shutters from the inside of the room is very valuable. Thank you for small but useful prompt.
We really hope to see you again in Alexander House soon.

Sincerely yours, Ekaterina Soldatkina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    66
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
77
253
34
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rancate
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Three nights in this handsome mansion was our very appreciated wedding gift. Alexander House is beatifully decorated with antique wooden furniture and soft soffused lights, which give it a confortable, romantic and cosy atmosphere. The staff is very helpful and kind. It is located not far from the centre, but off the tourist beaten track.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlemarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderHouseSPb, Manager at Alexander House, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear Littlemarc,

We are glad to receive from you such warm review of your recent stay at the Alexander House. Thank you very much for positive mark of our interior, staff and location. It is the best award for us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in Alexander House on the next anniversary of your wedding or any other time you are going to visit Saint-Petersburg!

Sincerely yours, Ekaterina Soldatkina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

Many hotels aspire to make tourists feel at home and this one actually succeeded. Rooms are clean, spacious, comfortable, and with style. Home made sauerkraut and pita bread with coriander and tomatoes (like quesadilla) was yummy. Staff are friendly and competent. It was one of the best hotel experience I have had. My 8 year old boy loved it too.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderHouseSPb, Manager at Alexander House, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear Christine C,

Thank you so kindly for your gracious comments regarding your recent stay at the Alexander House. We are truly happy that your son and you enjoyed the home atmosphere of our hotel and work of our staff. We will look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely yours, Ekaterina Soldatkina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The hotel is in an excellent location for the Mariinsky theatre. The staff is all extremely friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. The fact that the hotel is not big is a plus as you get a very personal touch which makes you feel at home. Rooms are large and there is absolutely no noise so you can have a very restful night here. On the minus side, the place could do with some redecoration and the bathrooms are not enormous. The food in the restaurant is good though the menu is not overly exciting.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesXXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderHouseSPb, Manager at Alexander House, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear James XXI,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the atmosphere in our hotel and the work of our staff. We are ready to assure you that we make annual redecoration of our hotel during low season. We are always looking for ways to perfect our menu so we will take into account your note about it.
We really hope to see you again in Alexander House.
Sincerely yours,
Ekaterina Soldatkina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I chose the hotel after reading the reviews on trip advisor, and I'm very happy of my choice!
Our room was spacious and well furnished, and the whole building very nice and quite.
The only minus is the distance from the actual city center. It takes about 45 minutes to get to the Hermitage on foot. You'll better take a taxi (or a bike) to move around.
If you visit St. Petersburg during the summer (I hope so!), I warmly suggest to rent a bicycle if you stay at Alexander's. There are only a couple of rental shops in all the city: the hotel will not be able to help you, but it's quite easy to find them on the web.
I would recommend the hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jinetta71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Alexander House, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Jinetta71,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Alexander
House Boutique Hotel, St. Petersburg.
I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed it.
Our hotel is situated in the old center of St. Petersburg, in calm and
one of the most beautiful districts. There are a lot of attractions
close to Alexander House, but it takes 30 - 40 minutes to walk to the
Hermitage.
Your suggestion is very important for further improvements. Rent a
bicycle is very good idea and we tried to develope it some time ago,
but faced with some challenges. As you know St.Petersburg is megapolis
with active traffic, but good facilities for bicyclists such as
bicycle paths and parking spaces are not everywhere - this service is
just on the beggining of it developing.
We are always trying to help our guests to organize their leisure, but
need to prevent about all risks.
We hope that you will choose our hotel in your next visit to Saint-Petersburg!

With warm regards,
Antonina Novikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

This great little hotel was found by my husband on trip advisor, and my friends and I were very pleased with it. Everything about it was delightful, our rooms, the many lounge areas, the restaurant, the food, and the staff who were so friendly, extremely knowledgeable, and very helpful. It was all very comfortable and very nice, and a delight to go back to after a long day exploring St. Petersburg.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AEW22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Alexander House, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear Henrywilder,

Thanks a lot for your feedback according your resent stay at Alexander House. We are very glad that you and your friends had only positive emotions from our hotel.

We really hope to see you again in Alexander House.

Best regards Ekaterina Soldatkina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This hotel was booked for me by a friend, so I had no pre-conceived ideas about it. On arrival, we were warmly and courteously welcomed to this quaint hotel, full of little corners, cupboards, sitting rooms and art reproductions. After being shown the garden and invited to dine there, in the restauraunt, or indeed anywhere else of our choosing within the hotel at no extra charge, we were shown to our rooms. There were three of us and each had rooms named after major cities, decorated accordingly, and including generous space and sitting areas. On each floor were also large communal sitting rooms with televisions and books aplenty.

We dined in the hotel on three of the four nights of our stay, as the food was varied, reasonably priced and delicious. After long days sightseeing it was a relief to sit comfortably in the garden, wrapped in supplied blankets and enjoying attentive service and an excellent meal.

Breakfast was included and both hot and cold foods, including plentiful fresh fruit and self-serve espresso, were available. Special requests were met with charm and good grace.

If there is to be a criticism, it is that the bathrooms were dark and could do with modernisation, however this did not detract from our stay.

Overall this was one of the most delightful hotel stays I have had.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3Berrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Alexander House, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear 3Berrys,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at Alexander House Boutique Hotel.
It is great to hear that you liked our atmosphere, food, service. It is very important for us. We will take a note about light in bathrooms and modernization and do our best for corrections.

We are looking forward to welcome you and your friends again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 333 in St. Petersburg
1,496 reviews
The State Hermitage Museum Offic...
#4 of 333 in St. Petersburg
942 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#5 of 333 in St. Petersburg
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 333 in St. Petersburg
699 reviews
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#6 of 333 in St. Petersburg
1,524 reviews
Nevskiy
Akyan Saint Petersburg
Akyan Saint Petersburg
#11 of 333 in St. Petersburg
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander House

Property: Alexander House
Address: Kryukova Kanala Emb., 27, St. Petersburg 190068, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Kolomna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander House 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Alexander House “- is a private Family Guest House for 20 rooms. It was built in 1826 and reconstructed nowadays. “Alexander House” is located on the Kryukov Canal Embankment, at the historical center of St. Petersburg at the “Kolomna” district. Within walking distance there are such architectural treasures as St. Nicholas, Trinity and St. Isaac’s Cathedrals. For art lovers – Mariinsky Theatre, new Concert Hall of the Mariinsky Theatre and Rimsky-Korsakov’s Conservatory are nearby. In five minutes drive is the city center and the main street of St Petersburg – Nevsky Prospect.Exclusively designed interiors and a special family atmosphere combined with all modern amenities are our great pride. And also one of the reasons so many guests return to “Alexander House” over and over again.Each room is unique in its own design and named after the most beautiful cities, such as Rome, Bangkok, Copenhagen, London, Marrakech, Mexico and Venice. All rooms are equipped with everything necessary for work and leisure, such as satellite TV and Internet Wi-Fi; all bathrooms are with personal toiletries, bathrobes and slippers.During the reconstruction of Alexander House only exclusively natural and eco-friendly materials like wood and brick were used and all the water is cleaned with a five-stage purification system.In winter guests can sit by the fireplace in the cozy lounge and in summer enjoy the charm of terrace immersed in green.Professional staff will make all the best for memorable and enjoyable stay at Alexander House! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexander House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing