We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, pleasant and friendly”
Review of Alexander House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alexander House
Ranked #1 of 336 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quiet, pleasant and friendly”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We stayed at the Alexander House Boutique hotel between the 22nd and the 27th of June 2012. It is a boutique hotel. We were granted a friendly and warm welcome. Every one speaks English. We had a large and quiet room at the second floor, with simple and confortable furniture. The bathroom (with a shower) was rather small. The breakfast buffet was great. There is a small garden in the middle of the hotel, were one can enjoy a cup of tea and/or a light snack at any time of the day The hotel is not located in the center of the old city, but next to Saint Nicholas of the Sailors, were we attended a beautifull mass at 6PM. In fact, we used the services of the "Dancing Bear", who picked us every day at the hotel with a chauffeur and a guide. So, visiting the various and numerous places was not at all tiresome. All in all a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderHouseSPb, Manager at Alexander House, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear Lucilius,

Thank you for your inclusive feedback according your stay at Alexander House Boutique Hotel. We appreciate you attention to the details described in the review, such as room and bathroom amenities, our location. It can be useful for the other travelers looking for a quiet and cozy hotel not far from the city center.
Special thanks for posting photos with the views of the hotel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Alexander House to repeat your pleasant experience.

Sincerely yours, Ekaterina Soldatkina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    66
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
80
262
34
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
120 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

We chose this hotel as it's a short walk from the Marinski theatre where we planned to spend several evenings. It's slightly off the beaten tourist track, which we liked, but means a 10 minute walk to the nearest metro station and more to the main sites and restaurants. The hotel is in a lovely old building, beautifully restored with tasteful furnishings and lots of art work. More like a home than a hotel. We had a very spacious, quiet room with a good sized sofa and comfortable bed. Service is excellent and extremely friendly and thoughtful. Breakfast is extensive and we also ate supper after the opera - the restaurant is very good. We found it impossible to find any fault with this hotel and recommend it highly.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LMSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderHouseSPb, Manager at Alexander House, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Dear LMSP,

Thank you for choosing Alexander House Boutique Hotel during your resent trip to Saint-Petersburg. We appreciate the time you spent to write your review.
Thank you for giving accurate and useful information about hotel’s location and the hotel itself. Alexander House is not a standart hotel but a family guest house. So we are proud that you got our idea and enjoyed your staying with us.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Alexander House Boutique Hotel soon.

Sincerely yours, Ekaterina Soldatkina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed at Mallorca room preparing for our wedding day. The staff was very friendly and helpful. As we needed to get up early we had a chance to order breakfast at 7am. The food was excellent, the choice is vast. The room is spacious and very well designed. Due to the fact that there are few rooms it was very quiet as if we were staying alone although it was almost full. The hotel has a wonderful garden inside which is a good for warm and cozy photos. The hotel has an outstanding design in common areas, it has a library and a fire-place hall Everything was so wonderful, that there is no doubt that hotels trip advisor award was fair

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Roman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderHouseSPb, Manager at Alexander House, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear Roman D,

We would like to thank you for conducting your Wedding Day at Alexander House Boutique Hotel. We are glad that you have got so good impression from staying with us and that we have managed to do this day unforgettable. Congratulation to both of you on behalf of all our staff!
We are looking forward to welcome you at Alexander House Boutique Hotel for celebration of your Wedding anniversary to keep in mind this memorable day!
Sincerely yours, Ekaterina Soldatkina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I loved this hotel, the staff were lovely and helpful, the room we stayed in (st petersburg room) was spacious and beautiful and the breakfast was really yummy.

While about 5-10 mins drive from Nevsky Prospekt, the hotel is a short distance away (maybe 10 mins walk) to the local subway station.

It was such a pleasure to stay here and will definitely come back when I travel to st petersburg again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderHouseSPb, Manager at Alexander House, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear Katie L,
Thank you for such warm words regarding your resent stay at Alexander House Boutique Hotel.
We are pleased to recognize that our staff did their best, that our room and our breakfast met your expectations.
Thank you for giving some facts about hotel’s location, we hope it should be useful for other travelers looking for a small and cozy hotel not far from the city center.
We are always happy to see you among your guest at Alexander House Boutique Hotel.
Sincerely yours, Ekaterina Soldatkina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Alexander House is a home for the individual traveller. A bit abroad from the city center - but not too far away from St. Petersburgs attractions - walking is possible (if you like that). Only about 20 rooms, personal atmosphere, spacious and individual rooms and very nice staff.

Nice bibliotheque, good restaurant and calm green patio garden. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackPalat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderHouseSPb, Manager at Alexander House, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear JackPalat,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for finding time to write your review.

We are glad to read your fair comment about our hotel’s location; it should be useful for traveler looking for a calm hotel not far from the city centre.

It is a pleasant to hear so warm words about our staff. We are proud of our team and train them to offer personal care and attention to the guests

Sincerely yours, Ekaterina Soldatkina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

St. Petersburg is an expensive tourist location with most visitors arriving by cruise ship to be herded around on tour buses. Not being a fan of this mode of transportation, we elected to fly from London and stay a little removed from the more expensive and crowded tourist areas, but not give up our creature comforts.

My wife and I recently stayed at the Alexander House (in the Bali Room) for 4 nights in late August; all rooms are named after a location and decorated according to that locale. The hotel was once a private residence with a central courtyard, which is now an outdoor restaurant on nice days. Our room was very spacious and quiet with a modern, updated bathroom. Depending on your preferences, the beds might be a bit firm and the pillows a bit soft, but we had no problem adapting. The breakfast was extensive and varied with your choice of hot dishes provided. The dinner menus was a blend of wholesome Russian and European dishes with only the wine being on the expensive side. Yes, there is free and stable WIFI.

The staff were terrific in terms of service and advice. All the young ladies and gentlemen spoke English and I am certain several other languages as well. Taxis ordered by the hotel staff were relatively inexpensive, but when you try to order a taxi on your own to return to the hotel be prepared to pay more (taxis are not metered). This was my fourth time to St. Petersburg but the first for my wife. Nevertheless, if you do not speak or read Russian, you are strongly advised to hire a guide or accept you will get lost several times. If you have not already done so, the hotel staff can help arrange guides as well as a Russian visa. We also had them send a driver to meet us at the airport (~$50).

Alexander House is not centrally located, but not so far away that you cannot walk to downtown. The hotel is located on one of the many canals and local tourist boats regularly cruise in front of the hotel on weekends. There are 2 interesting Russian Orthodox churches near the hotel with the blue-domed Trinity Cathedral being most evident, just southeast of the hotel. By the way, there is an interesting and extensive "open air" clothes market (just north of the church) where you can buy any type of clothing at fairly inexpensive prices, but be prepared to bargain!

It took us about 15 minutes to walk to Mariinsky Theatre (home of the Kirov ballet) and the pedestrian bridge of the four lions (magical at night). Admittedly we are fairly fast hikers; thus the hotel location was not a problem. If you have trouble walking a lot, then you will need to use taxis.

It takes about the same time to walk to the nearest subway station - Sadovaya (intersection of Sadovaya Ulitsa and Muskovskiy Prospekt). By the way, there is a fantastic Georgian restaurant at this intersection called Khochu Karcho which is a very unique dining experience and is highly recommended (even if you have previously had Georgian food).

Finally, yes everything you have heard about the beauty and splendour of the Hermitage, Peterhof (summer palace), and Catherine's Palace is true and then some. St. Petersburg ranks with London, Paris, Berlin, and Rome as one of the "must see" European cities - add it to your "bucket list"!

Room Tip: If you are solo, then the "Kyoto" room may be sufficient for your needs, but "Bali&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JohnS1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I liked this place. It was small, uniquely decorated with culturally authentic Russian mid century furnishings, and most certainly NOT American feeling. Our room was actually a crazy, but very large and warm collection of eastern, asian, Turkish, Russian rugs, textiles, woods, and art. The bathroom was modern enough to be fully functional, and roomy without feeling too homogenous....which is what we wanted.
The staff was quite friendly, if not compleatly trained for serviceing guests the way hotel staff are in other European and American hotels, but again, this is what we wanted.
Overall, it was a great location, quite cozy, and fun, not trendy or cookie cutter, and run by a very sweet and concientious young staff.

Room Tip: Ask for large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderHouseSPb, Manager at Alexander House, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear Lisa K,

We would like to thank you for choosing Alexander House Boutique Hotel and for submitting your review.

We were delighted to hear that room facilities and our staff generally met your expectations.
Alexander House is not a standard hotel, but a family guest house. We are really committed to staff training, but our standards may differ from the standardized approach to hospitality services. Anyway we will pay more attention to service trainings.

We thank you once again for your feedback and welcome you back to Alexander House during your next trip to the city of St. Petersburg.

Sincerely yours, Ekaterina Soldatkina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 336 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
The State Hermitage Museum Offic...
#4 of 336 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#5 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 336 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Nevskiy
Akyan St.Petersburg
Akyan St.Petersburg
#11 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#6 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander House

Property: Alexander House
Address: Kryukova Kanala Emb., 27, St. Petersburg 190068, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Kolomna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander House 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Alexander House “- is a private Family Guest House for 20 rooms. It was built in 1826 and reconstructed nowadays. “Alexander House” is located on the Kryukov Canal Embankment, at the historical center of St. Petersburg at the “Kolomna” district. Within walking distance there are such architectural treasures as St. Nicholas, Trinity and St. Isaac’s Cathedrals. For art lovers – Mariinsky Theatre, new Concert Hall of the Mariinsky Theatre and Rimsky-Korsakov’s Conservatory are nearby. In five minutes drive is the city center and the main street of St Petersburg – Nevsky Prospect.Exclusively designed interiors and a special family atmosphere combined with all modern amenities are our great pride. And also one of the reasons so many guests return to “Alexander House” over and over again.Each room is unique in its own design and named after the most beautiful cities, such as Rome, Bangkok, Copenhagen, London, Marrakech, Mexico and Venice. All rooms are equipped with everything necessary for work and leisure, such as satellite TV and Internet Wi-Fi; all bathrooms are with personal toiletries, bathrobes and slippers.During the reconstruction of Alexander House only exclusively natural and eco-friendly materials like wood and brick were used and all the water is cleaned with a five-stage purification system.In winter guests can sit by the fireplace in the cozy lounge and in summer enjoy the charm of terrace immersed in green.Professional staff will make all the best for memorable and enjoyable stay at Alexander House! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Alexander House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing