We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very special hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexander House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alexander House
Ranked #1 of 331 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very special hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

The Alexander House was a great choice for my birthday celebrations. Extremely comfortable room with an excellent bed. Marvelous view out onto a frozen canal from our room (called St. Petersburg). The food and service were also very good........the heating failed when it was -25c outside but that was a problem for the whole district, not just our hotel. Would stay there again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrightonBarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    66
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
76
249
35
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vejer
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2010

Spacious suites. Interesting public rooms. Clean and comfortable. Courteous, young staff.
No tea making facilities in rooms. No bath but a good shower.
Decent breakfasts. A bit of a treck to the main sights of St.P, (due to slushy snow and ice on roads, easier in summer no doubt).

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flashtrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
139 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2010

The good news:

Smart new stylish private hotel. Our room (Marrakech) was practically a suite, comfy bed, very warm, heated floor in the bathroom. The public areas are smart, comfortable and clean - the sitting room even has a log fire which the staff were happy to light.

So far, a five star gem hidden away in the centre-ish of St Petersburg.

The bad news:

Our room only had a shower - not for lack of space as the bathroom is big, but no bath!
The beds are provided with odd 1.5 width duvets and only one pillow each.
No kettle or cups provided.
A looud humming noise filled the room 24 hours a day
The windows only have thin blinds on them so the room is lit with street lighting all night.
The staff are willing but clueless - for example we couldnt pay for meals in the hotel with a mastercard!

Overall - if you can live with the shortcomings this is an excellent place to stay in St P.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coltbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2009

Thanks for all management and staff for such a wonderful place. We celebrated our first wedding night here and will never forget this evening…. When we come to the hotel, our room was decorated with candles and rose’s petals…. Everything was soooooo romantic - Champaign, fruits and subdued light.
You know, when we had come back from the noisy restaurant with lots of guests and attention for newlyweds, we wanted to be far from the crowd, just together and Alexander House gave us such atmosphere….

In the morning we ordered a delicious breakfast with home made pancakes and fried eggs, took a wonderful coffee and with lots of new feelings went to a new life of husband and wife.

Thanks a lot we certainly come back to celebrate anniversary….

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justmarried200989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

It's not hard to recommend this hotel. If you'd like to avoid the glitzy and posh in St. Petersburg, (not an easy task), you'd enjoy the Alexander House a lot. It's not a stage for those who want to flaunt their black Amex cards. It's more homely and cozy. It looks nice, although it's not exactly well designed and rooms are individually furnished, (I stayed in the Amsterdam room). According to local expertise, you could do a lot worse in Sankt Petersburg. In fact, you could do a lot worse in any place. Recommended.
See and read more here: http://www.guidebook.se/?p=577

:: h ::

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guidebook_dot_se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

Our stay in this hotel was a delightful experience. The room was large, comfortable and attractive, the bathroom large and modern and the staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Although in a quiet location the hotel is well situated, within walking distance to major attractions. For those not able (or willing) to walk there are buses two minutes away. We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting St Petersburg.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

We spent one night in this amazing hotel. They say it has only 19 rooms named by cities of the world. Our one was London:)
Hotel interior is very nice. There is a large lounge room with some kind of fireplace where you can sit on the sofa and read a book or surf the web with a laptop. So it feels like home.
Our room and bathroom were both spacey and carefully designed and decorated. And we had very romantic window view to the Krukov canal so we could sit on wide windowsill and look at the passing-by boats full of tourists:)
The staff is very welcome and nice.
Breakfast is tasty and they have all you need to start a good day in "Peter":)
Well, I must say every thing was fine. But location is a bit far from metro station. It's 20-25 min walk away. Fortunately Sankt-Peterbug is a city where walking is a pleasure:)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antilin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 331 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
The State Hermitage Museum Offic...
#4 of 331 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#5 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 331 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#7 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
Nevskiy
Akyan Saint Petersburg
Akyan Saint Petersburg
#12 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander House

Property: Alexander House
Address: Kryukova Kanala Emb., 27, St. Petersburg 190068, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Kolomna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander House 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Alexander House “- is a private Family Guest House for 20 rooms. It was built in 1826 and reconstructed nowadays. “Alexander House” is located on the Kryukov Canal Embankment, at the historical center of St. Petersburg at the “Kolomna” district. Within walking distance there are such architectural treasures as St. Nicholas, Trinity and St. Isaac’s Cathedrals. For art lovers – Mariinsky Theatre, new Concert Hall of the Mariinsky Theatre and Rimsky-Korsakov’s Conservatory are nearby. In five minutes drive is the city center and the main street of St Petersburg – Nevsky Prospect.Exclusively designed interiors and a special family atmosphere combined with all modern amenities are our great pride. And also one of the reasons so many guests return to “Alexander House” over and over again.Each room is unique in its own design and named after the most beautiful cities, such as Rome, Bangkok, Copenhagen, London, Marrakech, Mexico and Venice. All rooms are equipped with everything necessary for work and leisure, such as satellite TV and Internet Wi-Fi; all bathrooms are with personal toiletries, bathrobes and slippers.During the reconstruction of Alexander House only exclusively natural and eco-friendly materials like wood and brick were used and all the water is cleaned with a five-stage purification system.In winter guests can sit by the fireplace in the cozy lounge and in summer enjoy the charm of terrace immersed in green.Professional staff will make all the best for memorable and enjoyable stay at Alexander House! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Alexander House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing