We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Casa Leto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Leto
Ranked #103 of 335 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights with 2 friends - having read about the hotel in the Daily Telegraph & on Trip Advisor (of course). Great location - walking distance to The Hermitage, St Isaacs Cathedral etc . Probably the most surprising hotel entrance we have ever been through - could be much more of a feature!!
5 rooms - large, very comfortable, well appointed bathroom & very warm - plenty of comfy chairs for us all to collapse in after our daily hike round the sights of St P.. Breakfast was fine for us -eggs, porridge, yoghurt, coffee etc. Coffee or tea offered to us whenever we returned to the hotel.
Staff were excellent - especially Yuri - very helpful, attentive, great recommendations for restaurants.

Room Tip: All rooms look comfortable - the 1 room that opens into the lobby / eating area might be slightly no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiltshireWhisperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    32
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
73
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed here for two nights during March 2012 having selected it from the Trip Advisor reports; we were not disappointed. Located within ten minutes easy walk from Admiralteyskaya Metro station [not shown on all Metro maps] it is easy to find from the Google directions. Then look for the hotel's sign on the left hand side of the street [see hotel's photos album]. Like elsewhere in Russia, small hotels do not have their own site but share buildings. Once through the street security door you step back into when the building was constructed. Wide staircases with shallow risers and impressive plasterwork with paintings on the walls; currently all in need of renovation and better general lighting. This hotel is located on the first floor. There is no lift but I am sure the staff will meet you at the street door if necessary. The rooms all let off the hotel lobby. Ours was a large room with high ceiling and overlooked a quiet courtyard. The hotel's décor is to a good standard. The twin beds were comfortable as was the room settee. Heating ran continuously, being March. The bathroom was a reasonable size with a shower in the bath meaning we had to step into the bath to use the shower i.e. not a walk-in shower. If this is a problem, contact the hotel first. Our bathroom lighting was pin-spots, which gives a nice ambience, but it was better to shave under the bedroom mirror lighting. A full complement of towels/soaps/bathrobes/hair-dryer were provided. The refreshments come from Room Service [24/7]. Coffee/teas are complimentary and are nicely served. There is also a bar with comfortable chairs and settee.
Breakfast is the only meal served and is the usual North European menu. Croissants, yoghurt, cereals, coffee, tea, etc. However freshly cooked omelettes, scrambled eggs were offered too. Everything was served very nicely with a friendly attitude. All management staff had good working English and were eager to please. Cleaning was to a high standard, with Wi-fi and a laptop for guests in the bar. We would go back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oldcodgerLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Extremely good location, 5 mins walk from Hermitage and lots of other sites.
A superb hotel/B&B which is really quiet, and much more relaxing than larger, more expensive hotels in central location.
The service was really friendly, tea/coffee/juice/biscuits at any time of the day, cooked breakfast included.
Rooms are large and classical, high ceilings, old furniture.
Great place and would highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mpoyse1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, MD
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

For a relatively small amount of money by St. Petersburg standards we were picked up at the airport by the hotel's driver who took our bags and guided us up two flights of stairs to the hotel located in what appears to be a run down but centrally located Soviet era apartment building . The young woman who checked us in made us feel very much at home by showing us the breakfast room, explaining the services available at the hotel and then showing us to our room --in what amounts to a tiny hotel consisting of only five or six rooms. Our room was spacious and comfortable but in need of a good professional decorator. There was sufficient closet and dresser space for a five night stay for two people. The TV worked but was difficult to figure out and required help from the staff. The bathroom was just adequate. The shower in the tub worked fine. Breakfast (included in the room price) was served every morning in the breakfast room. It was just average The hotel also uses this room to serve snacks in the afternoon. What sets this little hotel apart is good, friendly service. We hired our own guide who turned out to be way below our expectations. As soon as we arrived back at our hotel, we asked the manager what we should do. Within 10 minutes time we had a new guide who was terrific and less expensive than our first guide. The hotel staff was also quite good at making restaurant recommendations and getting us reservations. This hotel isn't for everybody but could improve markedly by hiring a good decorator, putting some money into the bathroom fixtures and serving a tastier breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank K-traveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a fantastic weeks trip to St Petersburg which was capped everyday by coming back to this wonderful boutique B and B/ Hotel. The young ladies running the hotel simply cannot do enough to make your stay welcoming and enjoyable, from helpful touring hints, organizing trips and restaurants to serving you tea when you wanted it and preparing a fine hearty breakfast before setting of on your sightseeing tour of the day. The hotel is small but perfectly furnished and decorated, like other reviews the entrance is nothing special but actually is quite unique as it shares a block of apartments. However the owners of the hotel have been clever in that it has a shabby chic appearance that you become very used to. We have travelled a great deal and have to say that this is by far one of our most enjoyable hotel experiences where you feel very comfortable and are looked after with care and attention. Thank you Casa Leto.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sk1nny99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammamish, WA USA
Level Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Excellent location close to all the main downtown sites, good size rooms, comfortable beds, good breakfast included, resonable price and a very helpful staff. This combination is not easy to find in Russia, but Casa Leto suceeds. Strongly recommended.Don't be put off by the shabby entrance, once inside it's well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rcman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Very centrally located close to the Mariinsky, Nevsky Prospekt, Hermitage, St. Isaac's cathedral - the list goes on, this privately run small (5 rooms all en-suite) hotel is a delight. Run by an accomplished group of receptionists who will offer a cooked breakfast with freshly baked bread and home made jams,and refreshments seemingly 24/7 and with a smile. Everything within is calm, clean and peaceful.

The rooms on the road side could be too noisy for some, but those overlooking an inner courtyard and slightly bigger would be totally quiet.

If you plan to do sightseeing, take any of the hotel arranged, reasonably priced excusions with private guides (all superb) and private drivers if a car is needed.

Great restaurants all around both Russian and other nationalities. The staff can give recommendations without any whiff of back-handers - unusal in this country, regretfully!

A tip. If you want to buy authentic souvenirs at bargain prices visit St. Isaac's cathedral - less than 10 minutes walk away and worth the 250 roubles entry fee to view the most fantastic cathedral and hear its wondrful choir if you time it right!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank normalguy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Herzen House Hotel
Herzen House Hotel
#77 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Admiralteisky
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#11 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Nevskiy
Rachmaninov Art-Hotel
Rachmaninov Art-Hotel
#87 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel
Renaissance St. Petersburg Balti...
#28 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Admiralteisky
Petro Palace Hotel
Petro Palace Hotel
#27 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Nevskiy
Golden Triangle Hotel
Golden Triangle Hotel
#23 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Leto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Leto

Property: Casa Leto
Address: Bolshaya Morskaya St., 34, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 335 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Leto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located close to the Hermitage and St Isaac's Cathedral, Casa Leto is a small and luxurious family owned private hotel. Recommended by FT, Telegraph and Marie Claire, our concept of an 'unhotel' approach has proved very popular with discerning visitors looking for more atmoshere, style and personal attention. Our room rates include many extras as standard including free phone calls, refreshments and internet, making it outstanding value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Casa Leto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing