We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A wonderful place to stay, but light sleepers may need to beware” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Leto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Leto
Ranked #84 of 327 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay, but light sleepers may need to beware”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2009

I agree with other reviewers that the Casa Leto is a smart, friendly and comfortable hotel. The rooms are very spacious (we chose the Rinaldi Suite as we were travelling with our daughter and there is a large curtain which can divide the room in two, effectively giving two bedrooms). The beds are very comfortable with crisp cotton linen and feather pillows. Fluffy bathrobes, Molton Brown toiletries, heated bathroom floor & a decent hairdryer were all appreciated. The only negative to our bathroom was the shower - it was hot and powerful but there was not much room to move & the curtain got in the way.
The staff were friendly & helpful. They arranged transfers to and from the airport at a reasonable price and were also very happy to book local city taxis for us. They also bought opera and ballet tickets for us at no extra charge (we chose our seats from the plan on the theatre website first and then the hotel bought them). They printed off a local train t imetable to help us with our journey to Pushkin - we didn't ask them for this, but it was very useful.
Breakfast was good - porridge, cereals, yoghurts, eggs (we chose scrambled with bacon most mornings), toast, croissant, pain au chocolat, honey, james, tea, coffee & fruit juice. If the fruit juice had been freshly squeezed & chilled I would not have been able to fault the breakfast at all!
The little extras did make a difference. We took advantage of the free international calls (landlines only) and use of the internet on the laptop in the bar. Fresh coffee, tea, fruit juice, mineral water & pepsi, plus fruit (fresh & dried), nuts and chocolates were there for you to help yourself to whenever you wanted, at no cost. It would also be possible to use the microwave in the little kitchen area if you wished.
The location is perfect - about 5 mins from Nevsky Prospekt, 10 from the Hermitage and 15 from the Mariinsky Theatre.
I would have given the hotel five stars if it had not been for one problem. It is in a large apartment block and the floor above is lived in by other people. Whoever was living in the rooms above the Rinaldi Suite had a very strange style of life, which remained a complete mystery to us. Every night between about midnight and 7am there was regular thudding and banging on the ceiling directly above our head. Occasionally it was so heavy we thought the ceiling light was going to fall on our heads. I am a light sleeper but my husband was also disturbed when it got bad. On four occasions I went to the receptionist in the early hours of the morning to complain - each time they went upstairs and even called the police once. Sometimes the noise stopped after this, sometimes it didn't. The staff were extremely apologetic but, sadly, it did mean that I did not sleep at all well during our stay and by the end of the week I felt pretty rough. All I can do is suggest that you check the situation with the hotel before booking if you think this might be an issue for you.
However, because of everything else the hotel had to offer, I think I would choose to stay there again, perhaps in a different room next time.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank isleofwightseagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    32
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
24
73
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2008

Great hotel, exceptionally helpful in arranging visas, transport etc. The location of the hotel was great for all major tourist sights, we were there 4 nights and didn't have to get the metro or a taxi once. The only down side to the hotel was the roadworks outside. We received an email from the hotel saying there was work going on however we wouldn't be affected. I'm sorry to say we were. It was like Beirut outside we had to walk up and down planks to get to the doorway and when it was dark and you have had a couple of vodkas it is not ideal! Apart from this and once the the roadworks are finished would thoroughly recommend the hotel

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plainchoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2008

We stayed for their "white nights" package, and had nothing but a fabulous stay here. The staff was super helpful, breakfast was a great continental prepared for you, the rooms were out of this world, and you could not get a better location. Plus the guide they arranged was outstanding. Overall one of the highlights of our trip was this little gem of a hotel.

  • Liked — The personality of the place made you feel very welcome
  • Disliked — The stairs to get in was the only drawback
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Keen_Traveller071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2008

Attending a language course for two weeks I stayed at this cosy small private hotel. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, the room and bathroom spotless clean and I felt like coming home, when I returned from school.
I am planing to come back and for me there will be no other place!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank haiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2008

We are two sisters - we made reservations at Casa Leto, a private hotel. They in turn provided us with the invitations we needed to obtain our visas. We could not ask for a more perfect place to stay! There are only 5 guest rooms. We feel like we are staying in a very fine home. The rooms are spacious, the bathroom is marble with a heated floor. The ceilings are high, there are comfortable chairs, more mirrors than we need, and comfortable beds with firm mattresses. The room also has a binder that is quite comprehensive with information about the sights, restaurants, etc. A TV with about 300 channels (!), hairdryer and excellent toiletries are provided.

Breakfasts consists of eggs prepared as you like them, a selection of cereals, croissants and toast, orange juice, and coffee or tea. They also take special requests (I asked for fruit flavored yogurt and it was promptly provided).

We have the use of the kitchen and dining/stting area during the day and snacks of nuts and dried fruit are always out. There is a stocked bar and an honor system book to write in the amount of liquor you use. On one evening we picked up some pirogis at Stolle and brought them back to heat up in the microwave for supper - delicious!

The Hermitage and its environs plus excellent restaurants are within walking distance.

There is also a laptop in the dining/common area for guest use and that is what I'm typing on at the moment. Bathrobes and slippers are also provided. (We have been known to pad around in them from guestroom to kitchen to make some tea!)

On our first day in St. Petersburg, we walked from our hotel to the Hermitage and spent the day there on our own in the areas that interested us the most. We walked to two excellent restaurants for dinners on our own as well: the first night at Kilikia (26/40 Gorokhovaya UI), and the second night at 1913 (13/2 Voznesensky Prospect). On both nights we went early (5:00-6:00 p.m. and were the only patrons).

We love this hotel and its wonderful staff - they are helpful without being intrusive.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — There are about 4 dozen stairs up from the street which is why I would not recommend the hotel for persons with physical disabilities.
  • Stayed January 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThisIsMySong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2008

Stayed at Casa Leto for six nights in August. Room was a really good size, en suite looked newly refurbished, modern and clean. Unfortunately being Summer the room was warm and we needed the window open at night which was noisy as we overlooked the road - nothing ear plugs couldn't cure though. Reception (via email) had been very helpful before we arrived and continued to be in person whilst we were there. The hot breakfast may have been a little limited but there was plenty of toast, croissants, fruit, yoghurts and cereal. The breakfast staff were extremely nice and eager to please and our attempts with "please" and "thank you" in Russian went down well. The hotel location is great, seconds from the Cathedral and only minutes from the Hermitage. All in all, a thumbs up for the Casa Leto.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
188 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2007

We could not have asked for a more wonderful place to stay. The rooms were amazing - very large and luxurious. The staff were most welcoming. The breakfast was lovely and individually cooked to your choosing. A very small and intimate hotel (only five bedrooms). The location is great and very handy for all the central part of the city. One extra touch that was appreciated was the laptop computer that was kept powered up in the lounge for guests to use for emails and internet access. There were free snacks and drinks in the fridge available at all times and free international telephone calls from your bedroom. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Hisimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Rachmaninov Art-Hotel
Rachmaninov Art-Hotel
#87 of 327 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Admiralteisky
Herzen House Hotel
Herzen House Hotel
#81 of 327 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Admiralteisky
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#11 of 327 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arkadia Hotel
#50 of 327 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Admiralteisky
Deluxe Hotel
Deluxe Hotel
#115 of 327 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Nevskiy
Golden Triangle Hotel
Golden Triangle Hotel
#18 of 327 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Leto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Leto

Property: Casa Leto
Address: Bolshaya Morskaya St., 34, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 327 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Leto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located close to the Hermitage and St Isaac's Cathedral, Casa Leto is a small and luxurious family owned private hotel. Recommended by FT, Telegraph and Marie Claire, our concept of an 'unhotel' approach has proved very popular with discerning visitors looking for more atmoshere, style and personal attention. Our room rates include many extras as standard including free phone calls, refreshments and internet, making it outstanding value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Casa Leto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing