We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good in parts”
Review of Petro Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Petro Palace Hotel
Ranked #27 of 336 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good in parts”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The location is perfect, close to the Hermitage, the Isaac Cathedral, Nevsky Prospect, Yusupov Palace etc. The street, too, Malaya Morskaya, is interesting: Tchaikovsky lived and died here, and Gogol lived there. Excellent location for many good restaurants and bars. Staff are friendly and helpful and all speak perfect English.

The hotel is relatively well equipped, but could be better. We stayed there twice. The first time, the room was fine. The second, the room was so tiny it was claustrophobic (hence only three stars and not four).

We ate in the restaurant on the top floor - but only once. Tiny, and no surprise with hindsight that it was almost empty. The food was a mediocre attempt at Italian. The breakfast restaurant is fine, as is the breakfast itself. but there are actually too many staff on duty and hence the service is too prompt. On one occasion, I had just picked up a roll from my plate to put into my mouth and the plate was whisked away by an over-eager waiter.

The bar downstairs ok, but it has the main entrance right alongside, which means a blast of cold air every time someone comes in - which is often.

It's an old refurbished building, probably not a palace but a rich merchant's home, so it's built on typical St P style - a quadrangle. There are only two lifts - next to each other but so constructed that you can't watch both at the same time, so you have be alert. Silly mistake.

Room Tip: Don't get landed with what amounts to a corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    462
    98
    16
    4
See reviews for
271
383
57
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Hotel very nice located just a bloc away from the Hermitage museum and shopping area. Several bar and restaurant are located at walking distance from the hotel. Rooms are clean,quiet and offer all modern comfort.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Masuyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

We picked this hotel primarily for its location as we wanted to be in the heart of St Petersburg.

On checking in the hotel staff were efficient they spoke perfect English and were friendly for Russia.

Our room was big with a seating area, big tv with some English channels, the bathroom was nice and had toiletries too and we even had complimentary fruit in the room which was nice.

The concierge was helpful printing out a couple of things we needed. The whole stay was great there are restaurants close to the hotel and the metro station is literally a 3 minute walk away!

Great stay would recommend it and if I come back to St Petersburg I would return.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fayeeee84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Pretty good hotel with everything you are looking for unless it's luxury. Very convenient, rooms are very warm and comfortable and the staff are friendly. It is located in the heart of the City and so forms the perfect launch pad onto the vast array of sights St Petersburg has to offer.
Only downside, if I had to choose one, is the slightly dated decoration. Bathrooms are pretty old and in need of a refurb and some of the decor elsewhere seems pretty cheaply done. Bonus is the spa facility, with swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna; perfect after a day roaming the streets.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank fdb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

What an amazing place my husband and I recently found during our wondeful stay at the Petro Palace Hotel in Saint Petersburg.
Very lovely rooms with lots of space for all our shopping.
Such a great atmosphere from the easy check in which was a blessing after our arrival at 2 am through to the variety and tasty foods at breakfeast.
We stayed a week and had no issues with anything there and had a wondeful chat with most of the helpful staff who told us where to go for the best food and sights on tours.
The hotel was a good base to go see all the must do's such as The Winter Palace and other such awe inspiring sites.
Look forward to staying here on our next trip to Saint Petersburg.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Very satisfying experience - great location and professional service. Just what one needs for 4 days business trip. Tea, coffee and water are provided. Good spa facilities. Spa and pool are almost always empty after 9pm just before the closure, and I've found it ideal time for chilling out.The only slight disappointment was the food at their newly opened Italian restaurant at 7th floor. But I should admit I have very high standard as concerns Italian food! Overall I liked it and will definitely return there again!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We read all the reviews and were not disappointed. As advised we upgraded and got a lovely big room on the top floor. The room had everything except a view, even a bottle of water and a chocolate each every day.
Trattoria "Settimo Cielo" is situated on the top floor of the hotel and has a panoramic view of the city.. The food is good and value for money.
The lobby bar has free internet and you can sit using it without needing to buy a drink or food.
We bought souvenirs in the hotel shop as they were cheaper that the various shops or stalls.
The hotel is situated with easy walking distance to all the popular sights.
Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kallvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Golden Triangle Hotel
Golden Triangle Hotel
#22 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Admiralteisky
Domina St.Petersburg
Domina St.Petersburg
#10 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Nevskiy
Nevsky Hotel Grand
Nevsky Hotel Grand
#71 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#5 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Admiralteisky
Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel
Renaissance St. Petersburg Balti...
#29 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Nevskiy
M-Hotel
M-Hotel
#15 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petro Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petro Palace Hotel

Property: Petro Palace Hotel
Address: Malaya Morskaya St., 14, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#18 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#22 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#36 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Petro Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An indoor pool, well-equipped gym and air-conditioned rooms with flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi are offered at this recently renovated 4-star hotel, just a 5-minute walk from St. Petersburg's Palace Square and Nevsky Prospekt Avenue. Italian Restaurant Trattoria Settimo Cielo offers beautiful views of St. Isaac's Cathedral and the Hermitage. Petro Palace Hotel's classically styled rooms include a work desk and a minibar. The bright, modern bathrooms feature toiletries and a hairdryer. Wi-Fi internet access is available. Spa facilities at the Petro Palace include a hot tub, sauna and massage room, and some rooms offer free all-day access. Tours of St. Petersburg can be booked at the 24-hour reception. St. Isaac's Cathedral and the Alexander Garden are just 300 metres from the hotel. Parking spaces are available for an extra fee. The brand-new Admiralteyskaya Metro Station is 200 metres from the Petro Palace Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Petro Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Petro Palace
Petro Palace St Petersburg
Petro Palace Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing