We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and good value”
Review of Petro Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Petro Palace Hotel
Ranked #27 of 336 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Convenient and good value”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

A good base to explore St Petersburg on your own.. You can walk almost all places and, as taxis are few and have to be booked, we walked and walked. Metro close by but really only useful for an expedition further afield. Plenty of restaurants nearby of a great variety.
Hotel has good size bedrooms with good shower and good wifi. Breakfast fine and use of small pool and gym with free computer and printing in business centre. Concierge was very helpful. Not particularly atmospheric but all you could want.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller50london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    462
    98
    16
    4
See reviews for
271
383
57
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed at the Petro Palace for 6 nights in August 2014 and it turned out to be an excellent choice. The rooms were clean and comfortable (stayed in the 7th floor). The hotel is centrally located and an easy walk to St. Isaac's, the Winter Palace, Nevsky Prospekt, Kazan Cathedral, and the hydrofoils to Peterhof. The staff were helpful and spoke English. The gift shop in the hotel had a very good selection of souvenirs and were very reasonably priced. Our room had excellent fast wifi connection. The breakfast was very good, with a wide range of choices and it wasn't at all busy when we went to eat between 7-7:30am. All in all, very good value for the price, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quill2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

A wonderful and beautifully decorated city hotel within footsteps to the great St Issac's cathedral and the famous Astoria hotel. Has all the amenities although somewhat small like the swimming pool but sufficient and adequate for all your needs. Extremely clean and very comfortable bedding. The staff and their efficiency is second to none and I would say I've stayed at worse 5* hotels. On calling to reception to request few things we were sullied by them and someone knocked on the door second after putting the phone down which was amazing.

Only downside is that the wifi doesn't work in bedrooms unless you purchase it for an hour and only works in the hotel lobby or business centre and the restaurants which is highly unusual in this day considering the main high street and all cafés and bars in the city provide it. Being a 4* hotel this should be compulsory.

Our children loved the fitness centre although said the pool could have been a bit warmer. Great breakfasts and very efficiently run management.

Definetly will come back if we visit St Petrsburg again. Highly recommend it to anyone from families to couples.

Room Tip: Nearer the ground floor if you want to use wifi often as the lifts are slow as there are only two fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kanchana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dortmund, Germany
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The hotel is located in the center of St. Petersburg with Isaac's Cathedral and the State Hermitage Museum (Winter Palace) in close walking distance. The room was nice and AC is provided (pretty loud!), but cleaning could be improved (it was not really dirty though). Metro station is just 3 minutes to walk.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winkeltreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The best thing is its location, it is close to everything. The rooms are good, the breakfast is OK. Staff is polite, but they clearly are not very interested in you and are only earning their living. They do not have the service attitude that makes an hotel a truly great one. Anyway, I would probably come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atescov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena N, Front Office Manager at Petro Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear atescov,
Thank you very much for finding the time to leave your feedback.
Please accept our sincere apologies if our staff treated you not that attentive as you expected. I can assure you that we value every single client of our hotel and we will make sure that this situation is not going to happen again.
I hope you will give us another chance and try to stay with us next time you're in St.Petersburg.
We will be happy to welcome you back!

Kind regards,
Elena Nikolaeva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varna, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The main advantage of this hotel is its location, in the heart of everything. The lobby is disappointing, but the room we booked was huge on the 4th floor. I was pleasantly surprised to receive Champagne, cake and a fruit platter for my birthday from the staff. We booked a taxi at the consierge to the Mariinsky theater, which is 5min drive, and it was very expensive.

Room Tip: Our delux room on the 4th floor was huge - 40 m2. with very high ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank manrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The Petro Palace is centrally located in the heart of St. Petersburg. All the attractions are easily within walking distance, and the pier for the Peterhof hydrofoils and river cruises is 10 minutes walk away. The rooms are very comfortable, although the dark brown décor makes them a little dark. The staff are friendly and helpful. There is a nice lounge bar which sells tasty sandwiches, which are reasonably priced. The breakfast is good, with a decent selection. The little gift shop is also very reasonably priced. All in all I would be quite happy to stay here again. The hotel is very clean and tidy and in the best location compared to other hotels of the same class and price.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quitter as the front is on a busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Golden Triangle Hotel
Golden Triangle Hotel
#22 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Admiralteisky
Domina St.Petersburg
Domina St.Petersburg
#10 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Nevskiy
Nevsky Hotel Grand
Nevsky Hotel Grand
#71 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#5 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Admiralteisky
Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel
Renaissance St. Petersburg Balti...
#29 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Nevskiy
M-Hotel
M-Hotel
#15 of 336 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petro Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petro Palace Hotel

Property: Petro Palace Hotel
Address: Malaya Morskaya St., 14, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#18 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#22 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#36 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Petro Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An indoor pool, well-equipped gym and air-conditioned rooms with flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi are offered at this recently renovated 4-star hotel, just a 5-minute walk from St. Petersburg's Palace Square and Nevsky Prospekt Avenue. Italian Restaurant Trattoria Settimo Cielo offers beautiful views of St. Isaac's Cathedral and the Hermitage. Petro Palace Hotel's classically styled rooms include a work desk and a minibar. The bright, modern bathrooms feature toiletries and a hairdryer. Wi-Fi internet access is available. Spa facilities at the Petro Palace include a hot tub, sauna and massage room, and some rooms offer free all-day access. Tours of St. Petersburg can be booked at the 24-hour reception. St. Isaac's Cathedral and the Alexander Garden are just 300 metres from the hotel. Parking spaces are available for an extra fee. The brand-new Admiralteyskaya Metro Station is 200 metres from the Petro Palace Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Petro Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Petro Palace
Petro Palace St Petersburg
Petro Palace Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing