We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for your money”
Review of Petro Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Petro Palace Hotel
Ranked #30 of 359 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I and my daughter were at the Petro palace from Aug 9th to the 16th inst and were very happy at our choice. The hotel is centrally located, near all the interest points in St. Petersburg. The staff speak English and help you in everything they can. There is always someone multilingual at the concierge desk, willing to help you plan your stay. If you need, a car is at your disposal, too. Prices are reasonable for the service, even cheap when compared to the same service in other cities in Europe. The room is very clean, with good toiletries and amenities like slippers, bathrobes, a tray with a kettle, coffee and tea. The breakfast is very good, offering more variety than in several 5 star hotels I have stayed. There is a business center with computers, printer, fax, etc at your disposal 24 hours a day. Wifi is not so good in the rooms. It does not connect every time you want. The souvenir shop, as other reviewers have mentioned, is well stocked, offers a small but good selection of Russian souvenirs, at very good prices. Irina and olga, the English speaking guides assigned to us for two days each were very knowledgeable and patient, able to answer all of our many questions. All in all, we do recomend the hotel and the services it has to offer.

Room Tip: I was at Room 628. Maybe a room in a lower floor would have better wifi. There is always a chamberma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sarment0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

354 - 360 of 1,201 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

A good base to explore St Petersburg on your own.. You can walk almost all places and, as taxis are few and have to be booked, we walked and walked. Metro close by but really only useful for an expedition further afield. Plenty of restaurants nearby of a great variety.
Hotel has good size bedrooms with good shower and good wifi. Breakfast fine and use of small pool and gym with free computer and printing in business centre. Concierge was very helpful. Not particularly atmospheric but all you could want.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller50london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed at the Petro Palace for 6 nights in August 2014 and it turned out to be an excellent choice. The rooms were clean and comfortable (stayed in the 7th floor). The hotel is centrally located and an easy walk to St. Isaac's, the Winter Palace, Nevsky Prospekt, Kazan Cathedral, and the hydrofoils to Peterhof. The staff were helpful and spoke English. The gift shop in the hotel had a very good selection of souvenirs and were very reasonably priced. Our room had excellent fast wifi connection. The breakfast was very good, with a wide range of choices and it wasn't at all busy when we went to eat between 7-7:30am. All in all, very good value for the price, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quill2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

A wonderful and beautifully decorated city hotel within footsteps to the great St Issac's cathedral and the famous Astoria hotel. Has all the amenities although somewhat small like the swimming pool but sufficient and adequate for all your needs. Extremely clean and very comfortable bedding. The staff and their efficiency is second to none and I would say I've stayed at worse 5* hotels. On calling to reception to request few things we were sullied by them and someone knocked on the door second after putting the phone down which was amazing.

Only downside is that the wifi doesn't work in bedrooms unless you purchase it for an hour and only works in the hotel lobby or business centre and the restaurants which is highly unusual in this day considering the main high street and all cafés and bars in the city provide it. Being a 4* hotel this should be compulsory.

Our children loved the fitness centre although said the pool could have been a bit warmer. Great breakfasts and very efficiently run management.

Definetly will come back if we visit St Petrsburg again. Highly recommend it to anyone from families to couples.

Room Tip: Nearer the ground floor if you want to use wifi often as the lifts are slow as there are only two fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kanchana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The hotel is located in the center of St. Petersburg with Isaac's Cathedral and the State Hermitage Museum (Winter Palace) in close walking distance. The room was nice and AC is provided (pretty loud!), but cleaning could be improved (it was not really dirty though). Metro station is just 3 minutes to walk.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winkeltreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The best thing is its location, it is close to everything. The rooms are good, the breakfast is OK. Staff is polite, but they clearly are not very interested in you and are only earning their living. They do not have the service attitude that makes an hotel a truly great one. Anyway, I would probably come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atescov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena N, Front Office Manager at Petro Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear atescov,
Thank you very much for finding the time to leave your feedback.
Please accept our sincere apologies if our staff treated you not that attentive as you expected. I can assure you that we value every single client of our hotel and we will make sure that this situation is not going to happen again.
I hope you will give us another chance and try to stay with us next time you're in St.Petersburg.
We will be happy to welcome you back!

Kind regards,
Elena Nikolaeva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The main advantage of this hotel is its location, in the heart of everything. The lobby is disappointing, but the room we booked was huge on the 4th floor. I was pleasantly surprised to receive Champagne, cake and a fruit platter for my birthday from the staff. We booked a taxi at the consierge to the Mariinsky theater, which is 5min drive, and it was very expensive.

Room Tip: Our delux room on the 4th floor was huge - 40 m2. with very high ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank manrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 359 in St. Petersburg
1,645 reviews
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 359 in St. Petersburg
859 reviews
Nevskiy
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
#21 of 359 in St. Petersburg
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#4 of 359 in St. Petersburg
799 reviews
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#18 of 359 in St. Petersburg
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petro Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petro Palace Hotel

Address: Malaya Morskaya St., 14, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#18 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#22 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#36 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £48 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Petro Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An indoor pool, well-equipped gym and air-conditioned rooms with flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi are offered at this recently renovated 4-star hotel, just a 5-minute walk from St. Petersburg's Palace Square and Nevsky Prospekt Avenue. Italian Restaurant Trattoria Settimo Cielo offers beautiful views of St. Isaac's Cathedral and the Hermitage. Petro Palace Hotel's classically styled rooms include a work desk and a minibar. The bright, modern bathrooms feature toiletries and a hairdryer. Wi-Fi internet access is available. Spa facilities at the Petro Palace include a hot tub, sauna and massage room, and some rooms offer free all-day access. Tours of St. Petersburg can be booked at the 24-hour reception. St. Isaac's Cathedral and the Alexander Garden are just 300 metres from the hotel. Parking spaces are available for an extra fee. The brand-new Admiralteyskaya Metro Station is 200 metres from the Petro Palace Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Petro Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Petro Palace
Petro Palace St Petersburg
Petro Palace Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing