We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel in St. Petersburg”
Review of Hotel Vera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Vera
Ranked #35 of 344 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Charming Hotel in St. Petersburg”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Vera is a very charming hotel in downtown St. Petersburg. The rooms are beatifully decorrated, clean and well maintained. Staff is knowledgable and responsive. And the food in their restaurant is wonderful as well. The looks, the service, the ambiance - all very befitting for St. Peteresburg - highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    121
    35
    10
    5
See reviews for
75
93
86
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fontana, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This was my third stay at Hotel Vera in the last couple of years, and I look forward to returning next year. I highly recommend this excellent hotel! Vera and her entire staff is very friendly and helpful insuring your stay is pleasant. Only steps away from buses and trolleys or a 10-15 minute walk to the metro or Nevsky Prospekt. The rooms are very clean, comfortable, and well furnished and decorated. There are drinking water dispensers throughout the hallways, and the breakfast provided has a good selection to get you started on your adventure. Hotel Vera is my favorite hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RolandG9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012 via mobile

The hotel is basic at best. the location is quite a way from the hermitage and surrounding sites - 20 minutes each way plus a long time on your feet in between. after a few days this wasn't ideal.
rooms very small and bed was not great. tv's look like they are from the 60's. feels tired as a hotel. wifi was very weak but useable.
On the plus side the reception staff were excellent with very good English. buffet breakfasts were also good and plentiful.
It was ok at best but wouldn't stay there again

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morts112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hotel Vera, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Thank you for your comments and we appreciate your feedback. In a city of 5 million people, not all hotels are located close to the Hermitage, and the ones which are close tend to be noticeably more expensive if comparably equipped. Hotel Vera is located less than 1 km from Nevsky Prospect (as verified by Google maps), but it can indeed be up to a 2.5 km walk to the sites. However, there is public transportation just steps away from the entrance to the hotel, which takes you directly to the Hermitage and all other main tourist attractions. Hotel Vera offers 7 styles of rooms and suites, and in some of the least expensive ones, the furnishings have not been updated yet. However, none of the furniture dates before 2005 – the year in which the hotel was opened. We do value your feedback and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I booked 5 nights at the Hotel Vera. The rates for St. Petersburg are good value, but the location for me was an issue. The hotel is a good 15-20 minute walk to the nearest Metro station. After a long day out conducting business or sightseeing (during my free time) that extra walk was quite a jaunt.

I dined in the hotel restaurant each night, the quality of the food was superb, the prices very reasonable. However, the service for the most part was absolutely "appalling!" Once your meal was brought to the table you never saw the server until it was time to bring the bill. One night I sat down at a table, I sat there for 20 minutes while the young girl serving came into the room 3 times serving another couple. She looked at me every time and finally (after 20 minutes) came over and said "can I help you?" Rather than bring me a menu, she asks me this question? The staff in the restaurant seem to be completely and utterly unorganized, and it was extremely frustrating to say the least.

My only other complaint was when I checked out. I handed in my key, the young girl behind the counter looked at my account which has been paid in full. She looked up me and said, "ok" That was it! There was no thank you, have a pleasant journey, hope you enjoyed your stay, no courtesy extended whatsoever. I was not impressed.

Like I said, the hotel rates are good value, the hotel is nice and clean, well maintained, but they have some serious customer service issues with their staff that still need to be addressed.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvera_mgmt, Owner at Hotel Vera, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Thank you for your comments and we appreciate your feedback. We continuously work hard at the on training and professional development of our staff, and your comments do help us to improve; they have been duly noted. As far as the hotel’s location, it is in fact about a 15 minute walk from the hotel to the nearest metro station. But there are others form of public transportation just steps outside the entrance to Hotel Vera. Several buses and trolleys can take you directly from the hotel to all of the major tourist attractions in St. Petersburg. This is advertised both in the lobby and in the information packet found inside your guest room. I am sorry that you were not aware of these options, and that you were disappointed with your stay at Hotel Vera.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
Level Contributor
193 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

The staff is so helpful and friendly, they will gladly help you with anything you might need during your stay, from laundry, rail tickets and they have printed directions to all major attractions. The bus stop is just across the street and bus 11 will leave you right in front of the Great and imposing Hermitage. Buses 5,7, and 11 are all available to leave you downtown. The metro is about a 15 minute walk and also the stop for the Finland railway station is a couple stops away.
The hotel itself is spotless the rooms comfortable and if you expore the different floors you will be pleasantly surprised by the artwork on the corridors.
The food in the restaurant is good and they offer a vegetarian selection.
Breakfast is generous with both hot and cold choices, served from 0800 until 1100 .
Very good value, excellent staff. Would stay here again. Fun hotel

Room Tip: If you travel with family they have very small but convenient mini suites, room 609 is one of them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pedidocTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gresham, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

This is not a high dollar luxury hotel, but it is clean, convenient, very friendly and a great value. Good customer service is not always easy to come by in Russia, but hotel Vera goes out of their way to make you feel comfortable.

The economy rooms, are small, which is typical in most of Europe, but very very clean. Excellent wifi access, water coolers on each floor, tv, and the beds are comfortable. The rooms even have individual climate control, which isn't always available in Russian hotels.

The breakfast is very good and includes a nice selection of items that will satisfy just about anyone.

It's located about a 10-15 minute walk from Nevsky Prospekt. If you want to get there faster you'll need to take a bus which usually isn't very tourist friendly but definitely doable with a little pointing. Unless you plan on waking almost 5 kilometers (3 miles) you'll need to take a bus to the Hermitage. The busses in front of the hotel go strait there, just ask the staff.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siberiangrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

For a very affordable rate, you get a lot back from Miss Vera. The rooms are comfortable, warm, well appointed and very clean with great wifi access. The breakfast buffet has everything you would need and very accommodating hours. The reception staff would fall over themselves to help you if you ask, though the cafe staff are a little more mixed in their response. They provide help with visas/registration, a very thorough room guide, assistance with tour/taxi/train bookings, and a generally happy and friendly vibe. The hotel is a little bit out of town, so you will need to factor that into your planning, and can be a little bit tricky to find if you are arriving by public transport and get out at the wrong Metro exit.
Overall though, for the price, they do an excellent job here and I applaud them for it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripVisorAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vladimir
Ligotel
Ligotel
#18 of 344 in St. Petersburg
399 reviews
Bristol Hotel
#32 of 344 in St. Petersburg
460 reviews
Station Hotel Z12
#41 of 344 in St. Petersburg
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Nevsky Contour Hotel
Nevsky Contour Hotel
#20 of 344 in St. Petersburg
555 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
NasHotel
NasHotel
#9 of 344 in St. Petersburg
631 reviews
Station Hotel K43
#43 of 344 in St. Petersburg
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vera

Property: Hotel Vera
Address: Suvorovskiy Ave., 25/16, St. Petersburg 191036, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#19 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#33 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vera 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vera occupies part of a renovated 1903 Art Nouveau building, entered in St.Petersburg Registry of Architectural Masterpieces as Stepnov’s House. It is located in downtown St. Petersburg, Russia, within walking distance of Nevsky prospect and the Central Moscow Railroad Station. The renovations created contemporary accommodations with modern conveniences, while retaining early 20th-century charm. Its convenient location offers nearby services for both tourists and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Vera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vera Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing