We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, great service”
Review of Hotel Vera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vera
Ranked #25 of 359 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Our family of 3 stayed 3 nights in a room with 2 double beds; it was the largest room we had during our 3 week trip in Scandinavia. It was clean and comfortable with an especially nice shower. There was some street noise from having a window open, but we were able to sleep well (late May). The hotel was very responsive in helping us choose an appropriate room by email and getting us our visa paperwork quickly. We also decided to have them arrange a transfer from the Finlandia Railway station when we arrived, which went well. The staff was very helpful giving directions for public transportation, laundry, etc. The breakfasts were good, but we did not eat in the restaurant. It's a 10-15 minute walk from Nevsky Prospekt, but we liked staying a bit out of the tourist area. We also preferred the tram or bus over the subway to the main sites. Overall, a good hotel option.

Room Tip: Some rooms have AC and others screened windows; ask if you're concerned about street noise at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cgw56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

Since I am traveling for a whole month I was looking for a good deal but not far from the center of the city. The reviews for Hotel Vera are right on the mark! The hotel is clean, the rooms are a decent size. However I would avoid room 606 which is on the top floor and you cannot climb on the bed from one side of the room (low ceiling). The breakfast buffet is typical European.....It is a very nice spread. The staff is very helpfu as well. Overall Hotel Vera is great value. But be prepared to walk. It is about 10-15 minutes from Nevskiy and the train station. The metro is nearby as well. All there is too see is further down towards the Neva on Nevskiy. It is a little bit of a walk but St Petersburg is a great city to walk and difficult to get lost. I am returning to St Petersburg at the end of my trip and will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: I would avoid room 606
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredOH69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed here in a single room for four nights, mostly on the back of the positive tripadvisor reviews. But maybe that inflated my expectations...

The room was very small, but clean and quiet. Ate one night in the restaurant, which was not great: bare tables, bright lighting, indifferent food. The buffet breakfast was fine, but the hotel was full (for the white nights) and at 9am it was difficult to get a table: had to loiter around until tables became free. The hotel was also used by large parties coming on and off cruise ships, so not clear how they all got served together. Came back one evening and the room had not been made up, but then a lady burst in at about 7pm, which is a bit odd. Small cafe bar area on ground floor, full of people during 5-7 happy hour, but then emptied on stroke of 7.

Staff very friendly. Free wiffy.

Area a little away from the main tourist haunts, so no great choice of local restaurants (English bakery commented on by other reviewer is good though for snacks). Ten minutes walk to main station where, if you like very long escalators, you can descend to the metro.

Room Tip: Maybe avoid the singles if you have a Кошка you want to swing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaleBing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012 via mobile

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. One of the few hotels that has it all at a great price. The English speaking staff goes out of their way to help you. I forgot my camera charger, and they suggested stores where I could find one. The rooms are clean, modern and very comfortable. Great breakfast. You can't eat the location either. It's about two blocks away from Nevsky Prospekt. There is a small market one street over as well. They can arrange taxi service to the airport which is very helpful. This ensures you won't get taken advantage of. This will definitely be my hotel of choice the next time I visit St. Petersburg! Beautiful city I of course and great people!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariahpiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I stayed at this hotel in early June 2012. It's an easy and short trolley or bus trip to Gostiny Dvor. The front desk was helpful and courteous. My room was comfortable and quiet. The restaurant food was so-so but within close proximity is a great litte cafe called "English Bakery," which not only has wonderful Eastern and Western European pastries, but salads, soups and sandwiches at reasonable prices, and there are plenty of little 24/7's (St. P's 7-11) around if you just want a snack or a gin and tonic in a can!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dreamscape1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Decent hotel near the centre of St Petersburg. 10 mins walk to the Moscow train station. 30 min walk to Winter Palace - no easy transport options instead of walking.

Staff are friendly and helpful in English, rooms are nice - recommend one high up to avoid road noise.

Visa service was very quick (24 hours).

Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Go high when requesting a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pa_gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I spent 5 nights in a standard single room with a standard size bed. The room was very,very small (smaller than the average single in NYC or Western Europe). The bathroom was equally tiny with a stand-up shower that was just wide enough to stand in. The room was very clean as was the bathroom. The air conditioning was centrally controlled; I preferred a cooler temperature and would leave the window open. The street noise on my 4th floor room was low (weeknights) to moderate (weekends). The staff was very helpful and professional.The breakfast was plentiful with many bread and protein options. The hotel is located away from the center of the tourist activities. It is a 10 - 15 minute walk from the Moscow rail terminal and a metro station. The hotel is adjacent to a bus stop that is served by numerous bus lines that operate nearly 24 hours a day. However, the main thoroughfare used by the buses through central St. Petersburg, Nevsky Prospect, can be very congested. Travel time to the area of the Hermitage Museum can take up to an hour. I chose this hotel without a lot of research other than by cost per night (there was a convention in town that took up many rooms in other hotels).

Room Tip: Some will like standard rooms in the Hotel Vera, while others will not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GS14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We checked our records, and you in fact stayed in an economy single, not a standard single. Out of five classes of rooms, you selected the smallest and only one that can be used by just one person. It is intended for individual travelers who conscientiously choose inexpensive, modest accommodations but who realize that even staying in an economy single room allows them to enjoy the same hotel amenities as in all other rooms. Economy single rooms represent a small fraction of the rooms and suites that we offer, most of which have bathrooms with bathtubs, some with jacuzzi tubs, with beds ranging from full to king size; only economy single rooms contain one single bed. Some of our partners use different names for the rooms; however, the size and amenities are clearly described on their websites, as well as on our own website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Nevsky Contour Hotel
Nevsky Contour Hotel
#20 of 359 in St. Petersburg
591 reviews
Vladimir
Allegro Hotel On Ligovskiy Ave
Allegro Hotel On Ligovskiy Ave
#36 of 359 in St. Petersburg
383 reviews
Vladimir
Ligotel
Ligotel
#21 of 359 in St. Petersburg
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
3MostA Boutique Hotel
3MostA Boutique Hotel
#13 of 359 in St. Petersburg
867 reviews
Nevskiy
Hotel Anabel on Nevsky 88
Hotel Anabel on Nevsky 88
#61 of 359 in St. Petersburg
359 reviews
Atrium Hotel & Apartments
#33 of 359 in St. Petersburg
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vera

Address: Suvorovskiy Ave., 25/16, St. Petersburg 191036, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#19 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#22 Best Value Hotel in St. Petersburg
#33 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £23 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vera 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vera occupies part of a renovated 1903 Art Nouveau building, entered in St.Petersburg Registry of Architectural Masterpieces as Stepnov’s House. It is located in downtown St. Petersburg, Russia, within walking distance of Nevsky prospect and the Central Moscow Railroad Station. The renovations created contemporary accommodations with modern conveniences, while retaining early 20th-century charm. Its convenient location offers nearby services for both tourists and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Vera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vera Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing