We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hotel if you don't mind a little walking”
Review of Hotel Vera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vera
Ranked #30 of 335 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel if you don't mind a little walking”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I just finished staying here for three nights with a close friend. I should mention that my friend was a little unhappy with the location because it's a good 15 min walk to the nearest metro station, and a 40-60 min walk to all the major downtown attractions, with limited food and bar options in the immediate neighborhood. However, I enjoyed all the walking and I appreciated the peace and quiet of being a little further from downtown.

I found this to be an excellent value. The front desk staff was wonderfully helpful and spoke excellent English, and the included breakfast had everything we needed to get started in the morning. Our room was on the top floor and it was pretty large compared to most of the hotels we've stayed in. We even had big skylights to let in lots of natural light, which made it nearly impossible to sleep in during the "white nights" of long daylight hours (the skylights had blinds but they didn't do much to block the morning sun) but you could easily ask for a lower-level room if this is a problem.

Saint Petersburg doesn't have good drinkable tap water so the hotel had a large water cooler with drinking water in the hallways, which was great. We met some other Americans around the water cooler and wound up meeting a few people from the neighboring rooms which was good fun.

I felt very secure here, especially after I tried to quickly run up to my room to grab something without stopping by the reception desk first and I was promptly stopped by the security guard who asked to see my guest card.

Overall I was really impressed with Hotel Vera and I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Our top-floor room had skylights that would make it difficult to sleep in during the long daylight h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vera F, Owner at Hotel Vera, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay. We realize it can be a bit of a distance when walking to many of the tourist attractions, but there is access to public transportation just steps outside the front door of the hotel. The hotel would be much more expensive if it was located closer to the attractions, and many guests actually prefer the more "neighborhood feel" of our location. But we do appreciate your comments.

Thanks
Vera Fisher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    117
    35
    9
    5
See reviews for
75
90
84
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
World Traveller
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I stay in hotel Vera every time I visit St. Petersburg, which is usually twice a year for about 10 nights each stay. After extensive research and stay in other city hotels, I concluded that the hotel Vera represents the best value and provides an incredible level of amenities not only in its price category but in general among all St. Petersburg hotels.

In my previous reviews I have mentioned spacious super-clean rooms, free and reliable high speed wi-fi and, also at no charge, delicious breakfast buffet. So in this review, I would like to disclose the most important reason I stay at Vera and consider it "home away from home" for me in St. Petersburg. It is really its staff, who always seem to be busy with some kind of task, they are nevertheless look happy, pleasant with guests and eager to do everything they can to make your stay the best it can possibly be, attending to every one of your travel needs might it be requesting a taxi, restaurant reservation, a needed power strip or a dose of a flu medicine.

Upon notice of early departure, they will even pack you a boxed breakfast to be given at check out. The entire staff from a cleaning lady, to security guards to kitchen and cafe staff greet you as soon as they see you and wish you pleasant morning/day/night. By the end of your week-long stay, they all recognize you and you don't need to show credentials to pick up your room key or checked luggage. If you stay more than once, you are immediately recognized and greeted on arrival with check in staff visibly happy that you honored their hotel with another stay.

As many noted, the hotel situated slightly away from the touristy areas in a residential neighborhood. This is for me a huge plus - first of all, you feel more "living" in the city when you are away from large groups of foreigners on a "All-Russia-in-2-weeks" tours and closer to the Russians who actually live and work where. Secondly, the places to eat are much more geared towards the locals with quite reasonable prices. There is at least a dozen decent restaurants and few bars in a close walking distance to the hotel and the hotel itself has a great lobby bar and cafe with very inexpensive but delicious menu of mostly traditional Russian foods (I sampled their soup and buckweed with wild mushrooms and they were superb!). Thirdly, there is a 24-hour convenience food store directly across the street where water, deli foods, and various foodstuffs can be procured as well as alcohol (per ordinance - only before 11 PM).

To give you an idea of the location, I am enclosing approximate walking distances to:

Metro (Subway) - three different stations 15 min walk each
Liteyny prospect - 20-25 min walk
Nevsky prospect (around Mayakovskya metro station) - 15 min walk
Summer garden (Letnii sad), Paul 1 Palace and Fontanka river - 30-40 min walk
Russian (Ruskiy) Museum - 45 min walk
The Hermitage - 1 hr brisk walk (with one third along the Neva river embankment with gorgeous panorama of the city)

In each case, you will be walking though historic neighborhoods, which, by itself provide plentiful sightseeing opportunities and chances to see frequent jewels of the turn of the XX century Art Nouveau architecture (one of the examples is the hotel itself situated in a beautiful period building with tasteful accents added in common areas of the interior).

Several food tips:

1. Artemy Lebedev Cafe (Zhukovskogo street, 2 . Open 9am to 11 pm - 15 min walk from hotel, fee wifi, Staff speaks English) is a wonderful cafe opened by a maverick designer - great coffee, tea and "home-made" breakfast items, decent lunch and excellent "designer" trinkets shop on the back - highly recommend for breakfast

2. Cafe Botanika - (Pestelya street 7 - Open 11am to 11 pm - 30 min walk from hotel, fee wifi, Staff speaks English) - awesome vegetarian cafe. Though it has a chef from India, food ranges from creative Russian, to Italian, to (of course) delicious dals and paneers of India. Great stop halfway between the hotel and the Hermitage museum. Not just for vegetarians - anyone whom I invited to this cafe, raved about their food and atmosphere. Make sure try their teas. Lunch special provides great value.

3. The Buddha Bar just opened very near to the hotel. Operating as a franchise from the Paris original, the St. Pb outpost is situated in a huge gorgeous space with the usual gigantic Buddha statue, super-fresh sushi in the lounge below and full Pan-Asian menu in a formal dinner room upstairs (upside down layout from the one in Paris). I warn you - the place is VERY expensive, but well worth it for a special night in St. Petersburg, especially for a couple. Make sure and ask hotel staff to make a reservation (avoid busy weekends) ask for your taxi cab driver's phone number if you are taking a cab where - there are plenty of high -end taxicabs waiting in front of the Buddha bar, but they will charge you $30 for 5 min drive to a hotel.

For a beautiful views of the city I can also recommend "Mansarda" restaurant - make reservation (they speak English) and ask at that time to be seated by the window. "Fish" restaurant is also good Italian / seafood restaurant with a view of a light-up television tower. Both restaurants are far from the hotel and require taxi cab ride.

For great Russian food try "Chekhov" (my favorite - and mind blowing traditional Russian food samplings for NON-Russians), "Gogol" or "Malakhovet's Dream" (very expensive and formal, but the food is superb and it is in a close walking distance from the hotel.)

I hope that my review of the hotel was not too much off track with food recommendations, but there is so much already said about how great it is and how nice is their staff and how reasonable are their prices that I thought to give some color to the food scene around it.

I love Vera hotel and looking forward staying where again during my next visit to St. Petersburg. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank MisterTvister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vera F, Owner at Hotel Vera, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you for your comments and we always welcome your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thanks
Vera Fisher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Vera for 6 nights in a single room. It was small but manageable, as I was really only in the hotel to sleep and shower. Bed comfortable, shower pressure good, clean room. Some noise from the street and other rooms (walls seem a bit thin) but if you have ear plugs you can block this out. On the whole staff spoke good English and were friendly. Breakfast included in the price, and the options were satisfactory. The hotel is not in the centre of town but is an easy trolleybus ride awat (28RUR, about 10-15 minutes to the Hermitage on a good run).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simone_a13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvera_mgmt, Owner at Hotel Vera, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Dear Guest,

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comments. We are aware of the sound issue and have identified the problem as being related to the door framing. We are working on it, and plan to complete replacement of all door framing and most doors by the summer of 2014.

Thank you
Vera Fisher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2013

In the last two years, I have stayed at Hotel Vera 2 times to meet with my friends from university.
We are not very young anymore, and greatly appreciated the care, warmth and comfort which Hotel Vera staff created for us.
We had no problems with cabs ordered by the desk staff to go to theaters and concerts, and back to the hotel. One however has to be aware that the cab fees need to be known and agreed upon in advance - the staff at the front desk will tell you what it should be. Breakfast is really tasty and they periodically offer delicious homemade items, like an apple strudel or Russian style pancakes. Espresso or cappuccino that you order at the bar is always good and priced very reasonably compared to prices elsewhere for inferior coffee.
in general Café Vera is good and everything we tried was quite tasty and reasonably priced. The beef medallions "medium rare" need special mention. We went o Paris after St. Petersburg and had dinner in a well known restaurant specializing in entrecotes: Café Vera medallions were better!!!
Hotel Vera is very nice and charming place, and if one plans to spend a few days on a trip with good friends there is hardly any place as homely and welcoming.
Sonia

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonia345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvera_mgmt, Owner at Hotel Vera, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
We appreciate your patronage and look forward to seeing you and your friends once again!

Thanks
Vera Fisher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenox, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I stayed at Hotel Vera for one month. The location is perfect, very close to Nevskyi Prospekt and comfortable rooms. It also has a fine restaurant. But what makes Hotel Vera so appealing is the staff. Whether or not you are fluent in Russian, I would say 80% of the staff is fluent in English. They are polite, charming and run the hotel in the manner of a five star hotel. I work in St. Petersburg often and have finally found the hotel that fits my budget as well as my needs. I am sure to stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are travelling on a budget, spring for the Optima Room. It's only a few dollars more tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvera_mgmt, Owner at Hotel Vera, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are happy that your enjoyed your stay at Hotel Vera and will make sure to assign you a centrally located room during your next stay.

Vera Fisher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Nice boutique hotel in a quite neighborhood. Convenient public transportation to everything, although during the heavy traffic hours, 4 pm to 7 pm, it may be faster to walk – the desk staff tried to be helpful giving the best routes but I noticed that they were mostly new and in training, so once I had to request administrator’s help.
Café Vera is a very pleasant surprise: St. Petersburg restaurants are generally overpriced and dull. Café Vera was one of a few which, in addition to regular fare, has had an extensive vegetarian menu, and all at more than reasonable price, especially prix fixe dinners. This is my third stay at the Hotel V. and I will definitely recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chernomor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvera_mgmt, Owner at Hotel Vera, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. It just so happened that around the time of your stay, there were many new staff members that starting working for the hotel. It usually takes new staff about two months to learn the public transportation routes and location details. We hope that next time, each and every staff member will be able to direct you.

Thanks
Vera Fisher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Located in close proximity from the railway station, just 15 mins walk.
It's a nice small hotel that offers friendly welcome and nice tidy rooms for a small price in the center of St. Petersburg.

Rooms aren't lavish but clean and have all the basics you might need.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beloglintsev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vera F, Owner at Hotel Vera, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and will recommend our hotel to other guests.

Sincerely,
Vera Fisher
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Nevsky Contour Hotel
Nevsky Contour Hotel
#22 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Vladimir
Ligotel
Ligotel
#19 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Vladimir
Allegro Hotel On Ligovskiy Ave
Allegro Hotel On Ligovskiy Ave
#29 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bristol Hotel
#31 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Nevskiy
Akyan St.Petersburg
Akyan St.Petersburg
#12 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
NasHotel
NasHotel
#9 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vera

Property: Hotel Vera
Address: Suvorovskiy Ave., 25/16, St. Petersburg 191036, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#19 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#29 Best Value Hotel in St. Petersburg
#33 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vera 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vera occupies part of a renovated 1903 Art Nouveau building, entered in St.Petersburg Registry of Architectural Masterpieces as Stepnov’s House. It is located in downtown St. Petersburg, Russia, within walking distance of Nevsky prospect and the Central Moscow Railroad Station. The renovations created contemporary accommodations with modern conveniences, while retaining early 20th-century charm. Its convenient location offers nearby services for both tourists and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vera Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing