We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience in Russia”
Review of Hotel Vera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vera
Ranked #36 of 364 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2013

A short cab-ride from the main station, this is a perfect hotel for sight seeing in St Peters burg.A few steps away is the bus-stop from where you can catch a bus to most of the main attractions in town. The rooms though small are clean and well maintained for the reasonable price they charge. The front desk staff is very helpful specially Natasha, who even lent me 100 Rbls cash to pay the cab! She was always willing to bring out a map and orient us exactly how to get to the important sights.
Cafe Vera was the icing on the cake. We always have a problem with food, specially in Eastern Europe because we are strict vegetarians, But this place even had a choice of grilled vegetables and delicious rice, which was perfect for dinner, after a whole day of roaming around. It was such a relief, to come and have a great meal and relax instead of going hunting for food after a long day of sight-seeing. I highly recommend this place if you happen to be in St Petersburg.

Room Tip: I did see some bigger rooms. Perhaps they can be requested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee4447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

Being on a short two-days business trip in St. Petersburg in August 2013,
I had excellent dining experience at Cafe Vera with my business partners.
- assorted meats salad "Sitni" (" Satisfying" :))
- eggplants with red/yellow/green peppers
- beef stroganoff with chanterelles (simply delicious!!!)
Generous portions, cozy atmosphere, nice decor, reasonably priced.
Great option for the quiet/ small group business dinner in the heart of St. Petersburg.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chernomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I was travelling as a large group of 48 with Singles in Paradise. All 48 of us piled out of the bus and descended on the waiting staff at Hotel Vera. They handled the extraordinary logistical challenges professionally and tactfully.
Although we arrived at 6:30 PM, the owner Leon arranged to extend happy hour at the bar for our convenience. The dinner menu is excellent; the chicken baked in hash browns is a must.
Leon is an excellent host. Although I can't guarantee that you will be able to have the same experience, Leon offered to take us, (his three tablemates at dinner) on a tour of the area near his hotel. We enjoyed a nearly 2 hour personal tour and learned a great deal about the history, architecture and socio/political life in St. Petersburg.
Leon cares a great deal about his hotel and his city. He is rightfully proud of both.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Lovely hotel with quaint, super clean rooms Beautifully & artfully restored.
Impeccable staff and service.
The food was excellent! I normally do not eat in hotels, but I had 2 dinners out of my 4 night stay. Breakfasts were good too.
Personalized service, beyond compare!!! The owner does not miss a thing.
You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ks0128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in August. The hotel is comfortable, and reasonably priced. It is located about a 20 minute walk from the Moscow Train Station. Trolleybusses 5, 7, and 11 wil take you downdown, or to the Hermitage Museum. The bus costs 25 rubles ( about 75 cents ).

There is a mini-mart about a block away from the hotel, and there is a small refrigerator in the room. We had a room on the sixth floor, with and individually controlled split-level air conditioner. I was tempted to open up the windows at night, as it was cool after dark ( after 10:00 PM ). BUT, there were no screens in the windows, and the mosquitos were numerous and viscious ( make sure you bring a can of repellent ). The room was large, and had a flat screen TV. The only English language channel was the BBC.

The hotel serves a decent breakfast buffet - included in the price, and you can have dinner at the hotel restaurant, if you want. There are plenty of cheap restaurants in the neighborhood - bring your phrase book and/or dictionary with you. Learn some Russian before you go. I took some private lessons before the trip, and they were very helpful. I saw an awful lot of group travelers - especially when visiting the Hermitage Museum, but we just visited on our own, taking the train from Helsinki.

The hotel will send you an invitation free of charge - you will need it to obtain a visa. Apply early for your visa, as it is rather involved proceedure. Most of the staff at the hotel speak English, and will try to help you with any questions which you might have. Local phone calls are free, and the front desk will help you make reservations, or call a taxi.

Do not listen to those who tell you that you must join a guided tour to visit Russia. It is easy enough to do on your own.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the 6th (top) floor, if you are a light sleeper, as ther are no black-out curtains, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJIMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our one concern before choosing Vera was the hotel's distance from main sightseeing attractions. This turned out to be no issue. A trolleybus was close, frequent and a quick trip to the historic center of the city. The front desk staff at Vera spoke English, were helpful and friendly. The Hotel's in a lovely renovated art deco building. The breakfast buffet was great. The food at this hotel was very good. We ate at the hotel restaurant one night after our kids wouldn't agree on anywhere else. We all liked it so much we chose it a second night. Kids loved the pizza. A family of 4 including a teen and young adult, we were thrilled with our lovely family room which consisted of two large rooms each with a desk,TV, and refrigerator. One room had a mini built in kitchen, the other a large bathroom with the most elaborate shower/steam room that I've ever experienced. We enjoyed the neighborhood too, particularly the little grocery stores on every corner.

Room Tip: Great 4th floor family room - 420(?) next to meeting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank midly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vera F, Owner at Hotel Vera, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad that your were able to appreciate our hotel's proximity to public transportation, and the ease of getting to all major tourist attractions. We appreciate your feedback

Vera Fisher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed at the hotel Vera for a week recently and really cannot fault it. the room was clean and quiet and the front desk staff could not have been more helpful. We also chose to eat at the hotel in the evening, which is something I would not normally do, but we were so tired from all the sightseeing. The food was excellent and truly Russian! There are also lots of buses close to the hotel which can take you all over the city.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Nevsky Contour Hotel
Nevsky Contour Hotel
#21 of 364 in St. Petersburg
602 reviews
Bristol Hotel
#58 of 364 in St. Petersburg
503 reviews
Vladimir
Allegro Hotel On Ligovskiy Ave
Allegro Hotel On Ligovskiy Ave
#50 of 364 in St. Petersburg
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#17 of 364 in St. Petersburg
567 reviews
Atrium Hotel & Apartments
#29 of 364 in St. Petersburg
309 reviews
Admiralteisky
3MostA Boutique Hotel
3MostA Boutique Hotel
#14 of 364 in St. Petersburg
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vera

Address: Suvorovskiy Ave., 25/16, St. Petersburg 191036, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#19 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £22 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vera 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vera occupies part of a renovated 1903 Art Nouveau building, entered in St.Petersburg Registry of Architectural Masterpieces as Stepnov’s House. It is located in downtown St. Petersburg, Russia, within walking distance of Nevsky prospect and the Central Moscow Railroad Station. The renovations created contemporary accommodations with modern conveniences, while retaining early 20th-century charm. Its convenient location offers nearby services for both tourists and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Vera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vera Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing