We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in central St Petersburg”
Review of Hotel Vera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Vera
Ranked #25 of 355 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great value in central St Petersburg”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Well-run independent hotel in a large Art Deco building, conveniently located (a 10-min walk from the subway and from the Moskovsky train station - where Sapsan trains from Moscow arrive. Decent breakfast included in rates. Very friendly staff (which is not that common in Russia).
Economy rooms are located under the roof: clean, quiet, decent size, nice bathroom and A/C.
One small suggestion, however: provide blackout curtains instead of blinds - there is a lot of light coming through the windows.
Overall, great value in St Petersburg - highly recommended.

Room Tip: Note that economy rooms are on the 6th floor (under the roof) -
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdmondDantes_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vera F, Owner at Hotel Vera, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback and your suggestions.

Sincerely,
Vera Fisher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    123
    35
    10
    5
See reviews for
80
94
90
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Friendly Hotel who helped us enormously with our various needs for our group. Each room was a little different and always full of character. My room had a crazy shower/sauna i have never seen anywhere else - can recommend. Rooms were clean and my bed was super comfortable. There were bubblers in the corridors - a definite necessity.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vera F, Owner at Hotel Vera, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Sincerely,
Vera Fisher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

First business trip to Russia. Arrived on 23/05/2014 from Syktyvkar, picked up at the airport after arranging transfer with hotel...very efficient. I commend the frontline staff (Tatiana) who was well versed in English and very helpful and friendly.The rooms are small but I guess it is the standard.
Day 1 so far excellent, only another night to go unfortunately !

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 302,was acceptable. Noise levels with window open is normal for hotels in the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJN_1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vera F, Owner at Hotel Vera, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we're glad that you enjoyed your stay

Sincerely,
Vera Fisher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a few nights in May and it worked out just fine. The ride from the airport (Misha-no english; arranged by the Hotel) was a harrowing and nail-biting experience, but on the bright side we made the journey in half the usual time. The reception - wonderful with english-speaking helpful people; cafe - very nice with good quality food and selection; breakfast - very nice and plentiful to get us started for the day (get rid of those simulated eggs though); room quality - just fine with comfortable beds and amenities (a two to three star room accomodation); location - great, 5 minute walk to Metro, less to the tram and another 5 minutes to Nevsky. One question though - what is the function or purpose of the man in the suit sitting at the bar all the time?

Room Tip: We were on the top floor with only skylights for wndows but it was fairly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vera F, Owner at Hotel Vera, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback. And by the way, we only use real eggs.

Sincerely,
Vera Fisher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Have stayed there for 4 nights. The staffs in general are nice and can speak fluent english. Yet, something wrong with the hotel ... First the location is actually quite far away from metro, it takes at least 20 mins walk. Second, the air con of our room was not working, for the first night the problem was not very serious... At least we can still breathe and we tried to open the windows to avoid trouble. Yet, there were a lot of mosquitos coming in, we got at least 10 bites in one night. So we were not dare to open the windows anymore. However, the air con didnt turn right, it is hot like we can't breathe anymore... So we asked to change the room. Maybe the booking is too full and the staff refused to change the room for us initially and asked to wait for one more day, until they came to our room to experience how bad the situation.... Honestly, we didn't ask for something unreasonable, and I think the staff has tried their best, just that the infrastructure itself got some problems. Third, which is relatively minor, the wifi signal was super weak in our room. Though the staff said they will find someone to fix it the other day, but seems it never happened.

Helpful?
2 Thank yank125
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vera F, Owner at Hotel Vera, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,
There was indeed a problem with the air conditioning when you stayed with us. I apologize. We do perform continuous maintenance on our hotel, and the problems that you experienced are not a typical representation of Hotel Vera. We have corrected the A/C since your departure. As far as the location, our hotel is located steps from buses and other forms of public transportation, but we are indeed a little bit of a walk from the nearest metro station. This should have been explained to you at the front desk. I’m sorry if this was not clear.

Thank you for your feedback and I once again apologize for your difficulties.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Hotel Vera. Coming from the United States required a great deal of paperwork. Alena and Elena made this very easy. the front office staff are very knowledgable and helpful. The location is very close to Nevsky Prospect and the most popular sights.
They arranged for an English speaking guide, Emma. Emma was great, flexible, and showed us what we wanted to see instead of the usual tourist stops. The staff helped with tickets to the opera,and transportation.
The room is very clean, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast is plentiful. We ate In the dining room twice and enjoyed the food, and the service.
On our last day, the staff arranged for a taxi to the rail station for a very early train. To our surprise, they had two breakfast boxes ready for us. Anticipating your guests needs is a sign of true hospitality. We strongly recommend Hotel Vera. Thank you Alena, Elena and Catherine.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sr201753j9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vera F, Owner at Hotel Vera, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your feedback. We will definitely pass it on to the staff at the front desk. We do our very best to take care our guests, by more than just providing lodging, and we're glad that you recognized that.

Sincerely,
Vera Fisher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is my 3d time at Hotel Vera and it fells like home. Service is excellent, room is very nice and clean. What is important is their attention to details in everything. Lobby is very comfortable and cozy. Please notice pictures of famous actors and actresses that stayed in the hotel. I have been told that this hotel is popular among actors. Location is convenient: it takes me about 10-12 minutes to get to Nevsky and I have been coming to the hotel late without any problems.
Please also check a story about Loder bottle (on the wall).It is really interesting.
Very good espresso at the bar. Someone can make it for you at any time.
Breakfast had my favorite dishes: excellent omelet and also apple strudel.
I ate at the café Vera all the time: better food and better prices. I especially loved borsht and fish. However all their salads, other soups and everything else are excellent. Presentation of food is like in a very expensive restaurants and waitresses always smile!
I will be in the Hotel Vera again.

Than you for such excellent service!

Sonia

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank sonia345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vera F, Owner at Hotel Vera, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for returning to Hotel Vera and continuing to choose to stay with us. We do our best to accomodate our guests and are glad that everything was to your satisfaction.

Sincerely,
Vera Fisher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vladimir
Ligotel
Ligotel
#17 of 355 in St. Petersburg
407 reviews
Vladimir
Allegro Hotel On Ligovskiy Ave
Allegro Hotel On Ligovskiy Ave
#32 of 355 in St. Petersburg
372 reviews
Bristol Hotel
#39 of 355 in St. Petersburg
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Station Hotel Z12
#47 of 355 in St. Petersburg
289 reviews
Nevskiy
Nevsky Contour Hotel
Nevsky Contour Hotel
#20 of 355 in St. Petersburg
568 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
NasHotel
NasHotel
#10 of 355 in St. Petersburg
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vera

Property: Hotel Vera
Address: Suvorovskiy Ave., 25/16, St. Petersburg 191036, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in St. Petersburg
#17 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#19 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#33 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vera 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vera occupies part of a renovated 1903 Art Nouveau building, entered in St.Petersburg Registry of Architectural Masterpieces as Stepnov’s House. It is located in downtown St. Petersburg, Russia, within walking distance of Nevsky prospect and the Central Moscow Railroad Station. The renovations created contemporary accommodations with modern conveniences, while retaining early 20th-century charm. Its convenient location offers nearby services for both tourists and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Vera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vera Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing