We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located and reasonably priced”
Review of Hotel Vera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vera
Ranked #30 of 335 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Centrally located and reasonably priced”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Following the good reviews here on Tripadvisor I chose the Hotel Vera for a recent 4 night stay in St. Petersburg. The hotel is centrally located, the rooms are reasonably priced and sized and generally clean apart from a few stains on the carpet. Breakfast is OK as well, although only available from 8 am which may be a little late for business travellers and other early birds. To be fair, they offer breakfast to go for those who have to get out early, although I didn't try it. The staff at the reception was helpful, for example in organising a taxi to the airport, but the price they arranged for me (1,000 RUB) was about slightly higher than the rate a colleague's hotel arranged for him. All in all though and considering the overall price level in St. Petersburg I can recommend Hotel Vera for leisure travellers.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nowo1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vera F, Owner at Hotel Vera, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. We indeed start breakfast at 8:00 am, and finish at 11:00 am. The majority of our guests prefer a late breakfast, but we always offer an early breakfast or brown bags “to go’ to guests who request it.

Thanks
Vera Fisher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    117
    35
    9
    5
See reviews for
75
90
84
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rimini, Italy
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

My opinion about Hotel Vera is mixed: on the one hand, the staff is very kind and useful, the hotel has a good location, and I was given a room on the top floor, under the roof, which I enjoyed. And there's free wi-fi. On the other hand, my room was very simple, and the breakfast is rather poor, at least by continental breakfast hotel standards. Also, when coming from the airport, one needs to walk one km from the metro station, which can be hard on some people.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rumore0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vera F, Owner at Hotel Vera, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your feedback and for your positive words about our staff. The room that you stayed in was an economy class room, the least expensive of 7 kinds of rooms and suites that we offer. It is priced noticeably below our competition. We do have bigger and better furnished rooms, but they are a bit more expensive. However, all of our rooms provide the same conveniences and have similar amenities. As you did say, your room was indeed simple. To assist with selecting a room, we place photos of the rooms on our own site and on our partner sites.
There is a 1 km walk to the Hotel from the nearest subway station, however, the subway is not the best means of transportation around town, especially in our location. Flyers that are located in guest rooms and are available at the front desk upon check-in recommend that guest use trolley buses, which stop write next to the Hotel, to get around town.

Thank you for your comments
Vera Fisher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Our family (My wife, I, and our son) spent 16 days in Hotel Vera in July 2014.
Pros:
- Perfect location with good public transportation. Less than half an hour to any main attractions
- Very good price. We were in the two room family suite on the sixth floor.
Each room has an individual AC in it.
- Excellent breakfast. You wouldn't even need a lunch.
- Service was perfect
- Fast free WiFI
- small kitchen
Cons: None
Alex, Evelina, and Max Fishman.
Palo Alto, CA
650-739-0484

Room Tip: #615 is perfect for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vera F, Owner at Hotel Vera, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate your feedback and are very glad that you enjoyed your visit! We're glad that you and your family found our family suite comfortable and convenient for the length of your stay.

Thanks
Vera Fisher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The hotel is close to the train station and is connected to Nevsky Prospeckt via a short 15 mins walk or bus which can be availed through a 2 min walk from the hotel.

The front area of the hotel is quaint and inviting with a nice bar.

The staff are very helpful and they appear like a big family running the hotel giving you that homely yet lovely holiday feeling. Xenia, Natasha, Antara and the rest are the staff i interacted with and they were very kind especially since i did not speak Russian.

The rooms are spacious enough with all the amenities you need.

Room Tip: If a family of 3 adults or 2 adults and 1 teen or even 3 friends ask for the family rooms on the 6th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew_Ibrahim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vera F, Owner at Hotel Vera, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and we're glad that you enjoyed your stay!

Vera Fisher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed two nights in May and had a pleasant enough stay. The air conditioning or fan was not working in our first room and they promptly moved us to another room, which was fine. As others have said, the beds are not the most comfortable, but the rooms were clean. We were able to communicate with the front desk and they were very friendly and helpful. The lobby/bar area is comfortable and a good place to get on Wi-Fi and have a coffee or drink. The breakfast was fresh and had a little something for everyone. I would stay there again, if I ever found myself back in Saint Petersburg.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lgo987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vera F, Owner at Hotel Vera, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear guest,

I apologize from the problem with the air conditioning in the first room, but I am glad we were able to accomodate you by moving you to another room. We appreciate your feedback and are glad that you enjoyed you're stay. We'd love to welcome you again if you do find yourself in St. Petersburg!

Thanks,
Vera Fisher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed 6 nights in June 2014.

While the hotel is within a 12-15 minute walk to the nearest Metro station, the trolley buses are extremely convenient, cheap and easy to use. Trolley buses 5, 7 and 11 stop next to the hotel, cost RUB 25 (less than $1) with tickets purchased from a conductor on the bus (change given). The trolley buses pass the Metro, the Moskovskiy train station and travel along Nevsky Prospect to the Hermitage, St. Isaac's Cathedral and the Neva River. Really, too easy!!

The hotel is located in a converted building dating from1903. As such, rooms and hallways are odd shaped which adds to the boutique nature of the hotel.

Our room was on the fifth floor facing the back of the building making it extremely quiet. Air con on the fifth floor is controlled by the front desk. When we arrived we found our room a bit warm. Our request for a slightly cooler temperature resulted in an immediate adjustment that left our room at an ideal temperature for us. There are also window screens to keep out the mosquitos if you want to open the windows.

Our room was clean, a reasonable size with a flat screen TV, free WiFi and in-room safe. The safe is key operated and will only hold passports and other small items (not large enough for a laptop or iPad). The bathroom was a good size with bath/shower.

Check-in/out was quick and easy. The staff are very friendly and helpful. All reception staff speak good English, along with most restaurant and bar staff.

Cafe Vera offers a good selection of reasonably priced Western and Russian cuisine. There is also a nice area in the lobby to enjoy a relaxing drink and/or meal after a day of sightseeing.

Breakfast, included in the room rate, is a typical continental style buffet breakfast.

The hotel also offers a laundry service (wash, dry, fold) for RUB 400 per laundry load which is excellent value compared with usual hotel prices.

The hotel can arrange for you to be met at the airport or train station for a reasonable price as well as return taxis. Certainly worth it and recommended for first time visitors to Russia.

I booked directly with the hotel and Leon responded immediately to all of my emails and provided helpful additional information and recommendations.

Would most definitely stay here again. Highly recommended based upon location, value for money and friendly helpful staff who clearly want you to enjoy your stay and visit to St. Petersburg.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pyctravellingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vera F, Owner at Hotel Vera, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to St. Petersburg.

Sincerely,
Vera Fisher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were very satisfied at the hotel Vera. We stayed there for seven nights. We had a family suite on the 6th floor. Room was clean, linen and towels changed regularly. Breakfasts are simple but good. Dining at the hotel restaurant great and very tasty. Girls at the reception have very good English. Trolley bus stop few metres from the hotel. Trolley buses go directly to the Neva River and the Winter Palace. Trolley buses are good for strollers. Metro station is a 10-minute walk through a nice neighbourhood. Prior to our arrival, communication with Leon was excellent - visa support, transportation from the airport, tourist information. In my opinion we could not have chosen better hotel.

Room Tip: Room on 6th floor have a/c and no nets in the windows. Other rooms have no a/c but nets in the windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Martina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vera F, Owner at Hotel Vera, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We try to provide the best possible value for our guests and we're glad that you were able to recognize that

Sincerely,
Vera Fisher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Nevsky Contour Hotel
Nevsky Contour Hotel
#22 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Vladimir
Ligotel
Ligotel
#19 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Vladimir
Allegro Hotel On Ligovskiy Ave
Allegro Hotel On Ligovskiy Ave
#29 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bristol Hotel
#31 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Nevskiy
Akyan St.Petersburg
Akyan St.Petersburg
#12 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
NasHotel
NasHotel
#9 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vera

Property: Hotel Vera
Address: Suvorovskiy Ave., 25/16, St. Petersburg 191036, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#19 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#29 Best Value Hotel in St. Petersburg
#33 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vera 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vera occupies part of a renovated 1903 Art Nouveau building, entered in St.Petersburg Registry of Architectural Masterpieces as Stepnov’s House. It is located in downtown St. Petersburg, Russia, within walking distance of Nevsky prospect and the Central Moscow Railroad Station. The renovations created contemporary accommodations with modern conveniences, while retaining early 20th-century charm. Its convenient location offers nearby services for both tourists and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Vera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vera Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing