We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Staff, Fabulous Hotel, Great Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Vera
Ranked #29 of 331 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Fontana, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic Staff, Fabulous Hotel, Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2010

The excellent staff is very friendly and extemely helpfull and are available 24 hours. My room was very comfortable and pleasanly decorated. There is public transportation accross the street with access to all the sites. This a fabulous hotel, with an exceptional staff that offers great value!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RolandG9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    116
    35
    9
    5
See reviews for
71
88
82
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2010

The Hotel Vera is a small clean, budget place of which I have no complants becasue I received what I paid for. The small staff worked very hard to help us maximize our 2 days there and even made multiple phone calls on our behalf to get info on bus tours, reserve a dinner cruise and reserve taxis. The couple I was traveling with did change to the highest level room because the standard was just too basic. The location of the hotel is decent if you do not mind walking. It is about 5 or 6 city blocks from Nevskiy Prospekt which is the street that runs through the heart of the tourist attractions. However, once on Nevskiy Prospekt you are still 15 + city blocks from the attractions. It is a very quick taxi ride to any of the attractions (5 - 10 minutes).

Low price, clean, hot water, continental style breakfast, very helpful staff and a decent location were all I needed.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akpbubear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

I stayed at Hotel Vera from April 24 to May 3. Its staff are very friendly and helpful, and the hotel is clean and well managed. The second night there I couldn't sleep because of the traffic noise, so I asked the receptionist to change my room at 2 a.m., and she gladly did. She changed my room to a better one with no additional cost. If the street noise bothers you, ask for a room facing the back of the hotel. The hotel has free wi fi and breaksfast. While it's a little far from the area with the Hermitage and the Russian Museums are, it takes only a 10-minute walk from the metro on Nevsky Prospect and about 40 minutes of walking to the attractions. It's also on the trolly and bus route to these tourist attractions. Great hotel for the price.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shafiei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olympia, wa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2009

i am in the third day of my stay at the vera hotel and have only great impressions. the staff and hotel are truly outstanding.
there is a free breakfast from 8 am that includes cereal, sandwich meats, bread, juice, yogurt and fruit. they do have 24 hour security (it is in a great neighborhood though) and a 24 hour reception desk. i have met 5 of the staff at the reception so far and they are all fluent in english, super helpful and pleasant. my first day here i asked if they had a plug adaptor for my lap top so i could charge it. the staff quickly went in the office and pulled out every plug adaptor they had to make it work! baltic bread, the famous bakery, is one block away. there are several super markets within one block of the hotel. nevsky prospect and the metro is a 10 or 15 minute walk. my room is a double and the off season rate i got was $83 or so. that includes a flat screen tv with cable, a fridge, and wifi (really fast). there are free mineral water coolers in the hallways. i checked trip advisor before i booked my room here and the previous reviews are true - this is one really fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krs1618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Housto, TX
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2009

The staff members at this hotel are very knowledgable and helpful on everything! They are very courteous and they had every item what I asked for. When I needed an electrc travel converter, they lend me one free. I asked for a wake up call for my early flight, of course, they not only did it on time...., also they brought a cup of nice hot tea. Security, location, free (real nice) breakfast, free internet..... What could you ask for more? Also the room I stayed had most up-to-date bathroom with a whirpool. You are never going to be disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2009

My wife and I recently stayed at the Hotel Vera in St Petersburg, Ru. Pleasant room, decent location and a filling breakfast. What we were most impressed with was the staff at the front desk. Public transportation in St Petersburg is not always easy to figure out, and the staff was great about giving us advice. In addition when we wanted a tour or private transportation, they were able to arrange it quickly and efficiently. It was like having a travel agent right in the hotel. St Petersburg is a facinating city, but it is a big help to independent travelers to have someone who can give you good advice. The hotel vera provided that advice.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank constanttraveler45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

We throughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Vera. The rooms are spacious, spotless and comfortable. The staff was very helpful with all of our questions. The location is off of the main street, Prospect Nevsky but once you learn how to use the bus stop one block away it is easy to get downtown. Be sure to ask the front desk for the flyer with the bus information. Don't try the metro which is utterly confusing. The hotel also had an excellent breakfast. The restaurant across the street, Magpugckuu Abop, a Spanish restaurant is an excellent spot for a really nice dinner. The hotel also will rent a laptop computer for about $2/hour which really helped us when our AT&T phones didn't work even though we were told they would work. We loved St Petersburg and would be glad to return.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrowsFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Nevsky Contour Hotel
Nevsky Contour Hotel
#21 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Bristol Hotel
#28 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Vladimir
Ligotel
Ligotel
#20 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Roses Hotel
Roses Hotel
#68 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
NasHotel
NasHotel
#6 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Atrium Hotel & Apartments
#36 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vera

Property: Hotel Vera
Address: Suvorovskiy Ave., 25/16, St. Petersburg 191036, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#19 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#33 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vera 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vera occupies part of a renovated 1903 Art Nouveau building, entered in St.Petersburg Registry of Architectural Masterpieces as Stepnov’s House. It is located in downtown St. Petersburg, Russia, within walking distance of Nevsky prospect and the Central Moscow Railroad Station. The renovations created contemporary accommodations with modern conveniences, while retaining early 20th-century charm. Its convenient location offers nearby services for both tourists and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vera Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing