We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I stay here every time!”
Review of Hotel Vera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Vera
Ranked #29 of 345 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I stay here every time!”
Reviewed 30 August 2010

This is a great hotel. If WiFi doesn't work, tell the staff and they will fix it - they did for me and I never had any more problems. The buses can be slow up Suvorovskiy, it's true but it *is* a short walk to the metro (10 mins max). If you're nearer a metro station, it's going to be even noiser, after all - and this is relatively quiet.The restaurant is a really nice addition - small and friendly, with excellent service. Everything is spotlessly clean on arrival, and your room is cleaned every day. Russian main roads are inevitably noisy, and this can be a problem even through their triple glazing, so if you think this will disturb you, ask to have a quiet room.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulineBristol_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    122
    35
    10
    5
See reviews for
76
94
86
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Just stayed at the Hotel Vera for 5 nights. Unfortunately, we were there during a recent heat wave and one of the main reasons we picked the hotel was that they have air conditioning. Supposedly. Our room was on the second floor where the reception desk is, which controls air conditioning for the entire floor. The a/c, even when working, was barely able to maintain the comfort level just below the unbearable. Unfortunately, the staff there is in the habit of turning air conditioning off during the night. I was told differing stories by differing staff members. We were told that the a/c was always on during the night, that it was always off during the night (supposedly, the hotel's policy -- why would I need it on during the day when we were out sightseeing??) and that it would be turned on on demand. I was also lied to by at least a couple of the front desk girls. With very pleasant smiles and helpful attitude they would assure me that the a/c would be turned on immediately and not do it until a second or third request 10-15 minutes later. And then they would still turn it off during the night, so that we would wake up in the middle of the nights because it was unbearably hot and stuffy in the room, and I would have to go to the front desk to ask them to turn the a/c back on.

Even on slightly cooler nights, you still had to have a/c on because it was impossible to open the windows. The windows in our room were overlooking the Suvorovsky Prospekt and with the windows opened, one would be breathing in nothing but automobile exhaust.

Another problem we had with the staff was that being very close to the front desk we could hear their very loud voices and heels as early as 6-7 o'clock in the morning. They could've showed a bit more consideration for people still trying to sleep that early in the morning.

On the positive side, the location is good, the price was good by St. Petersburg standards, the breakfast quite adequate, the rooms clean and nice (although our bathroom didn't seem to have a working exhaust), and most of the staff friendly and willing to help (outside the a/c saga).

The hotel is probably a good choice when the a/c is not needed, although it would probably be wise to avoid the 2nd floor altogether.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Potown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvera_mgmt, Owner at Hotel Vera, responded to this review, 25 August 2010
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry that you were not comfortable during your recent stay at Hotel Vera. We have central A/C on some floors, while on others we have individually controlled A/C units in each room. Some guests asked not to turn on the A/C at night, which may have inconvenienced some other people. We try to find a compromise whenever possible, and we are sorry you were disappointed. We do our very best to accomodate all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We stayed at this hotel for two days.
Hotel is just superb: nice clean room (classic), attentive stuff, good location, tasty breakfast. Hotel is 3+ stars, perfectly feated all our needs. We hired bikes nearby. Everything was just perfect!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hurma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights in July and were very impressed. A good location (5 minute walk to train station or subway - buses from outside to main sites). The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The staff was excellent - most spoke English, very helpful and friendly. Excellent breakfast - we had to leave early in the morning and they brought it to our room early. Helped us to arrange our Russian visa prior to our stay. Quiet, beautiful building.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricCohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2010

My Family (34 people from 81 to 2 years old) stay 4 nights at Hotel Vera and What a big surprise this hotel was, Good, clean, comfortable and spacious rooms and bathrooms. Great and courteous staff who speak english. Full breakfast. Very good location with easy access through 3 different public buses (# 5, 7 and 11) stoping 100 meters from Your door and going to most touristic places.

My mother needed a wheelchair and ask for it in advance ... well, there was it in my mothers room when we arrived, that was great.

We travel a lot in Europe and Hotel Vera is one of the best hotels we have stayed in the last 5 years. Thank You very much from every one of the 34 happy and noisy guests, specialy to the breakfast staff, they did a great job.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mozart1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We stayed here very comfortably for 6 nights. Although our rooms on the sixth floor were small, we had no problems with them. In terms of hotel location, we found it very easy to flag private taxi service on the nearest corner. Breakfast (also on the sixth floor) was very good. The restaurant on the first floor was also very good and very convenient

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Appleton123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Hotel Vera have a great team on reception - they were incredibly helpful when I needed medical assistance and stayed to translate when the doctor arrived. They went out of their way to provide advice on how to get to places, provided a map and made a point of writing bus details and tourist information on it for me.

I had a room on the top floor with a window that opened plus an air conditioner which was great. Mosquitos seemed common but the hotel provided a plug in thing for this.

The single room was a reasonable size, and breakfast was included. My only complaint about the hotel was that noise carried and so it could be quite loud (I was there over a long weekend, so this may have meant it was noisier than usual)

Transport was very easy, and the hotel is close to the International Hostel where Peters Walking Tours leave from which was convenient

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vladimir
Ligotel
Ligotel
#18 of 345 in St. Petersburg
399 reviews
Station Hotel Z12
#41 of 345 in St. Petersburg
283 reviews
Bristol Hotel
#34 of 345 in St. Petersburg
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Nevsky Contour Hotel
Nevsky Contour Hotel
#20 of 345 in St. Petersburg
557 reviews
Station Hotel K43
#45 of 345 in St. Petersburg
214 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
NasHotel
NasHotel
#9 of 345 in St. Petersburg
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vera

Property: Hotel Vera
Address: Suvorovskiy Ave., 25/16, St. Petersburg 191036, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#19 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#33 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vera 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vera occupies part of a renovated 1903 Art Nouveau building, entered in St.Petersburg Registry of Architectural Masterpieces as Stepnov’s House. It is located in downtown St. Petersburg, Russia, within walking distance of Nevsky prospect and the Central Moscow Railroad Station. The renovations created contemporary accommodations with modern conveniences, while retaining early 20th-century charm. Its convenient location offers nearby services for both tourists and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Vera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vera Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing