We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Shelfort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shelfort Hotel
Ranked #107 of 358 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Big rooms, clean, helpful staff. Breakfast was slim pickings but I'm not there for the breakfast. 4/5 would stay again.

Close proximity to metro station, about 30 min walk into the city center. The hotel is on one of the citys many islands so if you go out at night be aware that the bridges open every night starting 01:30. However they will close to let you walk over every 30 mins or so.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank zaimond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

We haven't actually stayed at this hotel, yet. Our booking is for May, 2014. But I must compliment the staff and in particular, Olesya Labutina, for promptly responding to emails, arranging airport pickup, preparing a Visa Support Letter and answering my many questions.

We look forward to staying at this hotel. The Tripadvisor reviews are amazing.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank MissKimBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The location of Shelfort is ideal--close to the metro station, walking distance to Hermitage and Nevsky. The staff is extremely helpful and professional. It is a charming local hotel with calm and homelike atmosphere.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anya-1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Free wi-fi, clean room, friendly staff at the reception. Free parking place. Cosy european-like hotel. Excellent location, near the most beautiful places in the city. Thank You! I liked everything! Prosperity To You!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evgeniya_may
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

What a wonderful surprise to stay in such an enchanting place, the locatiion of the Shelfort is in my opinion the best place to stay.
The hotel provided us with all we could possibly ask for and the staff so warm and friendly nothing was ever too much trouble.
Cannot wait to return there and continue discovering the delights of St Petersburg.
Cathyjbridge

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelfort, General Manager at Shelfort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Catherine,

Thank you for choosing our hotel!
This is such a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your staying with us. We are working hard to make our guests feel themselves comfortable and we are always pleased to know our guests enjoy their staying and are satisfied by the service provided.

Hope to see you again at our hotel!

Best regards,
Zhanna Melnik
General Manager
Hotel Shelfort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This small hotel really made my stay in St Petersburg a home away from home.You could go past it in the street and miss it very easily.The graffiti on the way to it didn't feel encouraging at all, giving a bad impression of the area.
Once through the doors it had instant appeal, The staff being so helpful, friendly and English speaking was a bonus.My room on the ground floor was a large one with an ensuite, and best of all Wifi. I found the breakfasts more than adequate and included rice pudding of all things. The close location to everything was a plus, from the Metro or across the bridge to the central city. It was handy to supermarkets, restaurants as well. Highly recommend
a stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwiolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed four nights in this lovely hotel. It was very rustic and had a lot of charm. The staff were friendly and went out of their way to help us. The location of the hotel is also very good and we walked across the Nevsky Bridge each day to the centre of St Petersburg. The Metro is close by but we didn't use it as we were happy to walk everywhere. The only issue we had was the shower - it takes a long time to get hot water. When we arrived after a long flight we thought there was no hot water and had to endure a cold shower. We later worked out that if you leave it on long enough you will eventually get hot water. The breakfasts were good and it was great to have access to wi-fi. We would definitely stay here again if we came back to St Petersburg.

Room Tip: Good value by Russian standards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madie98989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vasilyevsky Island
Noteburg Hotel
Noteburg Hotel
#171 of 358 in St. Petersburg
54 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Hotel SPBVergaz
Hotel SPBVergaz
#184 of 358 in St. Petersburg
46 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Art-hotel Trezzini
Art-hotel Trezzini
#116 of 358 in St. Petersburg
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palantin Hotel
#123 of 358 in St. Petersburg
156 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Prestizh Hotel on Vasilievskiy
Prestizh Hotel on Vasilievskiy
#152 of 358 in St. Petersburg
47 reviews
Kolomna
Admiralteyskaya Hotel
Admiralteyskaya Hotel
#77 of 358 in St. Petersburg
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelfort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelfort Hotel

Address: 3rd Liniya, 26, St. Petersburg 199004, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vasilyevsky Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#56 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#71 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £40 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shelfort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic hotel Shelfort is located in the heart of St. Petersburg, in the center of the cultural district of the northern capital. Within walking - The Strelka of Vasilievsky Island, Rostral Columns, Hermitage, Museum of Modern Art "Erarta", restaurants and cafes to suit all tastes. The Lenexpo Exhibition Centre is located not far away from the hotel. In walking distance - metro station "Vasileostrovskaya". Embodying St. Petersburg lifestyle hotel Shelfort unites almost century-old tradition of hospitality and comfort of a modern hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shelfort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelfort Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing