We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely AWFUL” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Hotel Comfitel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City Hotel Comfitel
Ranked #198 of 331 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Kent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Absolutely AWFUL”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Terrible, terrible, terrible... where do we begin?

Positives: relatively close to metro (10 mins walk, approx); better than sleeping on the streets (just about).

Negatives:

Filthy rooms (we paid in full, otherwise would have cancelled second stay during break- fortunately one night, so we stayed in two different rooms) with soiled carpets (can they not clean them?); inadequate, uncomfortable beds with disgusting pillows with black stains from saliva and God knows what else (!); mould-ridden fridge (that is nice and warm); mouldy bathroom that was dirty, with poor quality towels provided (good, if you want to exfliate while ou dry off!); basic breakfast that we ate only once - that was enough; and, to top this all off, RUDE and surly staff, totally unhelpful. We booked a train to Moscow at 6:45am, asked for alarm call but they forgot - just as well we woke, as we pre-paid our tickets and they had been expensive.

Dreadful hotel, one of worst we've stayed at in Europe and we've stayed in many. We were not guests; we we're an inconvenience. Noisy rooms at front - our booking said 'courtyard view' but both times we were given rooms at the front. Why? "None available."

AWFUL experience. But, St petersburg was lovely!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BenjaminBreeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    23
    16
    3
    7
See reviews for
14
26
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

Pros: This hotel is relatively close to the airport. Also, the price was competitive and the staff were sometimes helpful. Cons: The air conditioner did not work because there was no outlet to plug it in and no extension cord to reach existing outlets. I opened the window hoping to get fresh air - big mistake - mosquitos. I was on an upper floor […] and there is no elevator. The refrigerator did not work properly. Food was still warm. The carpet was dirty and threadworn. Water was slow in draining from the bathtub, so I showered in ankle deep water. The rooms were not well insulated for noise. At three AM I was woken up by two drunks and a woman talking loudly in the hallway and in their room. The breakfast consisted of baloney, cheese, "hot dogs," bread, a small number of pastries, yogurt, juice, and coffee. The yogurt tasted like it was put out repeatedly. The food was not replentished so that if you went down to eat later in the morning , there was very little to choose from. The neighborhood is poor compared to other neighborhoods in St. Pete. Also, unless you know how to use the metro, you will find it difficult getting from the hotel to other parts of the city. My advise: stay here if you must catch a flight latter in the day, will be driven to the airport between the hours of 6 AM and 8 PM, and do not wish to pay a large amount of money for a one night stay to catch a flight out of St. Pete. There is at least one hotel that is much better than this one and is closer to the airport, but it is also much more expensive. I would avoid this hotel if you want to stay more than one night in St. Pete. - e.g. tourism.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfitelHotelGroup, General Manager at City Hotel Comfitel, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
We thank you for your feedback, as your opinion is very important for us.
We're sorry you were so disappointed with your stay. It's difficult to respond to specific complaints when we can not solve these problems at the hotel. Only one we can offer for you to stay in our hotel next time with free room upgrate and free transfer to the airport as a present from our Hotel. it is minimum we can do for you. We are very sorry for inconvenience caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

the place is not bad but it would not be my first choice. This means that there is everything you need but all things are a bit old and not of high quality. The toilet is old and water makes noise when neighbour is using the shower (at least in room 301, you can still manage to sleep). There is not elevator (third floor is ok still). The staff does not talk good english (but you are in Russia after all) although it is friendly, nice and helpful when you need. Room's fornitures are a bit old and not really fresh. the rooms are very very large and bright anyway. The breakfast was the worse I had (milk, yogurt and simple packed croissant, some cereals). The worse aspect of the place is the location. It is not in the periphery in a large metropolis such as St.Petersburg, but it is not even in the centre. To go to Hermitage you need to take two busses. This is ok, they are direct and very frequent but at rush hours you might get the traffic jam. Let's say in 20-25 minutes you are at the hermitage. The price is good after all.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tunion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfitelHotelGroup, General Manager at City Hotel Comfitel, responded to this review, 25 September 2011
Thank you for your feedback. Your opinion is very important for us. All rooms of category, you stayed in, will be completely renovated in 2 months. Other categories of rooms (Standard Double/Twin and Standard single) were renovated in 2010.
We are looking to welcoming you next time to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

The hotel is a bit out of town centre but well served by bus services and it's only a 5 minute walk to a brand new Metro station. There are no good restaurants in the vacinity and the breakfast was limited and lacking in variety. However the staff were very friendly and the bedrooms were clean, comfortable and modern with all necessary facilities. At the price charged we could not complain. There is no lift so try & get a room on lower floors (preferably at the back as the busy road outside is noisy all night long!)

JIM Mc.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McCormacks_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfitelHotelGroup, General Manager at City Hotel Comfitel, responded to this review, 25 September 2011
Thank you for your review.
Unfortunately, our property does not have a lift, because the hotel is located in historical building. To avoid a misunderstanding with guests, we added this detail to all decsriptions of our hotel.
Thank you for your kind words about our service, staff and rooms. We will be happy if you will stay at our hotel next time, you will be in Russia. You are welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2011

Nice and clean hotel. the services are good and the staff are friendly , they speak English and always willing to help .
The TV in the room is with Russian channels only, you won't hear anything in English .
There is a free wireless internet 24 hours and if you don't have your own laptop you can borrow one from the reception .
The hotel is little far from the city center ( Nevsky Prospect ) but this is should not be a problem because the public transportation is available until midnight and the bus stops just few meters away from the hotel entrance.It takes about 10 minutes by bus to get to the center.
there's no elevator in the hotel and that gives you a chance for some exercise (running up and down the stairs) .

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghyath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfitelHotelGroup, General Manager at City Hotel Comfitel, responded to this review, 25 September 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We thank you for all your words about our hotel.
Unfortunately, we do not have a satellite TV, only cable, so that you saw only Russian channels. But we are planning to adjudge it in 1 or 2 months.
You are welcome next time, you will be in Saint-Petersburg, to our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2010

I stayed there 5 nights with my husbend and two little daughters, and really enjoyed my travel. The price is cheap and reasonable for a 3-star hotel. The hotel was enough small and friendly and in an excellent location within easy walking distance of the Ligovsky Prospect and Railwas station, Nevsky Prospekt . The staff was very helpful and spoke english fluently. St. Petersburg met us with snow, but it was nice and warm inside even when very snowy and cold outside! Our room was cleaned to a high standard every day. If I went to Saint-Petersburg again, I would have no doubt to stay in the City Hotel Comfitel. We had a great holiday and thoughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManyaSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfitelHotelGroup, General Manager at City Hotel Comfitel, responded to this review, 25 September 2011
Dear guest! Thank you for your warm words about our hotel! We will do our best to make your stay in our hotel very comfortable, when you will be next time in our city! You are welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Comfitel Demidov Bridge Hotel
#224 of 331 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Ra Tambovskaya 11 Hotel
#252 of 331 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Alexandria
#238 of 331 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasilyevsky Island
Seven Cabins
Seven Cabins
#208 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Petrogradsky
Mark Inn Hotel
Mark Inn Hotel
#133 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Tourist Hotel St Petersburg
#173 of 331 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Comfitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Comfitel

Property: City Hotel Comfitel
Address: Ligovskiy Ave., 249, St. Petersburg 192007, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 331 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Comfitel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Hotel Comfitel is located in the business and historical part of the city, on Ligovsky Avenue in walking distance to metro station Obvodny channel. The hotel is distinguished by it’s proximity to Moskovsky Rail Terminal and easy reach, also by public transport, of Nevsky Prospect, the city main thoroughfare. The convenient location guarantees easy access to business and cultural centers of Saint Petersburg. The main distinctive features of Comfitel hotel are the close vicinity to the main sights and traffic routes of the city, quite inner courtyard which provides a comfortable and quiet stay in the center of a megalopolis, cozy and comfortable rooms and attentive staff. There is cafe on the first floor of the building. Here you can order any dish right to the room, or spend wonderful evening in warm atmosphere. You can choose a wide range of light meals as well as full dinners. The hotel also has a small free parking for hotel guests. The hotel has 33 rooms of three different types, designed in an original style. The rooms are furnished with modern furniture, air-conditioning, telephones, TVs and mini-refrigirators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your City Hotel Comfitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing