We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for central sites!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nevskiy Hotel Aster
Ranked #136 of 357 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Reviewed 24 November 2013

As with many of the other reviews, the first thing to note about this hotel is it's great location off Nevsky Prospekt, a mere five minutes walk from the Hermitage, Church on Spilled Blood and the Russian Museum. St Petersburg as a whole we found a very easy city to walk and the hotel is well placed for canal-side explorations and a consequence of its central location is that dining and shopping options abound.

We also received great service from the staff, with someone always available who spoke good English. Trying to reach St Catherine's Palace (Tsarskoe Selo) ourselves, one receptionist was particularly helpful providing multiple public transport options.

The room we stayed in - 207 - overlooked the courtyard around which the hotel is situated. This was fine - the courtyard itself was perfectly quiet - but the room was close to the floor's main entry/exit point, which could make it difficult to sleep. The room itself, though small, was perfectly clean and serviceable. Although it could clearly do with updating, the shower was great and cleaned daily - you're not in St Petersburg to lounge in the room, are you?

The other main thing to note about this hotel is the breakfast which is avowedly continental, with plenty of juices, cheeses, salad and sliced meats. A small cereal selection is supplemented by some very good hot porridge, german sausages and rice/pasta/pulses depending on the day.

Overall, I would characterise the hotel as value for money in what is an admittedly expensive city. If I was revisiting, I would happily stay again.

Room Tip: Ask to avoid ones by the main floor entrances (on the second floor, these are 201, 207 and 208 I thi...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessKenny86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevskiy Hotel Aster, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Nevsky Aster and for sharing. Your comments are very important to us and we appreciate your taking the time to write such a detailed review. We wish you all the best and will be looking forward to welcoming you again.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Nevskiy Hotel Aster
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

This hotel has a great location, within easy walking distance (15 minutes) of the Hermitage, the Russian Museum, 3 churches, and the Leningrad Blockade Museum, and walkable distance to everything else. In addition, it's in a courtyard and is extremely quiet, despite being in the heart of the city.
But that's it. I was in #203, an average European room with two single beds, and a desk and chair. There was a safe, but no refrigerator. Wifi was good, and there was a small TV mounted in the corner with RT and Eurosport for English speaking channels. In the small bathroom there was a mounted handheld shower.
The breakfast area is poorly set up, with seating for 28 in 2 rooms, but only 9 tables, so as soon as you get about 15 people you start sharing. The food is bread, meat/cheese, hot oatmeal, chopped wieners, chocolate puffs and flakes for cereal, tomatoes, cucumbers, apples, and oranges.

Room Tip: The information about rooms in prior reviews looked accurate to me, though my room #203 was fine, as...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevskiy Hotel Aster, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing. We take our guests' comments very seriously and we are glad that your experience with us was positive. We hope you will choose our hotel again for your next visit to St.Petersburg.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This hotel has very simple interior and furniture, but it's clean an accurate. For a low price you get Everything a traveller needs just to stay for the night. Good breakfast.
The big benefit of the venue is it's location. From my point of view it's the best point to live if you go to St.Pete for sightseeings.
Lots of places around to have fun in the evening.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevskiy Hotel Aster, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Denis,
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will choose Nevsky Aster again when you plan your next trip to St.Petersburg, and we shall be happy to welcome you.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

good location - good room - bath tub - own control of heating - friendly reception - breakfast second class - they really should separate the meat from the other cooked things so vegetarians don't have to eat sausage flavored oatmeal and buckwheat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtraveler2392123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevskiy Hotel Aster, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are happy your overall experience of staying at the Nevsky aster was positive. Your comments regarding breakfast have been forwarded to the person in charge of breakfast arrangements, and I can assure you that the problem will be sorted out shortly. We thank you for choosing Nevsky Aster and hope to see you among our guests in the future.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Travelled as 3 sisters with their elderley father in Septmber 2013. We had 3 rooms between us.
The Nevsky Astor hotel was OK and in an excellent good central position. The hotel was clean with fresh white bedding and towels. Our beds were quite soft with mattress toppers. No lift.
Rooms 204 & 206 were fine. The room I was given to share with one of my sisters, number 105, was awful. I do not recommend the rooms on the ground floor (103, 104, 105) as when you open the window you get cigarette and car exhaust fumes in the room. Even with the window shut the air in the room did not seem fresh and my sister and I got sore throats at night. These rooms are in the same courtyard as the hotel but have a sperate entrance that looks like the entry to a warehouse lock-up. I wish we had asked to be moved but we the fumes wren't too bad at the start of the week but by Friday I felt like I was being poisoned. In fact on the last night I couldn't sleep, I felt as if I had asthma.
The breakfast is adequate but as previously stated the rooms get full up quickly and by 8:30 there generally is nowhere to sit so either get there by 8am or wait until after 9am.
If we had all been in rooms like 204 & 206 I am sure I would have given this hotel a higher rating.
The other problem we had is that you need a special key to access each floor of bedrooms and my sister in room 204 was not given this entry key so she had to share an access key with dad. Inconvenient when we weren't all doing something together. The phones in the room were useful as we could call each other when we were ready to meet up.
Do not be put off staying at this hotel as the central location is perfect for seeing the Hermitage, Russian Museum and Church on the spilled blood. Just avoid rooms 103-5.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms 103,104,105 unless you absolutely cannot do stairs. Even these rooms do ha...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LesleyBTadley_Hants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevskiy Hotel Aster, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We were pleased to note that you found our location excellent, breakfast adequate and rooms clean, at the same time we were naturally disappointed to hear about your negative experience in one of our ground floor rooms. Please let me assure you that we take our guests' comments very seriously and always do our best to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We apologize for the inconvenience you had to experience in the ground floor room. We have forwarded your comments to the Nevsky Aster manager with the request to take all possible measures to reduce smoking in the hotel courtyard, as well as to provide additional floor keys so that each guest could independently access relevant hotel floor.
We thank you for choosing our hotel, wish you all the best and still hope you will give us another opportunity of welcoming you in order to restore your faith in Nevsky Aster Hotel.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

As previous posts mentioned- everything within a short walking distance. The price was decent. It's small and there's no lift but we stayed at ground floor and it was comfortable and clean. The staff was helpful and pleasant without exception. Breakfast was nice and plentiful. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liatya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevskiy Hotel Aster, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you had a pleasant experience at the Nevsky Aster and hope to welcome you back to the property in the future.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director Nevsky Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

A perfectly located budget hotel with friendly staff, small but clean rooms.
Breakfast was simple but decent, though the breakfast room was a little small and warm. Stayed for three nights in September 2013, and were pleasantly surprised.
Good value for money. Would stay again for sure

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank valthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevskiy Hotel Aster, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and shall be looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Nevsky Hotel Grand
Nevsky Hotel Grand
#74 of 357 in St. Petersburg
882 reviews
Admiralteisky
Hotel Moyka 5
Hotel Moyka 5
#71 of 357 in St. Petersburg
241 reviews
Admiralteisky
Nevsky Breeze Hotel
Nevsky Breeze Hotel
#119 of 357 in St. Petersburg
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Golden Triangle Hotel
Golden Triangle Hotel
#23 of 357 in St. Petersburg
717 reviews
Nevskiy
M-Hotel
M-Hotel
#15 of 357 in St. Petersburg
455 reviews
Admiralteisky
Station Hotel A1
Station Hotel A1
#55 of 357 in St. Petersburg
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nevskiy Hotel Aster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nevskiy Hotel Aster

Address: Bolshaya Konyushennaya st., 25, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy , Palace Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £25 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nevskiy Hotel Aster 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are forty eight rooms in the Nevsky Hotel Aster, four of which are lovely two-room suites with sauna and Jacuzzi. The 45 standard rooms nicely accommodate two guests, who can request either a double bed or twin beds. They come with ample shelving, wall mirror, room safe and bathroom with a choice of shower or bath. The hotel is surrounded by cafes and restaurants of every kind with a wide variety of meals and snacks. There are lots of nearby shops, too, and they carry a Western-style assortment of quality merchandise. Also close to the hotel are art galleries and nightclubs. Guests can choose from among the numerous services the hotel offers, such as visa support, registration for only 200 roubles, and a car and driver to and from the airport or railway station. There's a laundry and dry cleaning service, selection of cars with drivers for travelling, experienced interpreters in any language and tickets for airplane flights or journeys by rail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nevskiy Hotel Aster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nevsky Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing