We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nevskiy Hotel Aster
Nearby Hotels
US$498
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Petro Palace Hotel(St. Petersburg)
US$276
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$268
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$285
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson Sonya Hotel(St. Petersburg)
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Domina St.Petersburg(St. Petersburg)
US$316
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$274
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Anglettere Hotel(St. Petersburg)
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Akyan St.Petersburg(St. Petersburg)
US$319
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pushka Inn Hotel(St. Petersburg)
US$323
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$408
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$322
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveller rating
100
124
56
29
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
124
56
29
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationfirst floorwithin easy walking distancerestaurants and barsan excellent hotelshort walkbed was comfortableastonnevskypetersburgenglishmuseumsauna
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 329 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

As with many of the other reviews, the first thing to note about this hotel is it's great location off Nevsky Prospekt, a mere five minutes walk from the Hermitage, Church on Spilled Blood and the Russian Museum. St Petersburg as a whole we found a very easy city to walk and the hotel is well placed for canal-side explorations and a consequence of its central location is that dining and shopping options abound.

We also received great service from the staff, with someone always available who spoke good English. Trying to reach St Catherine's Palace (Tsarskoe Selo) ourselves, one receptionist was particularly helpful providing multiple public transport options.

The room we stayed in - 207 - overlooked the courtyard around which the hotel is situated. This was fine - the courtyard itself was perfectly quiet - but the room was close to the floor's main entry/exit point, which could make it difficult to sleep. The room itself, though small, was perfectly clean and serviceable. Although it could clearly do with updating, the shower was great and cleaned daily - you're not in St Petersburg to lounge in the room, are you?

The other main thing to note about this hotel is the breakfast which is avowedly continental, with plenty of juices, cheeses, salad and sliced meats. A small cereal selection is supplemented by some very good hot porridge, german sausages and rice/pasta/pulses depending on the day.

Overall, I would characterise the hotel as value for money in what is an admittedly expensive city. If I was revisiting, I would happily stay again.

Room Tip: Ask to avoid ones by the main floor entrances (on the second floor, these are 201, 207 and 208 I think).
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessKenny86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevskiy Hotel Aster, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Nevsky Aster and for sharing. Your comments are very important to us and we appreciate your taking the time to write such a detailed review. We wish you all the best and will be looking forward to welcoming you again.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This hotel has a great location, within easy walking distance (15 minutes) of the Hermitage, the Russian Museum, 3 churches, and the Leningrad Blockade Museum, and walkable distance to everything else. In addition, it's in a courtyard and is extremely quiet, despite being in the heart of the city.
But that's it. I was in #203, an average European room with two single beds, and a desk and chair. There was a safe, but no refrigerator. Wifi was good, and there was a small TV mounted in the corner with RT and Eurosport for English speaking channels. In the small bathroom there was a mounted handheld shower.
The breakfast area is poorly set up, with seating for 28 in 2 rooms, but only 9 tables, so as soon as you get about 15 people you start sharing. The food is bread, meat/cheese, hot oatmeal, chopped wieners, chocolate puffs and flakes for cereal, tomatoes, cucumbers, apples, and oranges.

Room Tip: The information about rooms in prior reviews looked accurate to me, though my room #203 was fine, as I only had one neighboring room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevskiy Hotel Aster, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing. We take our guests' comments very seriously and we are glad that your experience with us was positive. We hope you will choose our hotel again for your next visit to St.Petersburg.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This hotel has very simple interior and furniture, but it's clean an accurate. For a low price you get Everything a traveller needs just to stay for the night. Good breakfast.
The big benefit of the venue is it's location. From my point of view it's the best point to live if you go to St.Pete for sightseeings.
Lots of places around to have fun in the evening.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevskiy Hotel Aster, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Denis,
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will choose Nevsky Aster again when you plan your next trip to St.Petersburg, and we shall be happy to welcome you.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

good location - good room - bath tub - own control of heating - friendly reception - breakfast second class - they really should separate the meat from the other cooked things so vegetarians don't have to eat sausage flavored oatmeal and buckwheat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtraveler2392123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevskiy Hotel Aster, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are happy your overall experience of staying at the Nevsky aster was positive. Your comments regarding breakfast have been forwarded to the person in charge of breakfast arrangements, and I can assure you that the problem will be sorted out shortly. We thank you for choosing Nevsky Aster and hope to see you among our guests in the future.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Travelled as 3 sisters with their elderley father in Septmber 2013. We had 3 rooms between us.
The Nevsky Astor hotel was OK and in an excellent good central position. The hotel was clean with fresh white bedding and towels. Our beds were quite soft with mattress toppers. No lift.
Rooms 204 & 206 were fine. The room I was given to share with one of my sisters, number 105, was awful. I do not recommend the rooms on the ground floor (103, 104, 105) as when you open the window you get cigarette and car exhaust fumes in the room. Even with the window shut the air in the room did not seem fresh and my sister and I got sore throats at night. These rooms are in the same courtyard as the hotel but have a sperate entrance that looks like the entry to a warehouse lock-up. I wish we had asked to be moved but we the fumes wren't too bad at the start of the week but by Friday I felt like I was being poisoned. In fact on the last night I couldn't sleep, I felt as if I had asthma.
The breakfast is adequate but as previously stated the rooms get full up quickly and by 8:30 there generally is nowhere to sit so either get there by 8am or wait until after 9am.
If we had all been in rooms like 204 & 206 I am sure I would have given this hotel a higher rating.
The other problem we had is that you need a special key to access each floor of bedrooms and my sister in room 204 was not given this entry key so she had to share an access key with dad. Inconvenient when we weren't all doing something together. The phones in the room were useful as we could call each other when we were ready to meet up.
Do not be put off staying at this hotel as the central location is perfect for seeing the Hermitage, Russian Museum and Church on the spilled blood. Just avoid rooms 103-5.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms 103,104,105 unless you absolutely cannot do stairs. Even these rooms do have about 10 shallow stairs to climb. You must especially avoid these rooms if you suffer with any breathing problems. Rooms 204 and 206 were fine (204 is the biggest but 206 looks into the courtyard and therefore has a slightly better view).
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LesleyBTadley_Hants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevskiy Hotel Aster, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We were pleased to note that you found our location excellent, breakfast adequate and rooms clean, at the same time we were naturally disappointed to hear about your negative experience in one of our ground floor rooms. Please let me assure you that we take our guests' comments very seriously and always do our best to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We apologize for the inconvenience you had to experience in the ground floor room. We have forwarded your comments to the Nevsky Aster manager with the request to take all possible measures to reduce smoking in the hotel courtyard, as well as to provide additional floor keys so that each guest could independently access relevant hotel floor.
We thank you for choosing our hotel, wish you all the best and still hope you will give us another opportunity of welcoming you in order to restore your faith in Nevsky Aster Hotel.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews